BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ten Big Ones (Stephanie Plum Series #10)

Average Rating 4.5
( 525 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(329)

4 Star

(110)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hilarious!

This whole series is a MUST read! I know the whole love triangle thing is a negitave thing in some peoples opinion because it is overdone a lot. But i dont feel that way about this series because Ranger really isnt an option long term... he is more of a treat for the ti...
This whole series is a MUST read! I know the whole love triangle thing is a negitave thing in some peoples opinion because it is overdone a lot. But i dont feel that way about this series because Ranger really isnt an option long term... he is more of a treat for the time being. In the end we all know she will end up with Joe. Ranger isnt one to be tied down.

posted by xlydiasmomx on November 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Not a 10

I've been devouring these books like mad, and because I am -- mad crazy over the Stephanie Plum series. But this one left me -- wanting. It lacked the umph of the others; and at the end, it felt as if the author had someone behind her beating her with a whip -- faster...
I've been devouring these books like mad, and because I am -- mad crazy over the Stephanie Plum series. But this one left me -- wanting. It lacked the umph of the others; and at the end, it felt as if the author had someone behind her beating her with a whip -- faster, faster, dagnabit, write faster! It didn't end in a whirlwind but a sigh, or maybe one of those silent farts because it was kind of stinky. At least it didn't end with a cliff-hanger like two others did (don't remember the numbers). It might be awhile now before I buy 11, but I will probably, eventually get to the rest of them.

posted by 5345022 on November 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 528 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Not a 10

    I've been devouring these books like mad, and because I am -- mad crazy over the Stephanie Plum series. But this one left me -- wanting. It lacked the umph of the others; and at the end, it felt as if the author had someone behind her beating her with a whip -- faster, faster, dagnabit, write faster! It didn't end in a whirlwind but a sigh, or maybe one of those silent farts because it was kind of stinky. At least it didn't end with a cliff-hanger like two others did (don't remember the numbers). It might be awhile now before I buy 11, but I will probably, eventually get to the rest of them.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Hilarious!

    This whole series is a MUST read! I know the whole love triangle thing is a negitave thing in some peoples opinion because it is overdone a lot. But i dont feel that way about this series because Ranger really isnt an option long term... he is more of a treat for the time being. In the end we all know she will end up with Joe. Ranger isnt one to be tied down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Irritated

    How excited I was to buy this book. I'm more than a little behind on the series, but got a kick out of thinking I was going to catch.up. Why irritated then? Stephanies selfish, childish arrogance totally irked me. In fact, I found these unpleasant traits somewhat out of character.She put everyone who wanted to protect her in serious danger and lost the warmth that has endeared and so charmed the usual series reader. To me, her bravado was unrealistic. The wit and humor was the one saving grace, however. I loved Sally and hope he/she shoes up in other books to come.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    highly recommended

    Really enjoyed this book. I love Stephanie Plum!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2014

    Hilarious Stephanie Plum book

    Any Stephanie Plum book is entertaining as is. If you know the series it becomes funnier. The characters are funny and you just have to take a step back and say "did that just happen?" . Not a gripping page turner intense, but that's not really a Stephanie Plum. Quick read because it has so many funny parts. One of the funniest of the series (I've read all of them 1-21 but not 11 & 12 yet) . If you're just getting started in the series it's not that imperative that you read in order but I'd suggest starting with #1 then the rest of the series. a few things change here and there but nothing that doesn't make sense or will ruin a previous book if you have read a later one. Good read. I'd recommend it. I enjoyed it. Also of note. I think of books in basically two "mindset" categories. Those that are great to just read for enjoyment and not to really take away a lesson from. And those that are mildly to thoroughly entertaining but you can take stuff away from. This book & series fits in the first category. I don't think I've ever learned anything from Stephanie Plum other than to not let anything (scary or no doughnuts) bother you too much. But I still enjoy reading and being entertained nonetheless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2014

    Enjoyed

    Ten Big Ones was an enjoyable read, but I feel that Evanovich has written herself into a rut and can't pull herself out. These stories seem to be formula driven and automatic. I love Stephanie Plum, but I think I'll only be reading these stories as a 'fall back' choice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    Very Funny Series

    I have read the first 10 books in this series and I have laughed thru everyone of them. Janet Evanovich has a great sense of humor and imaination! I found one author before and refused to read her books in public, now I found another one....I will not read her books in public and have people think I'm a nutsy old lady for laughing at a book....The series is about an inept female Bounty Hunter and her missions to bring in the FTA's (failure to appear) people, from that point on its just a laugh a minute. This is a must read series if you like to laugh. There's a little romance in ihe story, but not enough to overthrow the original plot of the story....Happy reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Awesome

    They all make me laugh. Janet is an amazing writr and should keep wrighting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Samael

    Ugh...fu<3>ck this. I miss you. Dx

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    Highly Recommended - You must add it to your favorite list

    Hilarious, laugh out loud, and page turning book. Must read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Plum equals a great laugh

    I Love the plum series, they are up beat, exciting, and make me laugh. I only wish the move had been cast correctly, because I'd love to see it on the big screen. Ranger never once said "Babe", Grandma need to sound more like the lady that reads it on the tapes. It was almost to serious. Lula and Vinne were the only two that fit the mold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2013

    Loved it can't wait to read the next book.

    Loved it can't wait to read the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Love it.

    I love these books. I can not get enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This had to be my favorite one so far. I've been told by quite a

    This had to be my favorite one so far. I've been told by quite a few people they do not like this series and do not understand why I read it. Well, let me tell ya this series makes me actually laugh out loud. They are a joy to read, because of the stupid luck Stephanie has. The trouble, her band of back up, and the triangle between Ranger, Steph, and Joe. I mean really in her position I would probably do the same things. 




    Stephanie manages to get herself in deep this time with the gangs of Trenton. Her sister is getting married, Sally Sweet makes a return appearance (which excites me because I really like his character), Steph yet again loses another car and Ranger comes to the rescue. This time I was surprised she manages to lose and have all three cars destroyed or in need of repair, but manages to keep all three of Ranger's vehicles clean. 




    Ten big ones, Stephanie, Lula, and Connie band together to get answers from a gang member they bonded out of jail. To the Nines I really enjoyed the three working together in Vegas, but in Ten big ones it was hilarious their inability to interrogate the gang member. 




    The love triangle going on between Ranger, Stephanie, and Joe sometimes bugs me a little bit, because Joe wants her to quit her job and do as he says. However we all know that if she did that would Joe really be happy? Less stressed yes, but why else has Stephanie always kept his attention. If she changed and got out of Bounty Hunting and stayed out of trouble. It really wouldn't be Stephanie anymore. 




    She decides to hide in Rangers apartment. I thought we were getting closer to the BatCave. Sadly we haven't yet, but I feel Stephanie will finally find it at some point. Ranger doesn't want Stephanie hurt either but he approaches it in a different way. He knows she will go against any demand that is made of her she doesn't like so he is smart enough to send someone to protect her if he can't. This is what Joe needs to learn. Yes he's Italian and a cop, but still. He's known Stephanie for how long???? Just ask her instead of demanding. She usually knows the danger she's in and is admitting it until Joe makes a demand that sends her usually into more trouble. I cannot wait to pick up the next book and read the next adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Gedfffgcgvtbntbjnhewwuefebffvvfvhjnjuggrwdsxfgbnkjytgffrfcgtggyhbbujnimikuhyttrtffvgtttgrfvghhuyhghhghgyfhggjiyuvuuvtuuvyffuggtthhuujytgfuetgfnsbnjdnitejtrkuegyrreyijgdxsfgjjyrutyuuttgjkytrdxeyjkiikkkliiuyyttrdxvnhfcxfffghhjjjkmmnbvgthtgvfgyhhhhhhhhtvhujujhuhgggfrgcghbjjukilhtcujfhhjojvlpplt

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Good!

    Like all of Janet Evanovich's books, this one did not disappoint! Looking forward to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    All clan members read!!!!

    Clan name is changing to elementalclan

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Hi im Sandfeather...

    Hi my name is Sandfeather. I grew up in Fishclan. My mother was Honeyblossom and my father was Climbclaw. I had a sister named Everstream and a bro named Climbstream. As i was growing up, Honeyblossom noticed how much i cared for the clan and how respectful but tough i was. When i turned six moons i practiced harder than any other apprentice. Even my brother. I got my warrior name early with Dovepaw the older apprentice. As a warrior i was the best i could be. Then i Left Fishclan after the Great Destruction that wiped out the whole clan. Then i came here. I am very loyal and trustworthy. I just have some requirements- this clan must be realistic: no godmodding or extreme powers. No ignoring things. 2- this kinda goes with realistic. Cats have to live and die. I dont care how, but after awhile even the leader has to die. 3- i know a way to get more cats... try changing the clan name to something more realistic like... Eagleclan, Lightclan, Featherclan, Pondclan, Flowerclan, Oceanclan, Jungleclan, Rainclan, something like that. & if these requirements dont suit you, i will move on. Thank you. ~hopefully your deputy, Sandfeather.

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    MED DEN

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    The most recent book I have read for fun was Ten Big Ones by Jan

    The most recent book I have read for fun was Ten Big Ones by Janet Evanovich. It is the tenth book in her Stephanie Plum series. Stephanie Plum is the world’s worst bounty hunter, but her escapades will have you laughing out loud. She and her ex ‘ho’ turned sidekick pal Lula are definitely no Ziva David (I am a big fan of NCIS), but they either get their man or get themselves in over their heads in trouble.
    This time around, the ditzy dynamic duo go after a Cheez-Doodles tinged PMS sufferer who held up a Fritos truck after going crazy from the no-carb diet. After Stephanie talks her off a bridge, she and Lula need a nacho reward. Stephanie and Lula happen to be at the right place at the wrong time and witness the latest in a series of armed robberies by a suspect wearing a rubber mask dubbed the “red devil” by the press. The man removes his mask just long enough for Stephanie to get a good look at his actual face. He is actually a member of Trenton’s most feared street gang, the Slayers. After losing yet another car to an explosion at the convenient store, Stephanie and Lula follow a gang member into Slayer territory in her uncle’s, big boat of a car, blue Buick. Not very street savvy Stephanie doesn’t realize she is sporting a rival gangs colors in Slayer territory and proceeds to run one of them over with the car. She now has a contract on her head and is pursued by a hired assassin known as Junkman; the bounty hunter becomes the hunted. This plot twist was a nice change compared to some of the other books in the series that I have read which really are all about the strange, and ridiculous situations Stephanie and Lula get into getting their man.
    There are also problems in Stephanie’s personal life, her perfect “saint” of a sister Valerie has decided to tie the knot to a struggling lawyer named Khlougn. Stephanie is destined or doomed to wear an eggplant dress thanks to Sally Sweet the cross dressing rocker, part time school bus driver turned official wedding planner. Stephanie’s crazy Grandma Mazur adds to the family drama stating she thinks Stephanie is getting fat and wondering if she is pregnant. This shows Stephanie is not immune to the body image issues that I believe all women have in some shape or form. It provided just another humorous scene between Stephanie realizing her jeans are too tight to her starting her exercise routine and going for doughnuts after her run.
    This book had me laughing out loud numerous times throughout it. Whether it was when Stephanie and Lula were chasing someone and got themselves into a ridiculous situation and it made you reread it saying did that just happen or the one liner that Stephanie’s Grandma would come out with. I am so glad my girlfriend introduced me to Janet Evanovich and her series Stephanie Plum. I can’t wait to read the next one. I still have a few to go before I am caught up with the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 528 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27