Customer Reviews for

Ten Big Ones (Stephanie Plum Series #10)

Average Rating 4.5
( 520 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(327)

4 Star

(109)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hilarious!

This whole series is a MUST read! I know the whole love triangle thing is a negitave thing in some peoples opinion because it is overdone a lot. But i dont feel that way about this series because Ranger really isnt an option long term... he is more of a treat for the ti...
This whole series is a MUST read! I know the whole love triangle thing is a negitave thing in some peoples opinion because it is overdone a lot. But i dont feel that way about this series because Ranger really isnt an option long term... he is more of a treat for the time being. In the end we all know she will end up with Joe. Ranger isnt one to be tied down.

posted by xlydiasmomx on November 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Not a 10

I've been devouring these books like mad, and because I am -- mad crazy over the Stephanie Plum series. But this one left me -- wanting. It lacked the umph of the others; and at the end, it felt as if the author had someone behind her beating her with a whip -- faster...
I've been devouring these books like mad, and because I am -- mad crazy over the Stephanie Plum series. But this one left me -- wanting. It lacked the umph of the others; and at the end, it felt as if the author had someone behind her beating her with a whip -- faster, faster, dagnabit, write faster! It didn't end in a whirlwind but a sigh, or maybe one of those silent farts because it was kind of stinky. At least it didn't end with a cliff-hanger like two others did (don't remember the numbers). It might be awhile now before I buy 11, but I will probably, eventually get to the rest of them.

posted by 5345022 on November 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Not a 10

    I've been devouring these books like mad, and because I am -- mad crazy over the Stephanie Plum series. But this one left me -- wanting. It lacked the umph of the others; and at the end, it felt as if the author had someone behind her beating her with a whip -- faster, faster, dagnabit, write faster! It didn't end in a whirlwind but a sigh, or maybe one of those silent farts because it was kind of stinky. At least it didn't end with a cliff-hanger like two others did (don't remember the numbers). It might be awhile now before I buy 11, but I will probably, eventually get to the rest of them.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Irritated

    How excited I was to buy this book. I'm more than a little behind on the series, but got a kick out of thinking I was going to catch.up. Why irritated then? Stephanies selfish, childish arrogance totally irked me. In fact, I found these unpleasant traits somewhat out of character.She put everyone who wanted to protect her in serious danger and lost the warmth that has endeared and so charmed the usual series reader. To me, her bravado was unrealistic. The wit and humor was the one saving grace, however. I loved Sally and hope he/she shoes up in other books to come.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2004

    Ten Big Ones (Stephanie Plum Series #10)

    I've read all 10 books now but felt that this one was dwindling on the humor. I've definately laughed harder at the earlier books. I'm slightly frustrated in that the lose ends need to be tied up with her and her two love interests, and she needs to at least start gaining a little skill as a bounty hunter. I'm hoping number 11 has more humor in it. Other than Lula's new move, there wasn't much new in there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2004

    Ten Big Ones (Stephanie Plum Series #10)

    I feel that the story is now getting old - it is the same thing over. In the earlier books I laughed a ton, but this one I just see the same thing over and over - no new skills developing, no loose ends being tied up. I'm hoping number 11 does some of this or I may loose interest in continuing on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2004

    TOO REDUNDANT! DISAPPOINTING!

    This book is too much like the other nine in the series. I found it to be a big waste of my time, too predictable and boring. Absolutely nothing new or exciting. A big fat don't bother. Janet E. has milked Stephanie Plum for all she is worth and them some!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2004

    Where's the Fun gone?

    I have read 1-8 of the Stephanie Plum novels 4 times. Laugh out loud, couldn't put them down perfection. To the Nines seemed to go off course and then ended well but still something was missing. I barely made it through 10 with a disappointing ending.I too felt like someone else wrote it for Janet. No laugh out loud funny like the others. I'd rather wait longer for a really good one or see Janet finish it up with a bang and tie up all the loose ends like Joe and Ranger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2004

    Evanovich on Auto Pilot

    This book was extremely disappointing. Evanovich has re-cycled her inventory of stock phrases, situations, unfortunatate vehicle incidents, and Trenton's ethnic potpourri to produce a mind-numbingly boring re-hash of Stephanie Plumisms. This book put me to sleep after a few pages for 5 nights running. Re-cycling is good for the environment, not so good for fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2004

    Have enjoyed the series, but ...

    An extremely familiar story. Especially, the 'hot' Ranger trying to accumulate sexual debt from Stephanie for any help she derives from him. What a hero!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2004

    Simply Predictable!

    Ho-hum....For the tenth time Stephanie Plum gets her car destroyed, screws up a hunt and can't decide between Morelli and Ranger. How about a little character development? Simply predictable and quite frankly, a story anyone can write now. Let's move this character along Evanovich. Stpehanie is a great character but its time for some new material!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2004

    Disappointed!

    As an avid reader and huge fan of Janet Evanovich, I am sorry to say, I was very disappointed with Ten Big Ones. It seems like I waited forever for Ten Big Ones to be released. I purchased it the day it became available and then held on to until I could read it without interruption. I was so disappointed, almost angry at the abruptness of the ending. It just stopped! There are many issues unresolved, the same antics (destruction of cars) and pretty predictable. Although, finding one of Ranger's nests was pretty exciting and had great potential. I love Stephanie and all her family and friends. In spite of my disappointment with this book and eagerly await number 11.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2004

    Eh

    I've read all the other Plum books and was eager to jump into this one. I tried to love it, but couldn't. Not enough plot. Too much time spent telling us what we already know--that Stephanie and Morelli are longtime lovers, that she's also in love with Ranger, that she can eat birthday cake and not gain weight, that she got the bounty hunter job because of her cousin Vinnie and his relations with a duck, etc., etc., etc. Boring book. I was very disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2