Customer Reviews for

Ten Big Ones (Stephanie Plum Series #10)

Average Rating 4.5
( 516 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(325)

4 Star

(108)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hilarious!

This whole series is a MUST read! I know the whole love triangle thing is a negitave thing in some peoples opinion because it is overdone a lot. But i dont feel that way about this series because Ranger really isnt an option long term... he is more of a treat for the ti...
This whole series is a MUST read! I know the whole love triangle thing is a negitave thing in some peoples opinion because it is overdone a lot. But i dont feel that way about this series because Ranger really isnt an option long term... he is more of a treat for the time being. In the end we all know she will end up with Joe. Ranger isnt one to be tied down.

posted by xlydiasmomx on November 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not a 10

I've been devouring these books like mad, and because I am -- mad crazy over the Stephanie Plum series. But this one left me -- wanting. It lacked the umph of the others; and at the end, it felt as if the author had someone behind her beating her with a whip -- faster...
I've been devouring these books like mad, and because I am -- mad crazy over the Stephanie Plum series. But this one left me -- wanting. It lacked the umph of the others; and at the end, it felt as if the author had someone behind her beating her with a whip -- faster, faster, dagnabit, write faster! It didn't end in a whirlwind but a sigh, or maybe one of those silent farts because it was kind of stinky. At least it didn't end with a cliff-hanger like two others did (don't remember the numbers). It might be awhile now before I buy 11, but I will probably, eventually get to the rest of them.

posted by 5345022 on November 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Samael

    Ugh...fu<3>ck this. I miss you. Dx

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This had to be my favorite one so far. I've been told by quite a

    This had to be my favorite one so far. I've been told by quite a few people they do not like this series and do not understand why I read it. Well, let me tell ya this series makes me actually laugh out loud. They are a joy to read, because of the stupid luck Stephanie has. The trouble, her band of back up, and the triangle between Ranger, Steph, and Joe. I mean really in her position I would probably do the same things. 




    Stephanie manages to get herself in deep this time with the gangs of Trenton. Her sister is getting married, Sally Sweet makes a return appearance (which excites me because I really like his character), Steph yet again loses another car and Ranger comes to the rescue. This time I was surprised she manages to lose and have all three cars destroyed or in need of repair, but manages to keep all three of Ranger's vehicles clean. 




    Ten big ones, Stephanie, Lula, and Connie band together to get answers from a gang member they bonded out of jail. To the Nines I really enjoyed the three working together in Vegas, but in Ten big ones it was hilarious their inability to interrogate the gang member. 




    The love triangle going on between Ranger, Stephanie, and Joe sometimes bugs me a little bit, because Joe wants her to quit her job and do as he says. However we all know that if she did that would Joe really be happy? Less stressed yes, but why else has Stephanie always kept his attention. If she changed and got out of Bounty Hunting and stayed out of trouble. It really wouldn't be Stephanie anymore. 




    She decides to hide in Rangers apartment. I thought we were getting closer to the BatCave. Sadly we haven't yet, but I feel Stephanie will finally find it at some point. Ranger doesn't want Stephanie hurt either but he approaches it in a different way. He knows she will go against any demand that is made of her she doesn't like so he is smart enough to send someone to protect her if he can't. This is what Joe needs to learn. Yes he's Italian and a cop, but still. He's known Stephanie for how long???? Just ask her instead of demanding. She usually knows the danger she's in and is admitting it until Joe makes a demand that sends her usually into more trouble. I cannot wait to pick up the next book and read the next adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Good!

    Like all of Janet Evanovich's books, this one did not disappoint! Looking forward to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Hi im Sandfeather...

    Hi my name is Sandfeather. I grew up in Fishclan. My mother was Honeyblossom and my father was Climbclaw. I had a sister named Everstream and a bro named Climbstream. As i was growing up, Honeyblossom noticed how much i cared for the clan and how respectful but tough i was. When i turned six moons i practiced harder than any other apprentice. Even my brother. I got my warrior name early with Dovepaw the older apprentice. As a warrior i was the best i could be. Then i Left Fishclan after the Great Destruction that wiped out the whole clan. Then i came here. I am very loyal and trustworthy. I just have some requirements- this clan must be realistic: no godmodding or extreme powers. No ignoring things. 2- this kinda goes with realistic. Cats have to live and die. I dont care how, but after awhile even the leader has to die. 3- i know a way to get more cats... try changing the clan name to something more realistic like... Eagleclan, Lightclan, Featherclan, Pondclan, Flowerclan, Oceanclan, Jungleclan, Rainclan, something like that. & if these requirements dont suit you, i will move on. Thank you. ~hopefully your deputy, Sandfeather.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    The most recent book I have read for fun was Ten Big Ones by Jan

    The most recent book I have read for fun was Ten Big Ones by Janet Evanovich. It is the tenth book in her Stephanie Plum series. Stephanie Plum is the world’s worst bounty hunter, but her escapades will have you laughing out loud. She and her ex ‘ho’ turned sidekick pal Lula are definitely no Ziva David (I am a big fan of NCIS), but they either get their man or get themselves in over their heads in trouble.
    This time around, the ditzy dynamic duo go after a Cheez-Doodles tinged PMS sufferer who held up a Fritos truck after going crazy from the no-carb diet. After Stephanie talks her off a bridge, she and Lula need a nacho reward. Stephanie and Lula happen to be at the right place at the wrong time and witness the latest in a series of armed robberies by a suspect wearing a rubber mask dubbed the “red devil” by the press. The man removes his mask just long enough for Stephanie to get a good look at his actual face. He is actually a member of Trenton’s most feared street gang, the Slayers. After losing yet another car to an explosion at the convenient store, Stephanie and Lula follow a gang member into Slayer territory in her uncle’s, big boat of a car, blue Buick. Not very street savvy Stephanie doesn’t realize she is sporting a rival gangs colors in Slayer territory and proceeds to run one of them over with the car. She now has a contract on her head and is pursued by a hired assassin known as Junkman; the bounty hunter becomes the hunted. This plot twist was a nice change compared to some of the other books in the series that I have read which really are all about the strange, and ridiculous situations Stephanie and Lula get into getting their man.
    There are also problems in Stephanie’s personal life, her perfect “saint” of a sister Valerie has decided to tie the knot to a struggling lawyer named Khlougn. Stephanie is destined or doomed to wear an eggplant dress thanks to Sally Sweet the cross dressing rocker, part time school bus driver turned official wedding planner. Stephanie’s crazy Grandma Mazur adds to the family drama stating she thinks Stephanie is getting fat and wondering if she is pregnant. This shows Stephanie is not immune to the body image issues that I believe all women have in some shape or form. It provided just another humorous scene between Stephanie realizing her jeans are too tight to her starting her exercise routine and going for doughnuts after her run.
    This book had me laughing out loud numerous times throughout it. Whether it was when Stephanie and Lula were chasing someone and got themselves into a ridiculous situation and it made you reread it saying did that just happen or the one liner that Stephanie’s Grandma would come out with. I am so glad my girlfriend introduced me to Janet Evanovich and her series Stephanie Plum. I can’t wait to read the next one. I still have a few to go before I am caught up with the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Really fun read. I laugh out loud at the situations she gets herself into.

    I am actually now on the 12th book of Stephanie Plum adventures. I have thoroughly enjoyed them and my husband is beginning to ask what I'm reading since I so often laugh out loud.
    The only negative I'm coming up against is that it seems a third of the books are dedicated to catch up and repeat of the previous ones.
    I want more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    Good, as always

    BUT - will Stephanie ever pick one guy or the other?????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Still fun!

    I have been reading this series since the movie came out a couple months ago. They are fun even though at times you say to yourself "really....come on!" I will keep on reading them for all the goofy things this girl gers herself into. The characters are entertaining to say the least!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Must read series

    I've read before about how its great that you can pick up this series anywhere and still be caught up. You can, but don't do it, there's so much you don't want to miss! I read this book in a day, thanks to all the impending storms. All right so I lied, I was waiting for Ranger action :]. I loved the past few books where Stephanie has really gotten a hang of everything going on around her. She's not always such a damsel in distress and it's nice to see her take charge. I love the dialogue and her sisters family. Every character has a nice distinct personality and they aren't there. It's just your regular dysfunctional family, except of course not every family tends to have a bounty hunter. I love Ranger and Morelli, but I'm starting to like Ranger more and more. He seems to respect her independence more and she's not a woman who can be ordered around! Of course I loved more of Ranger's Merrymen. That always calls for a laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Entertaining; Laugh out loud funny

    I have read books 1-9 so far and I can't stop chuckling! In my head, I've gone so far as to cast a movie with these characters. When you are laughing so hard that you need to put down the book because tears are rolling down your face - well, that's a good read! When you can shake your head and roll your eyes along with Stephanie - that's a good read. You can relate to Stephanie and the trials and tribulations of being the "un-perfect" daughter, wanting what you can't have and being afraid to go for what is right there in front of you. GREAT books so far! I should be done with Ten Big Ones by tonight :) Hope my library has 11 and 12...it's supposed to rain this weekend :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    hooked

    once I read it I was hooked. love the entire series, some more than others but give you a laugh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another winner for Evanovich.

    When I finished reading reading "To the Nines" about a week or so ago and I thought it was a super read. In this book "Ten Big Ones" I welcomed another great story by Janet Evanovich. The story had a lot of my favorite characters from the earlier books and I thought this story had more bounty hunts than the other works. Overall, in my opinion this is great read that will keep your interest page after page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2007

    Cookie and Spooky

    Typical Janet Evanovich, Excellent reading and a page turner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2006

    Still good

    This the last book that my library has. Got to find 11 and 12 wont be released until June 06. I hate having to wait for new releases when yu want to know the outcome.Does Valerie marry the lawyer? Does she quit bounty hunting? Does she marry Joe or stay with Ranger.Ten leaves yu hanging with alot of questions.Does Sally Sweet get reward money for gang member? I guess 11 will tell

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2005

    Light and funny

    Starting with the tenth book in a series probably isn¿t the place to start, but then I¿ve always like doing certain things backwards, like looking through magazines. Ten Big Ones is my first Evanovich book. The humor is a bit sophomoric, but I found myself LOL at some of the antics of its characters. One of my favorite characters turned out to be Sally, the transvestite. Snap. Snap. The story opens with the destruction of yet another of Stephanie¿s vehicles, which, of course, is not her fault¿not much is her fault. She spends her days going after ¿skips¿ ¿ those who don¿t show up for their court date after the bail bonds company she works for posts bond. Because Stephanie happened to see the face of the Red Devil during a robbery, she¿s in more danger than the usual stuff of catching up with skips. Therein lies the plot. Between Stephanie¿s bounty hunting escapades; her romantic trysts and fantasies; and her quirky family and friends, she has her hands full. Grandma Mazur is a pip, while sister, Valerie, and her live-in-boyfriend-father-of-her-new-baby, Albert Kloughn (yes, it¿s pronounced Clown), make everyone sick with their Cuddle Umpkins, Cutie Uggums baby talk to each other. Then there¿s Lula, the office file clerk, and ex-ho, who is Stephanie¿s sidekick as she makes her rounds in the Trenton area of New Jersey. Lula¿s physical presence, demeanor, and antics add considerable comedy to the story. Then there¿s Taskykakes, doughnuts, shower gel and Chez Doodles. If you¿re looking for light fare this is it. Ms. E is a master craftsman at writing light comedy with a tinge of suspense. If you¿ll excuse me now, I¿m going to go cuddle with my Snuggy Uggums. Carolyn Rowe Hill

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2005

    Don't Hesitate on This One

    With her usual flair, Janet has once again created a hilarious can't stop reading it story. I count the month waiting for her new books every year!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2004

    Staying on Course

    Janet's latest is a continuation of the perils of Plum. She continues to destroy vehicles, endanger herself and those around her and get saved just in the nick of time. This time her savior isn't a cop or mercenary. This volume of the Plum series has several light moments and several nervous ones. All in all, it is a very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2004

    Fan

    good book, even tho a lot didnt like it, i loved it and was caught laughing out loud. i think stephane and ranger need to have a major romance, that would be good. cant wait for eleven.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2004

    WOW

    This book takes you up, down, in, and out of the lives of the Plums. I really enjoyed this book but didn't like being left with the question what happens next. I guess it's just as well because I finished the book last week and already I can't wait for the next one. No one will be able to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2004

    Light Easy Reading and Funny Too

    I have read all of the Plum series and have laughed out loud. Sometime even bring tears to my eyes. I think they are easy reads, great fun, spoofy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6