Customer Reviews for

Ten Hours until Dawn: The True Story of Heroism and Tragedy Aboard the Can Do

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    From a Family Member

    Being a family member of Frank Quirk Jr. I can say that this book was outstanding. This book keeps you on the edge you never kno what will happen next. Being a family meber i can say that if Mick Tougias had not written this book the family would have. Everyone today when asked 'Who is your Hero?' they usually say some kind of sprts figure. well Frank Quirk is a true hero. this is a good book that i strongly reccomend. i'm not a reader and i had it read in 1 week.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2007

    a story that has you gasping for breath

    An excellent account of a heros tragedy. Written in a way that makes you feel the anguish and keeps your adrenalin peeked right along with the crews. Left me gasping for air and wishing I could help them! Looking out onto the ocean from these North Shore towns like Salem and Beverly sends me right back into the depths and pages of this story.I highly recommend.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2005

    Charlie Bucko

    Michel Tougias has done a superb job in recreating the events leading up to the tragety on the pilot boat Can Do. I was very fortunatly to be stationed with Charlie Bucko at Pt Allerton station till he got stationed at Gloucester C.G. station. I was not suprised on what Charlie did, he was a very dedicated C.G. personel. He took his job very serious to the very end. I am proud to have served with him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2005

    Compelling Read

    Book is full of history for the coastal area where the Can Do went down. The stories from the crews of the other larger coast guard ships trying to assist were gripping. Cape Ann, not just Gloucester, has a rich history associated with the sea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2005

    Gripping Account of a New England Tragedy

    Lost in the understandable media frenzy surrounding the 'Blizzard of '78' was the heroic and tragic story of Frank Quirk, and the crew of the Can Do. Thankfully, the author has tirelessly researched the relevant records and interviewed numerous colleagues of the fated crew to finally bring this story to light. A truly compelling and informative read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2005

    Ten Hours until Dawn: The True Story of Heroism and Tragedy Aboard the Can Do

    As a college student who has not read any novels involving the sea, I was not only drawn in by the writing of Michael Tougias, but also captivated and completely moved at the heroism of Captain Quirk and his crew. This story kept me at the edge of my seat, I would recommend to any audience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2005

    TRUE GLOUCESTER HEROES

    Gloucester is a seaport that has had more than its share of vessels that have left port never to be seen again. Most of the fishing fleet were and still are family owned and operated boats. The attention brought by ¿The Perfect Storm¿ put a shadow over the many people who gave their lives to help others. I am glad that the Can Do and it¿s ill fated crew have been able to have their story told. It is well worth reading for all ages. Thank you Michael for giving us this story. It was so long ago many of us, who lived through it, have pushed it from our memories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2005

    Great read of heroism

    Michael Tougias' writing makes the reader feel that they are right there with the crew of the Can Do. I found myself routing for them even though unfortunately I knew the outcome. The historical information he included regarding the North Shore coast of Massachusetts and the shipwreck stories of the past were very interesting. These stories help to define the peril that the Can Do found itself in. Frank Quirk and his crew were truly heroes and that is something hard to find these days. It's a must read for those of us who love the ocean.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2005

    TEN HOURS UNTIL DAWN----THE BLIZZARD OF '78

    IF YOU ENJOYED 'THE PERFECT STORM', THIS BOOK IS EVEN BETTER. IT IS TOTALLY OUTSTANDING!!!! THE BOOK IS VERY WELL WRITTEN AND DESCRIBES THE PEOPLE INVOLVED, THE EVENTS LEADING UP TO THE TRAGEDY OF THE M/V CAN DO, WHAT HAPPENED DURING THE BLIZZARD, AND THE AFTERMATH. MR. TOUGIAS HAD TO SPEND AN IMMEASUREABLE AMOUNT OF TIME AND EFFORT INTO THIS BOOK. IT IS A FIRST CLASS PIECE OF WORK DESERVING THE HIGHEST IN LITERARY RECOGNITION. I PERSONALLY SERVED WITH CHARLIE BUCKO, ONE OF THE CREW ON THE CAN DO, AND GAVE HIM MY RECOLLECTIONS OF HIM. IT WAS AT USCG STATION PT. ALLERTON. THIS IS A BOOK EVERYONE SHOULD READ!!!! GREAT JOB MIKE!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2005

    Ten Hours until Dawn: The True Story of Heroism and Tragedy Aboard the Can Do

    I read alot of books by far this is the most riveting story I have ever read. The author makes you feel you are part of the story, and action. It is a must read for all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2005

    Must Read!

    I have just finished Ten Hours Until Dawn, and it is by far one of the most enjoyable stories I have ever read. Once you begin this book you will not be able to put it down. Author Michael Tougias makes you feel as though you are part of the story. I highly recommend Ten Hours Until Dawn to all audiences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2005

    Thrilling and electrifying

    Michael Tougias' Ten Hours Until Dawn is a true life story of peril at sea during the Blizzard of 1978. Since Sebastian Junger's classic epic, A Perfect Storm, many authors have written similar stories dealing with tragedies at sea. Tougias' book is by far the best such book since Junger's and in many ways is superior to A Perfect Storm. Tougias skillfully balances human drama with technical details in writing about the brave men who attempted to make a rescue at sea during the terrible blizzard. Ten Hours Until Dawn is an incredible tale of heroism and sacrafice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2005

    Riviting Account of Attempted Rescue at Sea

    Having livied in Salem during the Blizzard of 78, I was quite interested in reading 'Ten Hours Until Dawn.' The characterizations are extremely personal and the plot riveting. The author instills drama and intrigue into each part of the book by delving into the background of the characters and related events.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1