Customer Reviews for

Ten Mile River

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Firekit

    Midnightkit lets get back to camp he meowed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Perfect calssic

    Cool book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    Live in the Bronx!

    Wow, you're immediately immersed and feeling as though you're hanging with these kids. If you've never been to the Bronx, no worries, Mr Griffin paints a vivid picture, and you live it, feel it, see it! Your emotions get tossed around a bit.... real life can hurt, but what a debut book, can't wait for his next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2008

    I loved this book

    I've already read Ten Mile River twice -- and I loved it. The characters are authentic and the writing is amazing. As a counselor for teens and as someone who has worked in urban settings with teens who are 'in the system' (as the author has), there were so many times when I just smiled and knew how achingly realistic this book is. There is a world out there that so many people have never known about -- and in that world there is a court system that unfortunately has failed so many of our kids. Ten Mile River not only describes the realities of living on the streets but does so with humanity and hope. I already recommended this book to our town librarian who is always looking for great YA literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2008

    My son loved it.

    This is a very realistic picture of life in the city, both painful and tender. I enjoyed it from the first page and so did my teenage son.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    I caught my breath!

    I love your book!  The dialogue takes a little getting used to, but once I entered Ray's and Jose's world, I felt like I could completely relate...reading this book was like watching a movie that you don't want to end.  I caught my breath twice and you leave me wanting to know...where is Ray now!?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2008

    I was really moved

    I bought this book for my younger brother to try to get him into reading for the summer after reading a review about it on the Publisher's Weekly website and I always read the books first to make sure they're okay for him. I was completely blown away. I made him read it and he came to me and thanked me for the first time I can remember. He really related to it and these guys and it provided me with one of the best conversations I've ever had with my brother. So if the author is reading these, thank you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2008

    Instant Classic!

    A blessings is what I label 'Ten Mile River'. I could not put it down and once I finished I struggled with being selfish and reading it again right away, or sharing the wealth with my younger brother. I have not seen the book since (smiles). Please read, share, discuss, rinse and repeat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2008

    A great read

    This novel immerses you into the fascinating and crazy world that Jose and Ray inhabit. Ray's character feels so real, you immediately empathize and start rooting for him. I made the mistake of starting it late one night and couldn't wait to finish work the next day to get back to it and find out what happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2008

    More than just a summer's read

    A gem of a small book that quickly catapults you into the complicated lives and relationships of two homeless boys, the world they have created for themselves, their hopes, fears,the relationships they seek. Amazing how such a vibrant world is encompassed in such little space. YOu can't put it down and before you know it, it's over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2008

    Great read for all ages, not just young adult

    From the first chapter, i was fully engaged in who these two boys were. Ray and Jose will make you laugh and cry...their characters are so full of life that you almost forget that they are fictional characters. The writing is simple yet full of emotion and detail. I loved this book...it's a great read not only for young adults but for old adults as well. :) I can see this book getting great word of mouth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1