Customer Reviews for

Ten Minutes from Home

Average Rating 3.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    Wonderful, touching memoir

    I love reading memoirs, and this was one of the best and most touching I have ever read. You can actually feel Beth's pain while reading this book. Memoirs are not always "page-turners" but this one definitely is. I could not put it down and read it in a little more than a day. It's amazing that she has recalled everything in such detail. She is without doubt a very talented and engaging writer. My hope is that Beth and her parents continue to heal. I recommend this book to anyone as an example of family love under the most tragic of circumstances.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Only OK

    When I first noticed this book at the BN, I immediately thought it looked like a deeply emotional story that I could easily become entrenched in. At first, my intuition was proven to be correct. After a while though, the story began to drag on. Not to say that the tragic event is something that was not powerful enough to potentially evoke some empathy from the reader-it was-it was just too detailed and there was no emotional break from the incident. It was an ok read, but there were more than a few times that I felt the author was trying to get across a very intense feeling to the reader and fell short.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2010

    Loved this book!!

    Beth Greenfield's account of the devastating deaths of her little brother and best friend, killed by a drunk driver is amazing! She manages to get across the emotions, from guilt, anguish, grief, lack of emotion, fear and recovery in ways that even people who haven't lost anyone special can relate to. Amazing book! Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    A Child's Grief

    Ten minutes from home, coming back from twelve-year old Beth's ballet recital, the family car was hit by a drunk driver. Beth's little brother and only sibling, Adam, and her best friend, Kristen, did not survive. This memoir, written 25 years later, is a heartfelt, touching memoir of grief, of coping and not coping, of the guilt of survival. Beth did not know how to deal with all she was feeling, and her parents, lost in their own fogs, were not able to help. She especially needed her mother and was angry and embarrassed when her mother couldn't be the rock she wanted. Friends didn't know how to react, how to express themselves. Beth felt both alienated from them and craved the extra attention she got.

    If there was any mention of what happened to the driver who hit them, I somehow missed it, and I am curious about that.

    Nicely written, this memoir is an emotional read but did not strike me as maudlin. It is an adult remembering the emotions of a child and it rings true as what a child would feel, not what an adult would imagine a child would feel. The copy I read was an uncorrected proof and had a few, not too many, mistakes that I assume are corrected in the published edition. One quote I found heartbreaking in the unintentional cruelty it spoke:

    "After he was gone, my great aunt Mildred said, 'At least he was only adopted,' and my mom never forgave her."

    Ten Minutes from Home is a lovely little book that will touch anyone who has ever felt loss.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    I wanted to look inside the book and browse some pages, and get

    I wanted to look inside the book and browse some pages, and get an idea of the writer's style of writing, unfortunately while it says it can be viewed, it can not be viewed. It says the publisher has not made any of the pages available. ??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Rambling, self absorbed

    I picked up this book at Barnes and Noble. I love reading memoirs but this one was so narcissistic that I was put off by the tone and voice from the start. It seems to exploit a genuinely tragic event for personal glory. I couldn't feel sympathetic. Then the author tacks on a falsely happy ending without acknowledging how profoundly damaged she is due to the trauma, or how her own grief and behavior affected others. There is no detail about that, which was strange. She describes a past of alcoholism, drugs and reckless behavior, and severe eating issues, but doen't bother to explain how she is supposedly healed at the end and what she has learned or how she dug herself out, if at all. She just tacks on the feel good ending, making this a superficial, disappointing read with a needy "look at me" tone. The author makes herself teh hero of her own story but it's narrowly told, without the benefit of real insight or analysis. The worst thing is that this story, though disturbing, doesn't warrant a whole memoir. Embarassing, inappropriate details are revealed about the author and her family, which in my opinion should have remained private. It's a personal tragedy that doesn't illuminate enough to draw in the reader. The writing is nice in parts, but just strings together a bunch of events. It reads like the long and rambling, at times incoherent, diary entry of a selfish teenage girl, mean to her parents, and someone with a dark past still seeking attention and approval. In that regard it's sad, but it made me wince. Unfortunately, not recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1