BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ten Prayers God Always Says Yes To: Divine Answers to Life's Most Difficult Problems

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ten Prayers God Always Says Yes To Keeps Me Going

When I first read this book, I couldn't believe that its seemingly simplistic writing style could touch me as deeply as it has. I first heard about this book from a magazine article about a mother who had lost her teenaged daughter in a car crash. She was, naturally, ...
When I first read this book, I couldn't believe that its seemingly simplistic writing style could touch me as deeply as it has. I first heard about this book from a magazine article about a mother who had lost her teenaged daughter in a car crash. She was, naturally, inconsolable, and found this book in a bookstore. After having read it, she wrote the article in order to inspire others to get through such devastating situations, and probably also to help in her own healing process.

I take this book to chapel with me every week and this is where I have read most of it. As a matter of fact, I am in my fourth reading of this wonderful book, and get a little more out of it each time. Also, I have given copies of Ten Prayers to friends and my own daughters.

The book's logic and simplicity are really an easy read, one of those reads which inspires one to close the book after a chapter, to close your eyes and rest your head back. These are prayers one is not used to praying, yet they work in the most ordinary ways. They have certainly seen me through when regular prayers don't work.

This is not a denominational work, yet it is profoundly religious. Yes, I said religious, not spiritual, because the author draws on many religions to emphasize what he is trying to say. Yet, one doesn't need to be a member of an organized religion to benefit from his writing. One of the conclusions I drew from this book is that the author uses plain common sense to deliver the messages. One can hardly argue with that.

I recommend this book to anyone who needs reinforcement of his basic beliefs or anyone looking for common sense guidance in life.

posted by AHappyBooker on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

faith in your prayers

I bought this trying to ensure my prayers are being said like they should. although this book is good. I have realized that God hears every pray we pray. It Must be in HIS WILL.. not yours

posted by 10472202 on March 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 10, 2009

    BEAUTIFUL IN IT'S SIMPLICITY!

    Wonderfully written, the book itself is THE ANSWER most of us have been waiting for. The more I read, the more I realized this man was singled out by God to take His message to the masses without all the do's and don't's we've all had to put up with. It is refreshingly simple in it's message but it does the job of digging right through all the muck we call our defenses. After finishing the book I realized I had been changed by it's message. It felt so soothing and comforting, as if he and I were having this conversation and here was someone who understood where I was coming from. I truly wish I could purchase hundreds of copies and give them all away to my friends, family, coworkers, and anyone else who would read it. The Ten Commandments of life - brought to you in such a way that you can truly see and feel God. Yes. You need this book and I challenge you to read it and not admit it's impact on you. That's why it was written, for believers all over the world, and for unbelievers also. Go ahead and let this man introduce you to your Maker - better now than later.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Ten Prayers God Always Says Yes To Keeps Me Going

    When I first read this book, I couldn't believe that its seemingly simplistic writing style could touch me as deeply as it has. I first heard about this book from a magazine article about a mother who had lost her teenaged daughter in a car crash. She was, naturally, inconsolable, and found this book in a bookstore. After having read it, she wrote the article in order to inspire others to get through such devastating situations, and probably also to help in her own healing process.<BR/><BR/>I take this book to chapel with me every week and this is where I have read most of it. As a matter of fact, I am in my fourth reading of this wonderful book, and get a little more out of it each time. Also, I have given copies of Ten Prayers to friends and my own daughters.<BR/><BR/>The book's logic and simplicity are really an easy read, one of those reads which inspires one to close the book after a chapter, to close your eyes and rest your head back. These are prayers one is not used to praying, yet they work in the most ordinary ways. They have certainly seen me through when regular prayers don't work.<BR/><BR/>This is not a denominational work, yet it is profoundly religious. Yes, I said religious, not spiritual, because the author draws on many religions to emphasize what he is trying to say. Yet, one doesn't need to be a member of an organized religion to benefit from his writing. One of the conclusions I drew from this book is that the author uses plain common sense to deliver the messages. One can hardly argue with that.<BR/><BR/>I recommend this book to anyone who needs reinforcement of his basic beliefs or anyone looking for common sense guidance in life.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    Inspiring and life changing... must read!

    I happened to fall upon this book during a time when I was pondering a career change, and was praying for a certain job. Not sure how I found the link to this book, but I'm glad I did! I read one chapter each night and feel that my faith is now stronger. This book is guaranteed to change your life after reading it... you may never look at prayer the same again. They only had 1 copy left when I went to pick it up at the bookstore; I was about to buy another one for my mother but will be sure to just give her mine. This is a book that you will always want to reread for inspiration.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2009

    Answers Profound Question

    The book gave me answers that I needed when I felt God was not moving or hearing me. I still feel on "hold" with God in my life, but this book has given me hope that He will answer when the time is right.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2009

    Great Read

    This was a very well written book! Talk about a quick read! DeStefano's other book - A Travel Guide to Heaven - is also very good. Hope this guys keeps 'em coming.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    I loved this book!

    I really loved reading this book. It was warm and comforting. It helped me see how important faith is and how beautiful life is, no matter what we may have to face. I highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2007

    What a book!

    There aren't words to describe how much this book has changed my life! I have read so many prayer books and tried to fallow what they say, but this book informed me of all the things that were always to difficult for me to understand and brought me to a new place in my life. Since reading this book, even when the odds have been against me, I've had to continuously look to God for answers, and I haven't been let down once. It truely is the best book I've ever read!!! I can't wait to read the first book that DeStefano wrote.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    faith in your prayers

    I bought this trying to ensure my prayers are being said like they should. although this book is good. I have realized that God hears every pray we pray. It Must be in HIS WILL.. not yours

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Excellent Book

    One of my adult children, educated in a Catholic grade school told me she didn't know what it was o.k. to pray for. I was a convert, raised in a protestant church. I really didn't know how to pray either. This book is a good, practical everyday guide to prayer regardless of a person's religious background. I bought several copies and gave them to family members, one of whom had a Catholic high school education.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2007

    Powerful

    This book was amazing. Before reading this book I did not know how to pray. Now my prayers have meaning. This book was a real page turner, but I believe the the last few pages changed my life. The author recounts the story of how his wife worked so hard to become a lawyer, but she decided to take a break from law school and took a part time job as a teacher. He tells how teaching changed her life and helped her get through one of the most difficult times of her life. I could not stop sobbing after reading this section. I highly recommend this book for anyone who feels lost and emotionally numb. If you are ready to make a change in your life, read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2014

    A go-to book!

    I have this book in hardcover, but I got the nook version so I can refer to it when necessary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    My favorite writer

    The right word at the right time. Truly one the best communicators in Christian writing today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Simple, Inspirational, Breathtaking

    I believe I have reviewed this particular book previously. However, the reason I was asked to review it once again is that I have purchased it more than five times, and given away all but my own copy,well worn by now. Someone will sit with me, a friend, relative, just an acquaintance, with a hurt in their heart or look on their face and relate suffering going on in their lives at that moment, and we all have them. From then on, it's an easy step to offer them this book, but just to have them read Chapter 10, not long at all. An entire book is a real commitment to a lot of people however, one chapter most can fit into their schedules.

    I believe the reason God pointed me to this book is that He wanted me to pass it on, so that it could inspire others in a simple, straightforward manner, easy to read and full of those "AHA Moments" you hear about so often on TV.

    Anthony DeStefano is my hero because his book has been my guide in life, both spiritually and practically, for the last few years. I spend an hour at church one day a week for a devotional and at that time read one chapter of DeStefano's book. I know the chapters almost by heart but need the special words to guide me through the tough times and even the great ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Great Book

    I really enjoyed this book, gave several for Christmas gifts and they
    all raved about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2007

    Just okay

    It wasn't the best book I've read but wasn't the worst either. The author had a few good points that I liked.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2