Customer Reviews for

Ten Things I Wish I'd Known Before I Went Out into the Real World

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    This is a great book.  I wish I had had it before I got out of h

    This is a great book.  I wish I had had it before I got out of high school.  It may have given me the push I needed!  Highly recommend it as a graduation gift!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2001

    Get this book for a sister, friend, co-worker..just get it!!

    This book was great. Down to earth, simple yet profound. I really enjoyed reading it and it helped put my career and goals in perspective!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2001

    Life Lessons 101- Read this book

    I was given this book to read over the summer before I entered into college. This is one of the best books that I've read. The reason why I like this book so much is because Shriver gives you lessons of life that everyone needs to learn. For example, the first lesson is to pursue your passion. You want to be able to choose a career that is right for you, despite criticism that you may get because of the choices that you make. Overall, it was a wonderful book. I enjoy the synopses at the end of each chapter. This book is on my list of good books!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2001

    SO TRUE

    Ms. Shriver touches all of us. It is a book about what we all go through - the peaks and valleys of a career. I think one of the best lines from her is YOUR BOSS IS MORE IMPORTANT THAN THE JOB ITSELF. Kudos to Ms. Shriver and I hope there is more to come.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Plz read...

    Will someone lend me this book?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Scared

    Everyone says u are suppose to be scaredof something are someone. "Is that really true?"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2006

    for graduation or other milestones

    Maria has picked a great topic: words of advice for young people starting new lives. I also love another new book, Words to Live By: A Journal of Wisdom for Someone You Love, by a mother-daughter team. Maria is great, but maybe your (grand)child would rather hear from you. This other book lets you and your family write in your own bits of life advice (big or small) for your young person. Surprisingly easy to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2002

    Not just another Kennedy.

    I really enjoyed this audio. It was entertaining as well as educational. It pointed out some of the pitfalls we all face when entering the real world. It also gives insight on being a Kennedy and the disadvantages that come with the name.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2002

    Uncommonly Good Advice

    This book is filled with helpful advice for any stage of life. As soon as I finished it, I gave it to my son to read (he is graduating soon). It's refreshing to see that a person can succeed while maintaining a positive attitude and being ethical. The little tidbits about Maria's marriage and family add flavor to this delightful read. I also recommend the book of wisdom titled 'Open Your Mind, Open Your Life' by Taro Gold. Both these books make for great graduate gifts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2001

    A Realistic, Helpful Personal Memoir for the New Graduate

    You've just graduated, and want to make your mark on the world. What should you focus on? Maria Shriver has excellent ideas for you! Most young people desperately want to carve their own niche and acquire competence in the 20s. In the course of doing that, they can fall into stalled thinking about living up to others' expectations and achieving perfection. This book provides a good antidote to those misconceptions. The advice encourages humility and realism. Because Maria Shriver is a celebrity who works in television, this message will seem relevant to even the most starstruck. The weakness of the book is that she only tells her own story, but doesn't use anyone else as an example. We all can learn from everyone we meet, so Ms. Shriver does fall down in this one department. Her memoir focuses on her life from the end of college to now. She comes across as well-meaning in this book, someone who's heart is in the right place and is willing to work like a dog. Even if you don't think you like her, take a look at the book. You can tell after a chapter or two if this is for you or not. Of her advice lists, I thought that 'pinpoint your passion' and 'be willing to fail' were the most pertinent to young people today who are just graduating. The reason these are important is that your passion will get you through the ups and downs in your chosen direction. Failures are your best learning experiences. Naturally, if someone you know wants a career in television, this book also contains some useful information about what the process is like. It's more hard work than many would imagine! Also, I suggest that you talk to some other older people to ask them what they have learned from experience. Most people do not have a glittering or greatly satisfying life by middle age. If they wanted better, where did they go wrong? You can learn a lot from other peoples' mistakes, as well. Persistence counts for a lot! Donald Mitchell, co-author of The Irresistible Growth Enterprise and The 2,000 Percent Solution

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2000

    Something to Look Forward To

    This book amazing captures all my fears and revelations about life. I learned that the high expectations I have for my career choice should be stored and not discourage me when it doesn't work out like I hope. This funny lite tale really is the recipe for a happy life. I found out about this book on an Oprah late night re-run when Maria Shriver appeared. I went the next day to buy it and could not put it down. It really helped me to gain perspective on my life as my final semester in college approached. I am able to laugh about my faults and find ways to improve them. All without the desire to hide until its over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2000

    She tells it like it is.

    I found the book to be great. It's nice to know that deep down inside she went through many of the same things that 'regular' people go through. It seems like she dosen't take herself to seriously, and that she is always in the process of learning and improving herself. I admit when I bought this book I didn't know if i was going to like it. The only times I really see Maria Shriver is on Dateline or with Arnold and the Kennedy family. The book was fresh, enlightning, and inspiring, and it showed truly what kind of person she truly is. I recommend that everyone read this book so they know that they too are going through some of the situations that she went through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2000

    A very good book

    she is a great author...she knew what she was talking about when she was writing this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2000

    Laughing about things is easier now!

    When I read the title of the book 'Ten Things I Wish I'd Known - Before I Went Out into the Real World' by Maria Shriver I thought - wow, that could be very interesting. And it was! Maria Shriver has such an analytic and humorous way of seeing and describing things and showing ways of handling different situations - by accepting what's happening and following your own feelings and intuition. For me one very important aspect was, that she describes every situation happening from her point of view without leaving out the challenges she faced as - a women who tries to handle her career, her relationship and later on also her kids. She made me often laugh by describing the perfectionism she has had trying to do always the perfect thing - and the results it had and the mixed feelings and failures it produced. The fact, that taking yourself not too seriously but to focus on what you are doing, was one aspect that shifted my point of view to begin to see my own life in a different light. The ways she describes how to handle situations and emotions by accepting what's happening and just going on with humour and trust showed me a way of laughing about myself sometimes, to love parts of my life I didn't accept before and to search for my own way - by accepting that 'Superwomen Is Dead ...' how she names it - and feeling that your only chance is to go for your own life yourself - and to do what you want to do to become happy. Thanks for describing your development in such a wonderful and funny way - it really is often fun now for me to look in the mirror after having read this book! The feelings I had while reading this book remind me of another book which I would like to recommend to other readers. This book is called 'Working On Yourself Doesn't Work' by Ariel & Shya Kane. It's thesis is that being in the moment and becoming aware of your own mechanical behaviours hold the possibility to transform your life. 'Transformation' allows for different possibilities in your life that you thought were never possible before. To live a happy life and have success in all areas of your life. And their thesis works! They also made a big difference in my life and I would like to thank Maria Shriver and the Kanes for their wonderful works and the fun and happiness I have since I understand their ideas more and more- by seeing things with humour and acceptance - which makes a lot of things so much easier. Thanks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2000

    A definite must read

    I first crossed passed with Shriver's book at the library, shoved between two sci-fi books. I shrugged, thinking for a short read it was worth the time, and if anything at least I could say I read something she wrote. The book is great, and that's the concises way to write it. As a journalist not even close to Shriver's level, it was nice to know that she has faced some of the same struggles I am facing now with my blossoming career. I admire her work balancing family and work, and she really hit home by saying you just can't do everything overnight, that's what you have a whole lifetime for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2000

    Maria is me ...I am Maria

    I have finally met Maria Shriver. The mix of humorous true life stories and real life struggles were amazing. A quick read that had me nodding my head in agreement throughout the book.She has my respect as a mother, wife, and a savy business woman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2000

    Ten Things I Wish I'd Known before I Went Out into the Real World

    I just hope that Ms. Shriver continues to write incredible uplifting books like this one. She is very human and shares the obstacles she faced and her fears, etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2000

    Compassion and advice

    ¿Ten Things I Wish I¿d Known - Before I Went Out into the Real World¿ by Maria Shriver is a fun book written with a spirit of compassion. While it¿s based on a college graduation speech, its appeal is really to anyone open to advice about work and personal relationships. My favorite chapter was ¿Your Behavior Has Consequences¿ because . Shriver takes an honest look at getting ¿your gut to talk ethics to you.¿ It¿s about personal integrity in environments that practically beg you to bend your principles. Shriver uses examples from her own life, citing mistakes she¿s made, and successes she¿s had in the area of living with integrity. I got the feeling that someone who had been down certain roads was willing to lend me a hand in being true to myself. I was inspired that she stressed letting go of the past and getting on with what¿s present in your life. To readers interested in discovering a fuller life, I highly recommend ¿Working on Yourself Doesn¿t Work¿ by Ariel and Shya Kane. This book is for anyone who wants to live each day with self-expression, satisfaction and love. Many books have pointed the way for me, but this one went right to the heart of the matter - that trying to fix yourself keeps you stuck in the places you¿d like to be free of, but getting into the moment will set you free. Just in reading and re-reading the book, I¿ve found myself falling into the space of living in the moment and my life has become easier. This book is truly a gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2000

    Easy Read; Witty and Fun...A Good Gift

    I read Shriver's book in only two days because it was short and easy to read and because it was so enjoyable. Reading this book gives an interesting insight into Shriver's life and her light-hearted sense of humor. Nothing in the book is so deep or mind-boggling that it will deeply affect you. Then again, I'm not exactly a recent college graduate, the audience intended for this book. It's a good book for high school and college graduates and has good, realistic advice backed by interesting examples from Shriver's life. I'll probably keep it around and read it again just for kicks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2000

    Uplifting and full of hope

    I had just recently graduated form college when I received this book. It has given me a better outlook on life and the journey that lies before me. I recommend it to anyone who just graduated and unsure of their future. It's very uplifting. I feel like I know Maria personally now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2