Customer Reviews for

Ten Things I Wish I'd Known Before I Went Out into the Real World

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Plz read...

    Will someone lend me this book?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2006

    for graduation or other milestones

    Maria has picked a great topic: words of advice for young people starting new lives. I also love another new book, Words to Live By: A Journal of Wisdom for Someone You Love, by a mother-daughter team. Maria is great, but maybe your (grand)child would rather hear from you. This other book lets you and your family write in your own bits of life advice (big or small) for your young person. Surprisingly easy to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2002

    Uncommonly Good Advice

    This book is filled with helpful advice for any stage of life. As soon as I finished it, I gave it to my son to read (he is graduating soon). It's refreshing to see that a person can succeed while maintaining a positive attitude and being ethical. The little tidbits about Maria's marriage and family add flavor to this delightful read. I also recommend the book of wisdom titled 'Open Your Mind, Open Your Life' by Taro Gold. Both these books make for great graduate gifts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2001

    A Realistic, Helpful Personal Memoir for the New Graduate

    You've just graduated, and want to make your mark on the world. What should you focus on? Maria Shriver has excellent ideas for you! Most young people desperately want to carve their own niche and acquire competence in the 20s. In the course of doing that, they can fall into stalled thinking about living up to others' expectations and achieving perfection. This book provides a good antidote to those misconceptions. The advice encourages humility and realism. Because Maria Shriver is a celebrity who works in television, this message will seem relevant to even the most starstruck. The weakness of the book is that she only tells her own story, but doesn't use anyone else as an example. We all can learn from everyone we meet, so Ms. Shriver does fall down in this one department. Her memoir focuses on her life from the end of college to now. She comes across as well-meaning in this book, someone who's heart is in the right place and is willing to work like a dog. Even if you don't think you like her, take a look at the book. You can tell after a chapter or two if this is for you or not. Of her advice lists, I thought that 'pinpoint your passion' and 'be willing to fail' were the most pertinent to young people today who are just graduating. The reason these are important is that your passion will get you through the ups and downs in your chosen direction. Failures are your best learning experiences. Naturally, if someone you know wants a career in television, this book also contains some useful information about what the process is like. It's more hard work than many would imagine! Also, I suggest that you talk to some other older people to ask them what they have learned from experience. Most people do not have a glittering or greatly satisfying life by middle age. If they wanted better, where did they go wrong? You can learn a lot from other peoples' mistakes, as well. Persistence counts for a lot! Donald Mitchell, co-author of The Irresistible Growth Enterprise and The 2,000 Percent Solution

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2000

    Laughing about things is easier now!

    When I read the title of the book 'Ten Things I Wish I'd Known - Before I Went Out into the Real World' by Maria Shriver I thought - wow, that could be very interesting. And it was! Maria Shriver has such an analytic and humorous way of seeing and describing things and showing ways of handling different situations - by accepting what's happening and following your own feelings and intuition. For me one very important aspect was, that she describes every situation happening from her point of view without leaving out the challenges she faced as - a women who tries to handle her career, her relationship and later on also her kids. She made me often laugh by describing the perfectionism she has had trying to do always the perfect thing - and the results it had and the mixed feelings and failures it produced. The fact, that taking yourself not too seriously but to focus on what you are doing, was one aspect that shifted my point of view to begin to see my own life in a different light. The ways she describes how to handle situations and emotions by accepting what's happening and just going on with humour and trust showed me a way of laughing about myself sometimes, to love parts of my life I didn't accept before and to search for my own way - by accepting that 'Superwomen Is Dead ...' how she names it - and feeling that your only chance is to go for your own life yourself - and to do what you want to do to become happy. Thanks for describing your development in such a wonderful and funny way - it really is often fun now for me to look in the mirror after having read this book! The feelings I had while reading this book remind me of another book which I would like to recommend to other readers. This book is called 'Working On Yourself Doesn't Work' by Ariel & Shya Kane. It's thesis is that being in the moment and becoming aware of your own mechanical behaviours hold the possibility to transform your life. 'Transformation' allows for different possibilities in your life that you thought were never possible before. To live a happy life and have success in all areas of your life. And their thesis works! They also made a big difference in my life and I would like to thank Maria Shriver and the Kanes for their wonderful works and the fun and happiness I have since I understand their ideas more and more- by seeing things with humour and acceptance - which makes a lot of things so much easier. Thanks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2000

    Compassion and advice

    ¿Ten Things I Wish I¿d Known - Before I Went Out into the Real World¿ by Maria Shriver is a fun book written with a spirit of compassion. While it¿s based on a college graduation speech, its appeal is really to anyone open to advice about work and personal relationships. My favorite chapter was ¿Your Behavior Has Consequences¿ because . Shriver takes an honest look at getting ¿your gut to talk ethics to you.¿ It¿s about personal integrity in environments that practically beg you to bend your principles. Shriver uses examples from her own life, citing mistakes she¿s made, and successes she¿s had in the area of living with integrity. I got the feeling that someone who had been down certain roads was willing to lend me a hand in being true to myself. I was inspired that she stressed letting go of the past and getting on with what¿s present in your life. To readers interested in discovering a fuller life, I highly recommend ¿Working on Yourself Doesn¿t Work¿ by Ariel and Shya Kane. This book is for anyone who wants to live each day with self-expression, satisfaction and love. Many books have pointed the way for me, but this one went right to the heart of the matter - that trying to fix yourself keeps you stuck in the places you¿d like to be free of, but getting into the moment will set you free. Just in reading and re-reading the book, I¿ve found myself falling into the space of living in the moment and my life has become easier. This book is truly a gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2000

    Easy Read; Witty and Fun...A Good Gift

    I read Shriver's book in only two days because it was short and easy to read and because it was so enjoyable. Reading this book gives an interesting insight into Shriver's life and her light-hearted sense of humor. Nothing in the book is so deep or mind-boggling that it will deeply affect you. Then again, I'm not exactly a recent college graduate, the audience intended for this book. It's a good book for high school and college graduates and has good, realistic advice backed by interesting examples from Shriver's life. I'll probably keep it around and read it again just for kicks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2000

    Brilliant advice about weddings

    The wedding advice alone is more than worth the price of this book. This book REALLY needs to be read by anyone planning a wedding, and by the way, this is not advice you'd expect to hear from someone in her position! She's a hot ticket.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2000

    A GREAT LITTLE BOOK OF INSIGHTS

    I liked this book very much. It was entertaining and inspiring. I found the chapter on 'Pinpointing your passion' to be great advice. I think the graduating class that Maria spoke at was very lucky to have had her. If you liked this book, I highly recommend a book called 'WORKING ON YOURSELF DOESN'T WORK' by Ariel and Shya Kane. This book is also very easy to read and full of great insights into having your life be as great as you dream it to be. For me the Kanes' book, audio tapes and their semiars are the tools to living in the moment, which has enabled me to gain a LASTING PASSION AND ENTHUSIASM FOR MY LIFE, including my work and relationships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2000

    Uncommonly good advice from a down to earth celebrity

    This book was full of helpful advice for any stage of life. As soon as I finished it, I gave it to my daughter to read (she will start her first 'real' job next week). It's refreshing to see that one can still go far while maintaining a good attitude and keeping ethics in tact. The little tidbits about Maria's marriage and family add flavor to this delightful read. I would highly recommend it, especially for a graduate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1