Customer Reviews for

Ten Things I Wish I'd Known Before I Went Out into the Real World

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2000

    Uplifting and full of hope

    I had just recently graduated form college when I received this book. It has given me a better outlook on life and the journey that lies before me. I recommend it to anyone who just graduated and unsure of their future. It's very uplifting. I feel like I know Maria personally now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2000

    Very Inspirational

    This book should be a required book to read in high schools at least.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2000

    Great Advice to use for a lifetime

    Maria Shriver shines with good advice and a no-nonsense approach. The book is a good one to keep around as it speaks on things that will occur and re-occur in your life. She shares her own experiences and talks openly about why she wished she knew these things. Everyone can relate to each one of the chapters/topics. It is a must-have for your collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2000

    Brilliant advice about weddings

    The wedding advice alone is more than worth the price of this book. This book REALLY needs to be read by anyone planning a wedding, and by the way, this is not advice you'd expect to hear from someone in her position! She's a hot ticket.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2000

    A GREAT LITTLE BOOK OF INSIGHTS

    I liked this book very much. It was entertaining and inspiring. I found the chapter on 'Pinpointing your passion' to be great advice. I think the graduating class that Maria spoke at was very lucky to have had her. If you liked this book, I highly recommend a book called 'WORKING ON YOURSELF DOESN'T WORK' by Ariel and Shya Kane. This book is also very easy to read and full of great insights into having your life be as great as you dream it to be. For me the Kanes' book, audio tapes and their semiars are the tools to living in the moment, which has enabled me to gain a LASTING PASSION AND ENTHUSIASM FOR MY LIFE, including my work and relationships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2000

    GO MARIA!!

    This book is an excellent example of hard work, success, and plain old common sense. I love this book! I'm going to use it as my personal map for life!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2000

    Excellent - Maria has not forgotten that she is a human being first

    Maria has done a wonderful job with this book. If she really is the person she portrays herself to be in this book - the message is clear. We are all human beings first and money hungary career ravens later and we always need to remember that. Even though she is married to a top Hollywood celebrity and was born with a silver spoon (studded with diamonds) in her mouth, she has gone through the ups and downs in her life and remains basically down to earth. Don't expect this book to change your life or anything overnight, but it may provide you with some additional firepower to handle the day to day rigors. The book is very easy to read and understand I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2000

    The Real World

    Yes, we need advice for the real world - but not from someone who doesn't live it. Kids make a big difference in our lives as individuals and add a big strain on our every day challenges because everything is now changed. For REAL TIPS to use in life with all who cross your path (not just kids): I'd like to recommend 'Mommy-CEO' and 'The Complete Single Mother' to the female readers as well as the male readers, grandparents and finally to Maria. 'Work hard and believe in your gut feelings' - my gut feelings say being on the top TV shows to have my endeavors advertised to increase sales and success - isn't exactly REAL. I'm sorry - but I can't think of another REAL person on my block who has rubbed elbows with Oprah Winfrey or Larry King. I do like Maria and she does have a few vauled messages - but also whines far too much for a respected person, wife and mother. Oh one of these days we the people on earth will stop buying into the media - until then - give me simple rules and humor to guide marriage, work and children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2000

    INSPIRING

    I felt that this book is very inspiring and enlightening. Even though Maria is from a famous family and married to a big celebrity she trys not to lose who she is. I felt that this book was up lifting and motivating. At one point in this book she states that we are responsible for our own happiness and not to rely on someone else to make this happen. I thought that was very inspirational coming from a person who seems to have it all but still has to work on their own emotional needs and self-esteem something that even money can not buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2000

    Better than I expected

    Saw Maria on TV Talk Show. She intrigued me so I bought the book. Book was much better than I expected. Of course much was common sense. But some great stories and illustrations. Practical and Funny and Inspiring. I liked it and found it refreshing. Really it is a book about becoming wiser and growing up. About regaining common sense and regaining a balanced perspective. It is about how to have Both Success AND Happiness. And that is the most important thing. To have both, not sacrifice or compromise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2000

    Uncommonly good advice from a down to earth celebrity

    This book was full of helpful advice for any stage of life. As soon as I finished it, I gave it to my daughter to read (she will start her first 'real' job next week). It's refreshing to see that one can still go far while maintaining a good attitude and keeping ethics in tact. The little tidbits about Maria's marriage and family add flavor to this delightful read. I would highly recommend it, especially for a graduate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2000

    Wonderful and Inspiring!

    I absolutely loved this book and recommend it to anyone looking for inspiring words of insight. A must and definitely not only for graduating college students! Everyone should read this book! Maria is clever, frank and very, very funny!! A wonderful read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2000

    On Top

    Maria does a fantastic job of just being herself in the book. She lets you see what is behind the makeup and the glamour and that she isnt really that different from you and me. I loved her section on marriage and family. It really hit home how so many of us think we are being good parents but the most important element is first being a good spouse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2000

    Excellent life 'guard'/guide!

    In this book, Arnold Schwarzenegger's precious wife puts things into focus. She's blunt and direct, explaining that success is not that easy to come by and success is never a freebee. The book contains lots of valuable lessons on key life issues, and it's a life guide and to many perhaps even a life 'guard' so to speak. Mrs. Shriver is honest about her own challenges to live up to the expectations of her parents and now being a parent herself, and so forth. In short: it's an excellent book. Another book that I highly recommend as it deals bluntly with the key issues in life and is extremely helpful, is Dietmar Scherf's 'Depression: Avoiding and Overcoming: I Love Me.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2000

    Real World!!!

    What on earth would a Kennedy know about a real world. She has never been without, or need or wants...I find this book ludacrist..or how ever you spell that in the real world

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2000

    A fantastic book from a great teacher!

    If you are open to it, there are so many lessons one can learn from this author. If need be, forget her name and listen to how she identifies, frames and puts into a manageable context those challenges that we all face at one time or another. She is a talented writer and storyteller. Funny. Insightful. This book is a great read and a great gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2000

    Ten Things I Wish I'd Known before I Went Out into the Real World

    I read this book on Metro North and I found it to be a very inspirational book by Ms. Shriver. She was so down to earth. I went to college late and worked full-time, and at 32, I'm getting more ambitious. The book made me feel that I wasn't too late to bloom. I've been feeling lately that I'm over the hill in the business world and I haven't succeeded. She showed that she had hard times and when you fail, you learn, it makes you humble and a stronger person. I hope she comes out with another book about family and raising children. To me, she is very much the IDEAL mother like my mother, always there for her kids. In my mother's time, a career was unheard of from the world she came from, but Ms. Shriver could have easily kept her career, but she didn't; her kids come first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2000

    Holy Cross Shines on Shriver

    I heard Maria Shriver give the Holy Cross commencement speech 1998. This was the best commencement speech I heard on C-SPAN during its commencement speech marathon. She was honest, passionate, and practical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2