Customer Reviews for

Ten Thousand Charms

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Overall, a good book

    Overall, this was a great book, but it is similar to lots of historical Christian fiction, so if you're looking for something really different from your typical Hosea/Woman at the well retelling, this book isn't it. Having said that, I personally can get past the fact that there are many books with this theme, and I really enjoyed it. I read the whole thing in two evenings, and really loved and I am now passing it around my circle of book-reading friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved, loved, loved this story!

    Ten Thousands Charms was such an emotionally gripping story that I had trouble putting it down. But even when I had to work and do other things, I was still thinking about the story. I know so many women like Gloria who have been so hurt that they are emotionally dead inside and when someone offers them hope, they are terrified. I could totally see that struggle in Gloria and it was a beautiful thing to watch how God slowly wooed her to Himself through the love of believers. And while no one in this story was even close to perfect, they were totally believeable and likeable characters. John William was heroic in so many ways even with the flaws he carried with him. And Gloria was such a good mother to the babies. It was impossible not to grow to love her as she cared for the children and learned how to take care of herself and her 'family,' which was the one thing she never believed she would experience in her lifetime. My eyes filled with tears every time Gloria took a tiny step in faith. There were so many things she learned, and the reader learns along with her as she learns to trust. The author also does a fantastic job writing the male point of view and the intense emotions John and Gloria both felt, both positive and negative. I highly recommend this story because it nurtures both the heart and the spirit, and because I loved, loved, loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Wonderful read!

    I flew through this book-- such a fun read. My one grievance is that the end of the book felt more like the end of a chapter. I was still asking *avert your eyes if you haven't read it yet!!!* what about the money in the curtains? Is Jewell going to find her and get what was "owed"? Are Maureen and the pastor getting together? What happens now with John William and Gloria?!?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Outstanding

    AWESOME book, well written, made me cry and reach out for my Lord over and over again, Highly Reccomended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2008

    a terrific book!!

    I thought this book was great! Once I started reading it it was hard to put down and I hated to see the book end. The story between Gloria and John was wonderful and as soon as I finished this book I went out and got her second book 'Speak through the Wind.' This is a very good author and I hope she keeps on writing cause I'll keep reading her books. Please read this book, you will love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2008

    Don't tell anybody I recommeded this book, OK?

    Ok I don't usually read mushy stuff, and there is that in Ten Thousands Charms. But it's like this, I met the author, Allison K. Pittman, at the Glorietta Writer's conference and she critiqued a chapter of my next book, Bozra, the Unprepared Shepherd. I really liked her suggestions, so it seemed like a really good idea to check out her writing, for educational purposes that is. I did get bogged down in the romance parts and looked over my shoulder more than once to see if anyone was looking at what I was reading. Why? - because in case it is not obvious I am a guy - with a black belt and all - and a bit of a caveman mentality when it comes to my public romantic image. Not that I'm not sensitive, but even my wife of 38 years will tell you, she married a man and the sensitivity needs are rare - get over it - move on already. No, she is all lady. A career lady, and definitely not the feminista type. She appreciates me opening the door and picking up the check, but also ready to stand up for her and fix things when they're broke. She expects my shoulders to be broad yet soft. Actually it gets a little complicated, so back to the book. It is compelling. Rough in all the right places and a little sexy too. The twist and turns on the frontier are totally believable from a man's perspective. The ending is - well you better just find out for yourself - so get yourself a copy and get back to me, and if you're a guy, it'll be just between you and me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2006

    Wonderful Summer Read

    Although compared to Francine Rivers' Redeeming Love, Allison Pittman's Ten Thousand Charms stands on its own merit. It is a different story. Instead of Hosea and Gomer, it's loosely the story of David and Bathsheba. Pittman's characters are well written and multi-faceted. While I felt one of the conflicts introduced wasn't fully developed, there was enough thrown at Gloria to make the read satisfying. I liked the way Pittman ended the book, leaving the reader to imagine the rest. Pittman has delivered a beautiful picture of how God takes the worst of humanity and washes us clean. A murderer and a prostitute¿neither one able to outrun God's amazing grace and love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2006

    Allured by Ten Thousand Charms

    Ten Thousand Charms opens with an unlikely character for a Christian novel. Gloria is a pregnant prostitute hoping to find assistance from her former Madam, Jewell, to abort her child. Jewell, instead, offers Gloria cleaning duties and a one-room shanty behind her brothel until the baby arrives. Up the road from Jewell¿s red roofed cathouse live John William MacGregan and his pregnant wife, Katherine. Their two very different worlds collide when Katherine dies giving birth to a daughter. Out of necessity, John William and Gloria strike a deal. She¿ll nurse his child and he¿ll raise her son. As John William and Gloria journey from Silver Peak¿s mining community to farmland in Oregon, the reader becomes entangled in their imperfect lives, truly caring what becomes of them. In Oregon, Maureen Brewster, a recently widowed farm owner, becomes a friend, mentor and mother to Gloria. Her tender influence adds another finely tuned thread to God¿s tapestry of redemption. Allison Pittman¿s debut novel certainly hooked me with her honest voice, quick wit and engaging dialogue. Mix her superb writing with Ten Thousand Charms¿ unusual host of characters and a plot that crosses traditional boundaries, and you¿ve got a novel readers can¿t put down. Pittman¿s poignant tale captures the essence of God¿s love and the depths He undertakes to give grace, even to ¿the least¿ of us. Ten Thousand Charms grabbed my heart from the first page and kept me under its allure to the very last word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    An interesting Americana romantic character study

    Pregnant Gloria returns to the nearest thing she can call home, Jewel Gunn¿s fancy brothel in Silver Peak, Wyoming Territory where she expects her former mentor to perform an abortion for her. However, Gloria changes her mind, but plans to abandon the baby at the brothel so she can reclaim her freedom. Also pregnant is haughty Katherine, wife of miner John William MacGregan. The two women give birth with Gloria surviving quite nicely after her daughter is born while Katherine dies after her son is born.--------------- John pays Gloria to be his son¿s ¿milk cow¿. However, when he concludes that the mine will close soon, he persuades Gloria to take her child and come with him and his son to start over in Oregon. She agrees to remain the cow if he raises her daughter as is her plan being to leave them once the infants no longer depend on her milk. As she meets the kind Maureen Brewster who encourages her to believe that even a whore has room in the Lord¿s tent, tragedy strikes the unorthodox family, which in the past would have driven Gloria away, but this time she has a chance for a better life if she accepts God¿s grace.-------------- This is an interesting Americana romantic character study that looks deep into the mindset of a prostitute who sees a bleak future for herself. The cozy story line allows the reader to understand Gloria and why she feels the Lord would never accept someone like her. John and Maureen add friendship, love, and belief to the fine mid nineteenth century tale, but this is Gloria¿s story.------------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1