Customer Reviews for

Ten Thousand Saints

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Something Different

When I first started reading this book, I didn't think I would get through it because I didn't relate to the types of kids the story focussed on. I was never into weed. Had never heard of Straightedge. The whole lifestyle was foreign to me. That said--if you are someone...
When I first started reading this book, I didn't think I would get through it because I didn't relate to the types of kids the story focussed on. I was never into weed. Had never heard of Straightedge. The whole lifestyle was foreign to me. That said--if you are someone like me, I highly suggest you persist with the story. I was amazed how I came to relate to so many of the characters, actually care about them. This was a well written story and so far from the "same old thing." I will look for more from this writer.

posted by JustMyTwoCents on September 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

very slow...

The first 100 pages were just a little too bland for me to get into. I usually stop reading a book, by page 75, if it can't catch my attention. I don't know if this is because I came out of the punk scene and had experiences that I could compare this book to. My husband...
The first 100 pages were just a little too bland for me to get into. I usually stop reading a book, by page 75, if it can't catch my attention. I don't know if this is because I came out of the punk scene and had experiences that I could compare this book to. My husband was one of the people in the acknowledgement section, so he really wanted me to see what I thought of this (I also read about a book a day, so it made sense.) I just had a real heard time trying to relate to the characters or to even understand where the story line was going. The book eventually picks up, but I felt like I was just trying to get through it, since I had time already invested into it. I wish the author much luck with future projects! And I do mean it, it is not sarcastic in any way...

posted by shivapastures on June 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    very slow...

    The first 100 pages were just a little too bland for me to get into. I usually stop reading a book, by page 75, if it can't catch my attention. I don't know if this is because I came out of the punk scene and had experiences that I could compare this book to. My husband was one of the people in the acknowledgement section, so he really wanted me to see what I thought of this (I also read about a book a day, so it made sense.) I just had a real heard time trying to relate to the characters or to even understand where the story line was going. The book eventually picks up, but I felt like I was just trying to get through it, since I had time already invested into it. I wish the author much luck with future projects! And I do mean it, it is not sarcastic in any way...

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    Something Different

    When I first started reading this book, I didn't think I would get through it because I didn't relate to the types of kids the story focussed on. I was never into weed. Had never heard of Straightedge. The whole lifestyle was foreign to me. That said--if you are someone like me, I highly suggest you persist with the story. I was amazed how I came to relate to so many of the characters, actually care about them. This was a well written story and so far from the "same old thing." I will look for more from this writer.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    I stayed up all night reading this novel. Wonderful attention to detail

    This author is highly talented. It is wonderful to read a book you don't want to put down.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    You Can't Tell A Book..

    You can not tell a book by its cover is so true here. The cover is so much more interesting than this book and does not reflect the story or characters at all. I had high hopes for this one, but found the plot, characters and setting to be dismall and gloomy.
    Save your money.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Not Too Bad

    I really liked this book; however character building gets a little old. Could have been a little shorter. Not too sure about the ending.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    B-O-R-I-N-G...slow up to page 81, when I stopped reading it

    Watching pebbles drop in a pond is more exciting than this book! Save your money and look for something else.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Fabulous!

    This book is eloquently written about loss and redemption in the lives of misfit, young adults who desperately want to find their place in society. The author hits on several issues- drug abuse, teen pregnancy, AIDS, and homosexuality.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Read the sample

    I have only read the sample. i am 55 and can very much relate to the times. i am looking forward to a new experience.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    Great straight edge coming of age story,

    Great book, i was a little miffed at the ending otherwise it would have received five stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    A lot of people come of age in this novel, not just the teenager

    A lot of people come of age in this novel, not just the teenagers at the center of the story. I enjoyed reading about worlds I did not know-- I don't even know if the names of these hard edge music groups were real-- but I felt as though I could smell and hear the environments. The characters were fully drawn and sympathetic, even when they were irritating (like your own teenagers). I love these NookBook Daily Finds and Free Fridays-- I end up reading a lot of books I would not have otherwise discovered.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    A pretty good read.

    You really feel for each character in this book. <3

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2014

    One saint would have been sufficient

    In this mish mosh trouble with n y is no alleys so all the garbage is out front recycle

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Omg

    I can't wait for the movie to come out next year with Asa Butterfield!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Exceptional: a literary novel that doesn't try to reinvent the g

    Exceptional: a literary novel that doesn't try to reinvent the genre, just tells, in a beautiful narrative, a story from start to finish. And what an amazing, unexpected, surprising story, infused with details about a scene I've never understood and set, in part, against a New York City I've never seen. Brilliant, I loved it, I want more. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Engaging characters

    I agree with others that this book had a slow start, but it does pick up and the characters become very engaging. Growing up in Burlington, VT, it was fun to read about the area. I reccomend this book. It is very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    I just couldn't continue.

    I was really excited to read this book after reading the description in the nook store. However, I was extremely disgusted by the amount of drug use and after the first chapter I lost the desire to continue.

    I do see that it has the makings of a good story, but it was not at all working for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Ten thousand saints

    Very well written,lots of drama

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Okay book

    Easy reader but slow at some points

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Not sure

    Bit of a spoiler --
    I'm glad that this book did have a happy ending because it was a bit of work to get through. I finished it, so that says something. Like some of the other reviewers, I think my problem was that I just couldn't relate to the teens in the book. And they immediately killed my favorite character. I would rather give this book a 3 out of 6, but will err in it's favor and give it a 3. I'm not sure I would recommend it to any of my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3