Customer Reviews for

Ten Times Guilty

Average Rating 4
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    He waited in the stand of poplars┬┐

    “He waited in the stand of poplars behind the bus shelter, his black sweats fading into shadows cast by the midnight moon. A ski mask covered his face. At twelve-seventeen, a Denver city bus approached the residential shelter. Air brakes hissing, it rolled to a stop and Cindy Harris, a sweater draped over her blue scrubs, stepped to the pavement. Glass shards from the streetlight crunched under her feet.” The above excerpt was my introduction to Brenda Hill. Those few words hooked me and the rest of the story didn’t disappoint. Though it starts a little slower than I might’ve expected, suspense and pace soon build. In hindsight, I think what I perceived as slowness was simply setting the scene and very necessary. As the story unfolded, I often found myself holding my breath and turning pages as fast I could read them. Rape is not an easy subject to write about, but Hill handles it with both strength and sensitivity. Tracy, the rape victim – and I hesitate to use the word victim here – is vulnerable yet possesses a strength she doesn’t know she has. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2006

    Loved This Book!

    It gave me the creeps, but I had to find out what happened. The ending was great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2006

    An Excellent Message about Life After Tragedy

    I had seen the mixed reviews about this book, but a friend highly recommended it so I bought it. I thought I¿d spend a few days skimming through yet another attempt by a newcomer, but to my astonishment, I found I couldn¿t put it down. The author¿s skill at keeping my interest was as good as any seasoned writer I¿ve read and I was totally involved in Tracy¿s story. Perhaps many of today¿s enlightened women wouldn¿t understand why it took Tracy so long to find her voice, but as one who suffered through an emotionally abusive childhood, I definitely could relate. When Tracy again met her attacker, I couldn¿t wait to see if she folded. I¿d recommend this book, especially for someone trying to overcome childhood adversities. As this book demonstrates, yes, there is life after tragedy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2006

    A Winner!

    This novel grabbed me from the start, not letting go until its breathless conclusion. It was a beautifully written story of a young woman's journey through the hell of sexual assault, and her triumphant emergence on the other side. Ten Times Guilty is a winner!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2006

    Very Poor

    As a reader of suspense, I bought this book because of favorable reviews. I was very disappointed. Ten Times Guilty is a very simple, almost child-like attempt at the suspense genre. The characters are very predictable and the plot has been used and reused over and over in time. The book offers nothing new or fresh.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2005

    Try Something Different

    I was very disappointed with this book. When I buy a thriller I like a long, well crafted story with lots of twists and surprises. Sadly, this book is very predictable with unrealistic, unlikable characters (even the good ones!) It's also very silly, but not in a funny way. The women are whiney and needy and their fates are pretty much easy to guess early one as well as the baddies. My advice is to try another book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2005

    My best book list

    Review of 'Ten Times Guilty.' by Brenda Hill I now have to add this title to my list of the best books I have read recently. I am sure that most reviewers are tempted to call this a thrilling and suspenseful novel. Frankly that is not enough to describe this well written novel as it is and offers so much more to it's credit. Brenda Hill has succeeded in grabbing your interest from the opening page and holding you in suspense to the end. However, she also webs a thoughtful and fascinating story with depth of character and successfully allows you to get into the mind of the criminal as well as his victims. The main theme is rape, and how the victims cope with the horrific feelings and fears in it's aftermath. Tracy has been raped and brutalized and above all threatened. Her son will die if she tells. How she copes and comes to realize what she must do to confront these threats, and go on with her life is a tribute to the writing skills and power this writer Brenda Hill has over you, her reader. Forget what you think is your favorite genre to read! Regardless, you must include this book as a must to read. A definite 5 star. It surprises me that this is not yet on the New York Times Best sellers list. I will quickly search to find more books from this author. Anne Lebrecht.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2005

    Ten Times Guilty

    You will not walk home alone for a very long time after reading Brenda Hill's book, Ten Times Guilty. You will get inside the mind of serial killer and rapist, Karlton Wolfe, and there you will see pure evil. Not since Truman Capote's, In Cold Blood, has the mind of a maniac been more laid bare. You will go through the trauma of rape and fear of the victims. Ms. Hill has written this story with the flair of a seasoned writer, and leaves nothing out. I found myself thinking about Ten Times Guilty during the day while at work, and once I turned off the light at night, I was still going over it in my mind. Ten Time Guilty is a powerful experience, one not easily forgotten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2005

    Disappointing!

    I'm a huge fan of women's fiction, but was disappointed with this book. It had a very 1970's feel to it even though it is set in present day. To me, the plot seemed to be one that's been well used over time and the characters were ordinary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2005

    A Chilling Thriller

    In Ten Times Guilty, Brenda Hill has put together a story that has it all, use of strong characterization interwoven with well-built plotting and suspense. Brenda cleverly allows the reader into minds of her characters, deftly outlining the strengths and weakness of human nature to include for some, panic and terror, for others, grief and loss and in the end the desire for retribution and revenge. Once you get involved with the book¿s characters, you won¿t be able to put it down. A young woman suffers the ultimate victimization. After being brutally attacked by a serial rapist, she is now being stalked by her attacker. The reader is quickly and cleverly led into her world. Time after time she almost reaches the point of giving up. Only one thing keeps her going, the love of her infant son. A tired police detective, with his own crosses to bare, attempts to help her and in doing so help himself. The young woman is too terrified to accept his help, but ultimately finds the inner strength and conviction to do what is necessary. I can honestly say that this book taught me a lot and provided me the insight as to how a victim must really feel. Once caught up in the story¿s plot, I couldn¿t stop until I had reached the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2005

    Insight to Madness

    Brenda Hill's Ten Times Guilty is a suspense that takes you on a fast-paced journey through characters trapped in the web of evil spun by psychotic rapist, Karlton Wolfe. Set in beautiful Denver, Colorado, the reader finds Tracy Michaels, victim of a brutal attack, forced by threats into a halfway house for battered women--where through Suzy's gentle and loving counsel she is guided through the ordeal of healing and discovering the real Tracy who was lost as a child trapped in a dysfunctional home. Ms. Hill's creative narrative and research takes the reader into the heart and soul of rape victims and examines the distorted and crazed minds of serial rapists. Ten Times Guilty is a page-turner that the reader will find difficult to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1