Customer Reviews for

Ten Tiny Breaths (Ten Tiny Breaths Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 158 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(121)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

LOVED this book! ONE OF MY ALL TIME FAVS!

I rambled a bit when writing this one...

When I say whoa! I mean whoa! Heaven help me this book had me all kinds of crazy by the time I got to the 'shattering' moment towards the end of the book. And by then do you know what happened? Hubs rolls over in bed and tells...
I rambled a bit when writing this one...

When I say whoa! I mean whoa! Heaven help me this book had me all kinds of crazy by the time I got to the 'shattering' moment towards the end of the book. And by then do you know what happened? Hubs rolls over in bed and tells me to turn off my nook and go to bed. Yeah, yeah I understand it was 2am. But sheesh! Someone's life was hanging in the balance here. Doesn't he realize that fictional characters are people, too?

So we have Kacey...poor messed-up-in-the-head-beyond-any-kind-of-help Kacey. I don't even know where to start with her. Girl has so much baggage a pack mule looked at her and said no. But gosh, I hurt for that girl something fierce. Yeah she had a crazy, broken life…but she had a younger sister to look after so she stepped up and became the person her sister needed her to be. Social life be damned. And her witty outbursts are like music to my ears. Girl has a sarcastic tongue and isn’t afraid to use it. The things she calls people is hilarious and I couldn’t get enough of her character.

Then we have Trent. Oh lordy, the angels had to be singing the day he was made, cause dude is hot. Shhh, do you hear that? Oh that was just the sound of Kacey’s heart beating; her returning from the dead so to speak. Trent makes her feel things she hasn’t felt since the death of her parents. But Trent’s baggage is just as heavy. And the moment his past and hers collide…lives go beyond shattered.

You know what I loved a lot about this book? The secondary characters are just as great as Trent and Kacey. They all play a pivotal role in the story and Tucker did an awesome job with them. I actually cared quite about the secondary characters, more so than I usually do with other books. Livie, Storm, Mia and even Dan and Tanner are no back seat passengers. Their characters stand out so much in this book.

The last part of the book with Dr. Stayner I think was some of my favorite Kacey moments. Both her and the Dr were hilarious together. But during this time I was also a blubbering mess. Too. Much. Emotion. Like I said before…this book had me all kinds of crazy and I absolutely wouldn’t have it any other way.

To say I was floored with this book is a huge understatement. I was utterly in love with it. And I will let you in on a little secret…I think I am more in love with Tucker as an author writing this than I was with her Casual Enchantment series. That is definitely saying something for this book…because I adore that series. I also did a lot of bookmarking. Too many sentences caught my eye; too many quotes I didn’t want to forget.

Tucker did a phenomenal job with this book. I can’t say that enough. This whole book…from the beginning, to the middle, up until that ending…was done to complete perfection. Do I recommend this book? Abso-freakin-lutely! Ten Tiny Breaths is most definitely one of my favorites this year and will be at the top of my must reread list. You must read it and then I dare you not to gush about it.


These are just a few quotes I loved from the story...too many others to share.
*******
To say that she's fanatical would be an understatement. She won't come to Miami unless Jesus himself is holding a convention.
*******
"It's okay. I figured it was all a bit too much, too fast." One finger hooks into mine, buckling my knees with waves of excitement.
I think I am going to fall in love with this man.
*******
"I'll make you whole again, Kacey.

posted by twimom101 on January 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good, but too cookie-cutter for me. This was a good book and a

Good, but too cookie-cutter for me.

This was a good book and a good start to a new series. I don't normally read series until they're complete, but I loved this cover and the description, so I plunged in. And I liked it. Unfortunately, I don't like it enough to cont...
Good, but too cookie-cutter for me.

This was a good book and a good start to a new series. I don't normally read series until they're complete, but I loved this cover and the description, so I plunged in. And I liked it. Unfortunately, I don't like it enough to continue with the next book.

There isn't a whole lot to distinguish Ten Tiny Breaths from other New Adult books: stereotypical characters; tragic pasts; and insta-love.

The writing is good and it's a quick read, but it's very cookie-cutter.

I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.

posted by TeenAtHeart on August 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 158 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED this book! ONE OF MY ALL TIME FAVS!

    I rambled a bit when writing this one...

    When I say whoa! I mean whoa! Heaven help me this book had me all kinds of crazy by the time I got to the 'shattering' moment towards the end of the book. And by then do you know what happened? Hubs rolls over in bed and tells me to turn off my nook and go to bed. Yeah, yeah I understand it was 2am. But sheesh! Someone's life was hanging in the balance here. Doesn't he realize that fictional characters are people, too?

    So we have Kacey...poor messed-up-in-the-head-beyond-any-kind-of-help Kacey. I don't even know where to start with her. Girl has so much baggage a pack mule looked at her and said no. But gosh, I hurt for that girl something fierce. Yeah she had a crazy, broken life…but she had a younger sister to look after so she stepped up and became the person her sister needed her to be. Social life be damned. And her witty outbursts are like music to my ears. Girl has a sarcastic tongue and isn’t afraid to use it. The things she calls people is hilarious and I couldn’t get enough of her character.

    Then we have Trent. Oh lordy, the angels had to be singing the day he was made, cause dude is hot. Shhh, do you hear that? Oh that was just the sound of Kacey’s heart beating; her returning from the dead so to speak. Trent makes her feel things she hasn’t felt since the death of her parents. But Trent’s baggage is just as heavy. And the moment his past and hers collide…lives go beyond shattered.

    You know what I loved a lot about this book? The secondary characters are just as great as Trent and Kacey. They all play a pivotal role in the story and Tucker did an awesome job with them. I actually cared quite about the secondary characters, more so than I usually do with other books. Livie, Storm, Mia and even Dan and Tanner are no back seat passengers. Their characters stand out so much in this book.

    The last part of the book with Dr. Stayner I think was some of my favorite Kacey moments. Both her and the Dr were hilarious together. But during this time I was also a blubbering mess. Too. Much. Emotion. Like I said before…this book had me all kinds of crazy and I absolutely wouldn’t have it any other way.

    To say I was floored with this book is a huge understatement. I was utterly in love with it. And I will let you in on a little secret…I think I am more in love with Tucker as an author writing this than I was with her Casual Enchantment series. That is definitely saying something for this book…because I adore that series. I also did a lot of bookmarking. Too many sentences caught my eye; too many quotes I didn’t want to forget.

    Tucker did a phenomenal job with this book. I can’t say that enough. This whole book…from the beginning, to the middle, up until that ending…was done to complete perfection. Do I recommend this book? Abso-freakin-lutely! Ten Tiny Breaths is most definitely one of my favorites this year and will be at the top of my must reread list. You must read it and then I dare you not to gush about it.


    These are just a few quotes I loved from the story...too many others to share.
    *******
    To say that she's fanatical would be an understatement. She won't come to Miami unless Jesus himself is holding a convention.
    *******
    "It's okay. I figured it was all a bit too much, too fast." One finger hooks into mine, buckling my knees with waves of excitement.
    I think I am going to fall in love with this man.
    *******
    "I'll make you whole again, Kacey.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am so glad that this came out on audiobook because I had been

    I am so glad that this came out on audiobook because I had been meaning to get to this for a while and just didn't have time to read it. Luckily audiobook are easy to fit in and this one was great! This was an emotional story and I loved taking the journey along with Kacey and all the other characters involved. I felt like I was making friends right along with them and I really, really wanted to help Kacey. Luckily, so did everyone else. I also really loved how this was separated into the stages of grief. That was a nice touch!

    Kacey is rough around the edges. She went through a tragic situation and she has basically let it rule her life. She is suffering from PTSD even though she doesn't realize it, or more importantly, doesn't want to admit it. To her, it's easier to just put up her walls, and deal with it in her own ways. It had been drugs, alcohol, and random sex, but for her sister Livie, she stopped all of that. She begins to let people in, but it's a very slow process and it seems like she takes one step forward, then about five back. She is an incredibly strong, but stubborn, and broken person. I loved watching her finally start to heal and be the person that she has hid away for too long.

    Now Trent. He was fantastic, but I didn't know what to think of him for a while. He almost seemed too nice and perhaps stalkerish. I admit that I fell for him right along with Kacey. He was really great for Kacey, though he was a bit pushy at times trying to get her to talk to someone or seek help. I knew he was doing it for her, but I think he went about it all wrong. And OMG when we find out what his secret is, I was a freaking mess!! I didn't figure it out much before it was revealed, though I did suspect for a while I guess. I can see why he kept the secret, even if it doesn't make it right.

    Now onto the other characters. I don't always mention them, but I think that they are a huge part of this story. Storm and her daughter Mia were awesome and really became important and like family to Kacey. Nate and Ben who she worked with were also really awesome. And Livie, her sister of course. She was Kacey's rock. Basically the only thing keeping her from falling completely apart. Though she is her younger sister, she really was more the one taking care of them. I loved that Livie would do what she had to for Kacey, even if she knew it would make her mad. She always did what was best for them!

    I listened to the audio of this and I think the narrator was awesome. You could easily tell one character from another. And also she did great with the males. A lot of the time female narrators make males sound too husky or not masculine enough, but Elizabeth Louise did them great! She was also very good at making sure the emotion was in there too. She wasn't just someone narrating a book, she made the characters and the story come to life.

    This was such a great story about love, loss, and healing. I thought the characters were developed really well, the story flowed perfectly, and the emotion aspect was spot on. I was a sobbing mess listening to parts of this. My heart hurt with theirs. I wanted to jump into the book and hug them. This was the first book I have read from this author and I will definitely be reading more.

    *A copy of this was provided by the publisher for an honest review. I did not receive any compensation.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    i cant not say enough good things about this book. there were t

    i cant not say enough good things about this book. there were times i cant to scream and then times i wanted to cry. kacey is a fighter she has been through so much in her short lifetime. i love the other charcters in this book. this is a must read!!!! be prepared for a shock!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Good, but too cookie-cutter for me. This was a good book and a

    Good, but too cookie-cutter for me.

    This was a good book and a good start to a new series. I don't normally read series until they're complete, but I loved this cover and the description, so I plunged in. And I liked it. Unfortunately, I don't like it enough to continue with the next book.

    There isn't a whole lot to distinguish Ten Tiny Breaths from other New Adult books: stereotypical characters; tragic pasts; and insta-love.

    The writing is good and it's a quick read, but it's very cookie-cutter.

    I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    I wasn't sure what to think when I started reading this book. I

    I wasn't sure what to think when I started reading this book. I did not read any of the reviews but wow!!! I wish I had read this book a long time ago. The story is very refreshing and different from what is currently out there. This book touches on drunk driving and the reprecussions on both sides. I would def recommend this book and now I see that there is a second book comming out...cant wait!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Missing info

    The 2nd page of chapter 14 is whited out. Is it like that with anyone elses copy? I am addicted to this book, i cant put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Must read

    I really enjoyed this emotional read! This book is so much better than I thought it would be. There is language & sexual situations but also a great learning lesson. Don't pass this up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Okay I Expected Great

    This book was okay, I expected it to be great based on the reviews. I loved both Kacey & Trent they were cool but I didn't get the chemistry. She meets him twice & let's him touch her face when she won't even let anyone touch her hands. I didn't get it they were obsessed & dependent on each other, it was weired because they knew nothing about each other only that the other was hot. Kacey was kinda annoying & selfish I felt sorry for Livie for being stuck with her. Livie was so strong & mature Kacey acted liked she was the only one who lost her parents. Acting out, drinking, drugging & the random sex but what made it worst for me was the fact that her sister who is 5 yrs younger knew all about it. What kinda example are you setting that this girl who was 12 at the time. I figured Trent out at chapter 7 exactly. I kept reading because I wanted to see what he was trying to accomplish & his reasoning behind it. Let me just say its pretty sick & twisted. I won't go into details because I don't wasn't to spoil it. It was an okay read I've read all of K.A. Tucker books & this one is the only one I wouldn't recommend to people. The main characters were really self destructive & should not have been together even after they finished their treatment they should've moved on with their lives if you ask me. There's a sequel coming out but about Livie called One Little Lie I might check it out because I really loved Livie in this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Great book!

    I read a lot of books and I must say this one will stick with me. Great characters and a heart breaking story. Mix in some awesome humor and you have a gem. I felt the pain and heartache as well as the joy of rebuilding a life in ruins. Great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Read it in one day!!

    I could not put this book down...good thing I had the day to relax and read. Towards the middle I figured out Trent...and what was going on with him so the ending wasn't really a surprise...but I liked the book regardless.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Just WOW :/

    Very good!!!"""!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    another great book from the author!

    gah, i loved this book! it's added on to my favorite books! kacey's life has changed ever since a drunk driving accident. she closes herself off to people and doesn't want to get close to them. also all that is left is her and her sister livie. they booked it very quickly to florida because of their creepy uncle. she meets her hot neighbor trent there. as much as she fought to stay away, that didn't really happen. well of course something happens. i won't go into it.
    i loved this story not because it was awesome, but it has meaning to it. it could be based on a real life situation.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    A MUST read!!!!  Very well written!! Absolutely loved it!! 

    A MUST read!!!!  Very well written!! Absolutely loved it!! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    Very good book. It's a bit heavy but very well written. This i

    Very good book. It's a bit heavy but very well written. This is the first I've read this author and I really really liked it. I think i'll read it again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2014

    Ten Tiny Breaths is an all-around feel good book. Kacey and Tren

    Ten Tiny Breaths is an all-around feel good book. Kacey and Trent have an incredible and unique story that I quickly found myself completely caught up in. There are plenty of interesting and relateable characters in this book and I found myself wanting to know the story behind each and every one of them. Kacey has been shattered by a tragedy that still haunts her every moment. Despite everything she has been through, K.A. has crafted Kacey to be a survivor, a fighter, a rock. Kacey is stubborn, strong, hard working and she never asks anyone for anything. She has a good heart and when she loves, she loves deeply. It was easy to connect with her and grow to care about her because she was so real and raw and unexpected. 




    This storyline is one I think everyone can relate to. Kacey is learning to heal and K.A. makes sure the reader is there every step of the way. Her path to happiness is genuine through and through. She has to learn how to trust, how to let people in, how to believe in herself and how to live again. These things aren’t easy and you’re there with Kacey every time she stumbles, backtracks and breaks down. I loved the surprise twists and turns this story took. When I thought I had this story figured out, K.A. turned it upside down and made me re-think everything. Ten Tiny Breaths is poignant and uplifting. K.A. Tucker is an incredible writer and she created a story that had me completely invested from the beginning. Caring about these characters came easily and I enjoyed every awkward, tear-filled, hilarious and completely devastating moment this book had to offer. I can’t wait to dive in to the rest of the series and unravel some of the other characters. If you’re looking for a sweet, emotional read then Ten Tiny Breaths is one you can’t miss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    Captivating Read

    Wasn't sure what to expect but wanted to give it a try. I am glad I did. Great storyline and characters you want to love and care for. I would not classify this as a romance, more of journey of healing that leads to love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Unexpected twist!

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Omg

    I cried and laughed and cried again. I am so happy that I read this book and 4/ sure will be reading all in series. Awesome story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Highly recommended....I loved it!

    I read this book while on vacation....stayed up way too late reading; I couldn't put it down. I really enjoyed this book. I read for enjoyment and entertainment; not for analyzing. I was very satisfied with my choice!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    Okay

    Found myself losing interest at times throughout the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 158 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8