Customer Reviews for

Ten Truths about Leadership: It's Not Just about Winning

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Lillian Ocean girl

    Te girl swam faster than anything and better to but wasnt and ocean animal she was raised by them though. She pracgiced controling water.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    Easy to live leadership principles

    This is an easy read and well worth it! I enjoyed the book so much that I passed it on to several colleagues. The response from all of them was very positive. It is amazing how many times I hear people refer to the 10 Truths while discussing work matters. The book really does provide simple principles that support a well balanced leader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    Develop Leadership Skills and Improve Relationships

    This book is a pragmatic view of how our professional and personal lives are perpetually entwined. Pete Luongo's concepts are uncomplicated and simple to grasp as he presents us with a guide for their implementation. His passion for life, and his belief to maximize the quality of the relationships we develop during our existence, is contagious. Additionally, the format of the book allows it to be easily read AND used later for quick reference, if necessary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2008

    So Good I Read It Twice

    I read this book twice the first day I owned it.....so much passion and wisdom. I only wish I had this book earlier in my career.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2008

    Common Sense

    The book is an easy read, and what quickly comes to mind is - Pete has captured the essence of what we intuitively know, but never capture in specific thoughts or words - just good old common sense. The book has broad application - for life, not just the work world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2008

    Leadership is about people

    10 Truths about Leadership underlines the importance on concentrating on the people you work with and who work for you as the focus of success. Peter shares not only his successes but also the times when things didn't go so well which helps to give a sense of hope to the reader. The book is not about technique it's about commitment to people and their success.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2008

    A formula for leadership success

    This book is informative, inspiring and entertaining. Pete Luongo has led a large, successful company. In this book, he shares a management philosophy that was developed over years of experience. At its heart it comes down to caring about your people. But caring does not mean you don't hold them accountable. This book shows how you can do both, how you can set the standard of excellence and inspire others to achieve their personal best. I have heard Pete speak and I have read his book. I recommend both very highly. Now, as I lead others, I hear Pete's words ringing through my head. Hearing his message and reading this book have made me a better leader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2008

    'A Must Read for Business and for Life'

    If you want a square look at what you can learn in this life and some straight talk on what you have to offer this world, get ready for an inspiring read. 'Ten Truths About Leadership' works . . . from the board room to the kitchen table.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    An easy read with practical advice on Leadership

    Peter portrays the challenges of leadership in an easy to read format that take us on the journey of his career at L.M. Berry company. He focuses on ethics and integrity and the importance of both in being a good leader. The fundamental element of caring about your people is brought out in a number of examples. His description of what makes a winner will hit home with you and makes it easy to remeber for all those that wish to attain success in whatever their career. Keep your highlighter handy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2008

    Leadership at its Best

    I have had the pleasure to work directly with Pete when he was CEO of the Berry Company, one of our more successful corporate citizens. The principles of his leadership that I experienced firsthand are well documented in this book. It is a must have on the office bookshelf if you desire intuitive, objective and practical leadership advice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2008

    Common sense approach to leadership

    A must read for all levels of management. Written in such a way that people can relate to it and understand the real life message. George G. Malacos Chairman of the Board Miami Industrial Trucks, Inc. Dayton, Ohio I'm a life long learner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2008

    Leadership Rules to Live By..

    10 Truths About Leadership is easy to read and its truths are simple. Treat others with decency and respect and you will encourage and inspire them by your example. Pete Luongo speaks from the heart in every page of his book and he is a living example of the principals he writes about so passionately.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2008

    Top-Notch!

    I have had the luxury of working with Pete and watching him present to thousands of individuals in corporate, non-profit, government and educational environments. The 10 Truths About Leadership provide a practical, easy, guide for living and working at your best. This is a must read for anyone looking to improve their relationships with others, both personally and professionally, and become a more effective leader than ever before!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2008

    Practical Personal Advise from a Business Leader

    Peter Luongo compiled a practical leadership guide from personal experience in the business world. Mr. Luongo draws on a wealth of personal experience to share his successes and challenges in his career. He demonstrates how he had to change his approach as a result of a challenged business situation as he climbed the 'corporate ladder.' His change in approach shows that winning is achieved through a caring approach to his work force. This care still requires an uncompromising commitment to succeeding with the task at hand. However, his leadership inspired and fostered commitment. The end result was a workforce of more leaders as opposed to compliant followers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1