Customer Reviews for

Ten Ways to Be Adored When Landing a Lord (Love by Numbers Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 188 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    An author with not many books yet, but hopefully many more to come soon.

    If you read one by this author, you're hooked.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Very good

    I so far have really enjoyed her books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    This was not as good as Gabriel's story but it was good non the

    This was not as good as Gabriel's story but it was good non the less. Finished the book in one day. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!

    I don't know if I'm the only person to fall under this assumption, but after reading the blurb for the book, I was a little sad to see that it was going to take place, "at sea." After reading Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake, I really loved the drama and near scrapes that Callie and Gabriel went through and I just couldn't see that happening on a ship. But you know what? The book doesn't take place 'at sea', they don't even leave England! So I was relieved but unhappy with the blurb, which maybe was only misleading to me. Anyone else think that?

    Ten Ways continues in much the same way that Nine Rules began; with strong women doing things that other women don't do, and doing it with passion. Callie, in Nine Rules, was just coming into her adventure, while Isabel has had to be strong her whole life. She is visibly shaken from the moment she meets Nicholas St. John. She tries to resist him, and though you might think that the Ten Ways are a list she has made to try to win him by, they aren't. Those Ten Things are everything she does wrong as a proper lady.

    After reading Ten Ways I was really looking forward to a book about Nick. He is the younger brother to the Marquees of Ralston, and of the two he is the funny, charming one. I was a little disappointed with part of his character arc. Crucial to his history is his time spent as a *bulan, and while it's that experience that sets him off on his journey that inevitably throws him and Isabel together, it slipped and faded into the background until the end when it was mentioned. It sounded like something really interesting that could have flavored more of the book and I was sad to see it not featured more.

    Sarah MacLean writes historical romance that I want to read. Ten Ways is a fun, witty book where the woman wins the man through unusual means. It's not a fairy tale romance, there are secrets and moments where trust and hope are lost, but the characters are adventurous and endearing. I read the book in one sitting almost the instant I bought it and I wasn't unsatisfied. The romance is believable, in that flawed way that people really love each other and the supporting cast made me laugh.

    Even if you don't normally like historical romance, I suggest this book and the previous one, Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake, and her YA historical, The Season. The third Ralston book, I just learned is called Eleven Scandals to Start to Win a Duke's Heart and will be out in April 2011. I have to wait that long????
    *you have to read the book to find out what a bulan is!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    Don't want to put it down...

    It has been difficult choosing between the "must do's" during the holiday and reading this book. Unfortunately, I have the book now and I got a Nook for Christmas. Just can't see dishing out another $8 for the book just to finish it on my Nook but plan to lock myself in the room and finish it this weekend!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun, laugh out loud historical romance

    I've been on a HR kick for awhile now. The downside of that is that after awhile (oh, heck, who are we kidding...after reading two you've really read them all, amirite?) they all start to read alike. Same plot structure, same characters, etc.

    The difference with MacLean is that she throws in great humor and really fleshes out her characters. I enjoyed this book a great deal. The heroine is independent, yet surprisingly normal. Her hero is bitingly funny and likeable, yet maintains that degree of mystery that makes him intriguing. And seriously, I couldn't help but giggle like a moron when Isabel finds herself swooning when he's wearing his glasses and engrossed in his work. The only thing I had a hard time accepting was that these two fell so hard for each other in a matter of a few days. Like, "hi, I have no idea who you are" to "you're going to marry me."

    When all is said and done, I really enjoyed this book. I see myself reading it again in the future.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    I think I liked the characters more in this one. And the location was different which added an interesting element to the story. There was a couple things that bothered me, but not enough to through off the story.

    Isabel was just as strong of a female character as Callie was in the first book. She's use to handling things on her own. She has taken care of herself, her younger brother, and the estate pretty much on her own. Plus, she's created a sort of halfway home for women. It's an admirable thing to do in a time were women didn't do things like this on their own. It's also created a fault were she can't admit when she might be over her head and need some help. Something everyone else can see.

    I liked getting to know Nick in a different light. He's not exactly how I pictured him in the first book. He seems a lot more dark and mysterious here. I enjoyed learning his history and what made him the sort of man he is. I also liked his friend Rock that journeyed with him. There's quite a bit of history there and I'm glad they both found happiness and love.

    What bothered me a little was the sex scenes were completely predictable this time around. The followed the exact same pattern as the first book (right down to the intimacy that occurs is each one). It was kind of strange. Plus, there is some dialogue that is identical. Perhaps this isn't as noticeable if you don't read the book pretty much back to back.

    I still really enjoyed this one and will be looking forward to the next in the series. I assume, since the series is now titled The Ralstons, that the next one will be about Julianna.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4