Customer Reviews for

Tender is the Night

Average Rating 4
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2005

    Tender is the Night

    Finally I have finished this book. This book is a good one but I didn't understand French so I had to leave some of it . F. Scott Fitzgerald did a great job. This book is really slow and it gets confusing towards the middle. But somehow I managed to get through this book. I would recommend you to read this book. You will like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2003

    i highly recommend this!

    after reading Gatsby, i just had to have more! Tender is the Night was truly a great book, so much excitement, i just loved it! F. Scott sure knows how to draw in the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2003

    Convoluted drivel

    I have truly come to believe that you either love Fitzgerald's work or don't. I seem to fall in the latter category. I read Gatsby years ago, and didn't care for it. A friend recommended this novel, claiming it was a better read. The first 100 pages are so convoluted, that reading it grew tiresome. The second half seemed as though it were written by a different author, the prose and dialogue are more concise. With the exception of Dick Diver, there is no other likeable character in this novel. In my opinion, Fitzgerald's writing is fused with an odd detachment, which overall, serves as a hinderance when you want to more about the characters he's created. You never truly empathize with them and that fact prevented me from enjoying it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2003

    Fitzgerald: Superb as usual!

    This is one of the most underrated novels I have ever had a chance to attach my eyes to. I know it was on the list of the 100 best novels of the 20th century, but that's about all of the recognition I hear for this book. I picked it up, still under the charm of his Gatsby, and found myself involved in one of the finest and most enjoyable reads of my life! It seems that you could pick any random line from this novel and ask anybody to rewrite it, and it wouldn't be half as good. That's how good the novel is, not a wasted word in print. Fitzgerald truly is a cut above the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2001

    'First the Morale Goes, then the Manners.'

    Tender Is the Night is one of the most interesting examples in 20th century fiction of reversing the usual social metaphors. Dr. Dick Diver, a psychiatrist, is examined as a case of mental health. He is also placed in a classic woman's role, that of the desired, amiable beauty sought after by all and sundry. These juxtapositions of the usual social perspectives allow the reader to touch closer to the realities of human need and connection, by piercing our assumptions about what is 'right and proper.' The story begins from the perspective of Rosemary Hoyt, an 18-year-old motion picture star, recuperating on the Rivera. One day she goes to the beach and becomes entranced by the Divers, Dick and Nicole, a golden couple with whom she immediately falls in love. Beautiful, young, rich, and looking for adventure, she quickly sets out to capture Dick who is the most wonderful person she has ever met. Later, the story shifts to Dick's perspective and traces back to the beginnings of his marriage to Nicole. She had formed an accidental attachment to him (a classic psychiatric transference) while residing in a mental hospital. He returned her friendship, and found it impossible to break her heart. They married, and he played the role of at-home psychiatrist tending her schizophrenia. All went well for years, but gradually he became weary of his role. His weariness causes him to re-evaluate his views on life . . . and the psychological profile of Dr. Diver, charming bon vivant, begins. The tale is a remarkably modern one, even if it was set in the 1920s. Fitzgerald deeply investigates the meanings of love, humanity, and connection. In so doing, he uncovers some of the strongest and most vile of human passions, and makes fundamental commentaries about the futility of fighting against human nature. The result is a particularly bleak view of life, in which the tenders may end up more injured by life than those they tend. What good is it to please everyone else, if they offend rather than please you instead? The character portrayals of Rosemary Hoyt, Dick Diver, and Nicole Diver are remarkably finely drawn. I can remember no other book where three such interesting characters are so well developed. You will feel like each of them is an old friend by the time the novel ends. If you have ever had the chance to read Freud, the novel will remind you of his writings. There is the same fine literary hand, the succinctness and clarity of expression, and the remorseless directness of looking straight at the unpleasant. I felt like I was reading Freud rather than Fitzgerald in many sections. This book should open up your mind to thinking about which social conventions you observe that leave you uncomfortable . . . or which are in contradiction to your own nature. Having surfaced those misfitting parts of your life, I suggest that you consider how you could shift your observation of conventions to make them more meaningful and emotionally rewarding for you. Be considerate because it pleases you to be, not as a ruse to obtain love! Donald Mitchell, co-author of The Irresistible Growth Enterprise and The 2,000 Percent Solution

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2001

    Armed with the pen

    When Fitzgerald took to writing Tender is the Night, how it must have appeared to be an impossible task. How might one parlay personal trying experiences on the Riviera into a universal novel, while at the same time reaching the level that readers had come to expect of the author of Gatsby and This Side of Paradise. Yet, Fitzgeral conquers all with his magnificent writing, as even the most attentive of readers will have to reread passages to comprehend the conveyed nuance of Fitzgerld's eveolved and layered narrative. It is slightly different state of reading thean the 'active reader' required by Camus in stranger and the confused reader created by Faulkner's The Sound and the Fury. In a strange circumstance of events, Tender is the Night is the first Fitzgeral novel I have read and I look forward to reading his other works with great enthusiasm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 1999

    As good as Gatsby

    This title is sadly too often overlooked in favor of the much more well known Great Gatsby. This novel offers just as compelling characters and juicy plot twists. This edition preserves Fitzgerald's intended order of events in the book -- his editors opted for a chronological order that actually hinders the early editions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4