Customer Reviews for

Tender Is the Night

Average Rating 4
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    Good Book

    Prior to reading Tender Is the Night the only thing I had ever read by Fitzgerald was The Great Gatsby and I wasn't too crazy about that. Taking a chance with this one, I was well rewarded. This book was so sad, but compelling. I felt it was about the choices people make, how so many people do what they feel is the right thing, but it really isn't. I also found the atmospheric details of Americans in Europe during the 1920s to be rich and vivid. I found Rosemary to be an especially interesting character, and wondered what happened to her long after the novel ended. Dick was the saddest character, starting with so much promise and eventually fading away.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2006

    Profound Tragedy

    I wasn't sure what to expect when I first started this book. I'd read The Great Gatsby, and loved Fitzgerald's prose, but wasn't sure what to anticipate with something else. But I was pleasantly surprised. Never failing, Fitzgerald manages to depict and enhance his characters and their interactions with details that most other authors are unable to capture. The story lays out the lives of wealthy American expatriates, focusing on the deterioration of a marriage between Dick and Nicole Diver. With Dick, we see a man once regarded for his genuine charm, care, and gregariousness. Yet entrenched in the superficiality of European life...being a doctor at a sanitarium bombarded with a spectrum of psychiatric patients...married to a woman with frequent nervous breakdowns...and lured on by the whimsical innocence of an American actress, once heartfelt outgoingness turns into bitterness and a tool Dick uses to deride others. Additionally, Nicole's fluctuation of emotion, inability to fit in because of it, and dissatisfaction with Dick's distancing himself, combine to ruin their marriage. This was one of the saddest, yet truest love stories I've read--being almost circumstantial that they ceased to love each other, and nothing of their own doing. I strongly recommend.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awe inspriring

    I was twelve when I read this, I was staying in Italy and was homesick, this book had me hanging on each word, amaing eve a thirteen year old could see that!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Breathtaking

    Ernest Hemingway, Fitzgerald's "frienemy", called this book a masterpiece. And he was right. Every word on every page of this book is utterly gorgeous. The plot, the characters, the dialogue, the setting in the Riviera, all of it breathtaking perfection. The first time I read it, I could not put it down for two straight days. It was just that good. Bless you, Mr. Fitzgerald, wherever you are, for giving us this work of art.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Wonderful!

    It's one of those books that is about nothing, yet about everything. A good read, and hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My favorite book

    I don't think I've ever read anything that was written quite like this novel. The language is exquisite, each sentence like a glorious shiny unique gem.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2005

    A luxureously dark tragic

    I liked this book. The way everything was so detailed made it easier to visualize everything that was going on. Though you really had to be into it and paying attention or else you were completely lost. I also liked the short chapters, though they were packed with thrills and adventures. The French in the book would have been cool but I don't know any French so I hopped over it and continued reading and it never hindered my understanding of the book. What turned me on to this book was F. Scott's writing style, he is so photogenic in his writing style and telling of the setting make you feel like you are right there when tragedy sticks or when two characters fall in love. Also if you love the French country side or just like reading about it you will like this book. All in all I think if you like analyzing and doing some deep sea reading that you will love Tender is the Night. And tell your friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2005

    Wonderful Plot!

    This romance novel is about multiple relationships mingling together. Rosemary first meets Dick Diver and instantly falls in love with him. The one problem is that Dick is married to Nicole. However, does Dick really love Nicole enough to stay with her, or is the beautiful Rosemary the one he loves? This novel is filled with interesting twists and turns on love. F. Scott Fitzgerald had a wonderful plot in this novel. He did an excellent job of showing his readers that money can lead to power, and all of that combined can destroy a wonderful person. This novel was wonderful, but the style in which he used was not my favorite. I have never read any of his other books and could not compare them, but if the style of his others were this horrible, then I would probably dislike them as I did this one. I did not like how he wrote the book in different time periods. He had his first book (the beginning) in present time, the second book (the middle) took place a few years before the first book, and then the third book (the end) took place a few years after the first. It was really hard to follow, but overall the story line was good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2005

    Excellent read

    'Tender is the Night' is a very good book. I like Fitzgerald's style of writing and I also like how it is set in the 1920's. All of his character's were well-built and upon reading the book I felt as if I personally knew each one. This book is one of my favorites of Fitzgerald's. The only thing that I didn't like about it were the French words because I don't speak French. The rest of the book, however, was very good and an excellent read for fans of Fitzgerald.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Remember that freud was very popular then

    And he had well covered the incest actual and imaginary jung was doing very well with the famous faily never cured anyone but milked them for a complete institute with nary a patient and one doctor jung any doctor marries his oatient needs his head examined

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Such a sad story but I couldn't put it down once I started it

    Such a sad story but I couldn't put it down once I started it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    While Fitzgerald proved his genius with The Great Gatsby, I migh

    While Fitzgerald proved his genius with The Great Gatsby, I might not so readily attribute that much to this somewhat autobiographical story about people mostly abroad in Europe. I found it hard to like the characters in the story, and things don’t all resolve substantially at once like in The Great Gatsby. The narrative style is what kept me reading this book to the end. Also, there are enough other characters who pop up in the story to keep things lukewarm interesting.

    A product I would recommend is Sirens of Morning Light by Benjamin Anderson, a quest for a man in Iowa to regain his identity, which becomes entangled with people who claim to have known him when he discovers he is a scientific experiment. I believe the characters make sense in following through for what seems to be their rights.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Hidden Depths I've been intending to read this book for a long

    Hidden Depths

    I've been intending to read this book for a long time, having a memory of what was probably a 1980s BBC TV adaptation of it and having seen a play about the life of Zelda Fitzgerald on the Edinburgh Fringe in the '90s. Finally I got around to it...

    It's impossible for me to comment meaningfully on 'Tender is the Night' without giving away the plot. Obviously it's a very well-written, literary work but about half-way through I had issues with the respect in which the narrative feels very much like masculine self-indulgence, what with Rosemary's abiding obsession with Dick and the incest that we are informed to have been the root of Nicole's mental disturbance being glossed over so glibly.

    However, my feelings changed later on. I think the truly great human observation that Fitzgerald makes in this book is that when Dick & Rosemary's relationship is finally consummated, the mutual attraction is instantly killed off and the incident spells the beginning of the personal and professional demise of Dick.

    Furthermore, the facts that the novel ends with Nicole herself straying into an adulterous relationship and a final shift towards a focus on her feelings about her marriage to Dick and her own life and identity, redeemed the story from being one seemingly intended to bolster male egos.

    It's easy to lose sight of just how long ago 'Tender is the Night' was written because it tackles the question of the viability of monogamy in such a head-on, modern way. So I would recommend it, not only as a literary work of beauty that evokes the long-lost 'Jazz Age' but also and moreover as a book that examines the fundamental and perpetuating question of the nature of romantic love and the value we place upon it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Torn between liking and hating this book...

    The beginning of this book was very interesting. I found the characters likable. My opinion of the book changed around page two hundred. The book got very dark and sad, on top of that it was no longer told by the same charcter. By the end of the book...and by end i mean the last 20 pages i had come to love it once more. It is the type of book that you have to push yourself to finish. I would recommend it, but be warned; it is a very long book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    An Involved Tale

    The rise of one leads to the fall of the other. A little depressing .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    i love to read f.Scott books, thanks for this collection

    i love to read f.Scott books, thanks for this collection

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    A classic read

    On a French beach, a tale of romance, deceit and a good story told from different viewpoint begins. The reader is first introduced to the benevolent Rosemary, with her fair skin and young breath, she is a thing of beauty. Next to her, in less importance, is her mother Mrs. Speers. Then, the reader meets the obnoxious Mckiscos and their party. The story turns to the ever-so-graceful Diver party; Rosemary falls head-over-heels for the married Mr.Diver at first sight. A very promiscuous beginning to a classic tale. Mrs. Rosemary is a slightly naive, bright-eyed actress, fresh out of Hollywood. Being only 16, her moral standings are not at all stable.The Mckiscos are very insignificant, like flies on a patio, they only buzz in and out of the plot. The Divers, on the other hand, are the light compared to the darkness of the Mckiscos. Mr. Diver, also known as "Dick", is introduced as a dashingly handsome redhead that charms the excitement into any conversation. Mr. Diver's wife, Nicole, is described by Rosemary as a very strong beauty, which is quite the contrary to the reality of who she really is. Nicole, one would say, is the antagonist of the story; others may argue the antagonist is Rosemary. Rosemary, slightly intoxicated, and Dick, kiss after her 18th birthday celebration. After visiting a party that wasn't enjoyable, but necessary to attend, they kiss more passionately. Even though he's married, Dick is easily pushed into an affair. This novel was a bit difficult to read because of the numerous settings, countries, and names. Also, if the reader is not used to dialogue meant for the 1920's, it also becomes a factor in the book's difficulty to read. I didn't like this book, and it's probably because my taste in books is very selective. One of the things I could pick from the book that I thought was ridiculous, was the climax; it was only one sentence. No details, no build-up; nothing. The ending was also a disappointment, the reader was expecting a much bigger bang than the one that was given. Perhaps that's just how 1920's literature was meant to end. I did enjoy reading the story of Nicole though, it gave the book a dark unexpected twist. Also, the way in which Dick's character is developed is unexpected. The reader is able to experience Dick in a very different light through the eyes of Rosemary and then through the eyes of Nicole. Tender is the Night by P. Scott Fitzgerald is a classic book that the average person would enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Tragic Irony

    A tome of the upsurge of modernity and the crisis of the White Knight who in rescuing becomes the tragic figure needing his own rescue. A point where hubris falls under the edifice of ideals...A touching human tragedy no doubt made of the stuff that fills the space in life and living.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2007

    Dissection of the rich and perfect

    I absolutely adore The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald, and I when I picked this book up my expectations were soaring and my imagination began to run wild. Interestingly, the book is divided into three sections the surface appearance, the dissection, and the unraveling. The first section of the book was, in my opinion, rather boring. It dealt with the struggle of a young woman, Rosemary, while she fell in love with the handsome, older, and already married Dick Diver. Rosemary made her intentions clear to Dick and proclaimed to him her love, but reluctantly Dick emphasized that he loved his wife, Nicole. In the first section of the book, Dick and Nicole were portrayed to be utterly happy and in love with each other. While Dick claimed to be in love with Rosemary, he told her that he was more in love with Nicole and could never be unfaithful. However, the second section of the book went into the history of out that Nicole and Dick met in a very unconventional way. She was a mental patient while he was a psychologist. At first this seems really strange, that a man of his appeal and intelligence would be mixed up with someone as mentally unstable and vulnerable as Nicole. It¿s also a shock because during the first section, Nicole was portrayed as a strong woman very independent from her husband. She appeared to be confident, which we find out is almost exactly the opposite of what her true characteristics are. Towards the end of the section you can see a transition towards the third. Dick finds himself reflecting, and slowly realizing how tied down he¿s made himself. By marrying and becoming entangled with Nicole, he has sacrificed his entire life. He no longer is suitable to practice psychology, and his own mental state begins to decline. The third section displays the complete ruining and destruction of Nicole and Dick¿s relationship. She knows of Dicks unfaithfulness to her in both his head and physically. Dick had fallen in love with young Rosemary. But from Dick¿s view mostly it was to attempt to fill the emptiness of his and Nicole¿s relationship. The bottom line is they had been happy, or as happy as it was possible for two people of their condition. After Rosemary everything had changed, and reality began to settle into their heads that they were destroying each other. Dick felt obligated to care for Nicole, and Nicole felt she needed to control and keep him through her fortune. In the end, Dick is alone, and Nicole has moved on. You can always count on Fitzgerald for an unsettling ending, but the pathway he paves to get there is impeccable. His extraordinary process of picking apart the outwardly perfect and beautiful people of the world is an amazing process that was thoroughly enjoyed and is strongly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2005

    Great story, well-crafted, a joy

    A fine novel on two levels: as a piece of literature and as a romance. While the style of jumping around in time requires some concentration, I find the book rather easy to take in through light reading. It is, on its surface, a romance and a touching one. Yet it rewards as completely the reader willing to linger and consider. The themes include human imperfection and frailty which we all possess regardless of wealth or status. Fitzgerald's ability to paint vivid pictures for the reader are on fine display here. The structure brings greater power to the story. Yes, it could be told more simply and chronologically but I believe it would lose much of its power if done so. If you're familiar with Fitzgerald's work, you'll find this deeper and more ambitious than his short stories. In fact, it is probably more ambitious than The Great Gatsby, though it doesn't quite reach the dizzying heights of that masterwork.No shame there, precious few novels do. If you've not read Fitzgerald, Tender is the Night is a nice introduction although I'd recommend Gatsby first. In short, whether you appreciate a ramontic tale, a well- crafted. thoughtful novel, or-- especially--both, Tender Is The Night is a worthwhile and enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4