Customer Reviews for

Tender at the Bone: Growing up at the Table

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 7, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Delicious Memoir

    Ruth writes her life story through recipes and a great deal of humor and internal fortitude. A great read, enjoyable, witty and makes you hungry for more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Tender at the Bone is a Great Story for Foodies

    Our book club selection for February is "Tender at the Bone -- Growing Up at the Table" by Ruth Reichl. I had to keep reminding myself that this is non-fiction.

    Ruth Reichl, Editor-in-Chief of Gourmet magazine which is no longer being published as of November 2009, has an entertaining history with food. While she had no formal culinary training, she has cooked since she was a small child. This is the story of her life with food and her no holds barred personal life, including dealing with a manic-depressive mother who was known as the Queen of Mold.

    Here's a little excerpt from the first chapter:

    "Oh, it's just a little mold," I can remember her saying on the many occasions she scraped the fuzzy blue stuff off some concoction before serving what was left for dinner. She had an iron stomach and was incapable of understanding that other people did not.

    This taught me many things. The first was that food could be dangerous, especially to those who loved it. I took this very seriously. My parents entertained a great deal, and before I was ten I had appointed myself guardian of the guests. My mission was to keep Mom from killing anybody who came to dinner.

    She tells about learning to cook from her Aunt Birdie's maid, Hortense, as well as their own family's maid, Mrs. Peavey; being sent to boarding school in Montreal to learn French and getting an education from the local deli owners; spending time with a fellow student's millionaire family where she was introduced to gourmet food; traveling abroad with her college roommate; marrying and making ends meet -- then moving to California and living in a commune; being hired as a restaurant critic by a San Francisco magazine; going to France on a wine buying trip; even attending a party in honor of James Beard.

    I found her story interesting and fascinating. She really went through some ups and downs with her mother's illness and came out on the right side of happy.

    Ruth Reichl has written and edited a number of books and cookbooks over the years and I believe I'll read them all. "Tender at the Bone" includes recipes throughout the text as well.

    http://www.ruthreichl.com/?ID=2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2004

    It delights my heart

    I went through some difficult time and needed a book to uplift my spirit, in a way. I am still thinking of the deep fried oyster and I think I will go back and read those recipes again and try making some of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2002

    wonderful

    this story is not only wonderfully written, but hysterical. I laughed the whole time! I loved it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2002

    Simply a good memoir

    I loved this book because it was witty and truly a good read about how one little girl grew up dealing with a totally dysfunctional mom. Although I'm the type of cook who boils eggs till they explode, I loved the recipies sprinkled throughout the book. I'm going to try some. But, I especially loved Reichl's approach to the struggles of life...hilarious and insighful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2002

    Very well written, even non-foodies (like me) will like it

    Tender at the Bone is so well written I enjoyed the whole thing. I am not a foodie in fact, I can barely cook. But I like memoir and both of hers are excellent. They are funny, wise, honest and well, tender. Her writing is accessible, fluid and clear. I was surprised to learn that the powerful fancy food editor, Ruth Reichl, had a manic-depressive mother and such non-conformist 'anti-agribusiness' views! After reading Tender at the Bone, I was even inspired to make a creative dinner two whole nights in a row!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2000

    An absolute delight

    I love it! Witty and mouth watering! Don't read when you are hungry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1