Customer Reviews for

The Tenderness of Wolves

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not the kind of book I would normally read.

This is not the kind of book that I would normally read but the title caught my attention. It was fabulous. I learned a lot about Canada in the mid 1800s and trading companies and trapping. Well written, a mystery with a love stories thrown in for fun. Hard to p...
This is not the kind of book that I would normally read but the title caught my attention. It was fabulous. I learned a lot about Canada in the mid 1800s and trading companies and trapping. Well written, a mystery with a love stories thrown in for fun. Hard to put down.

posted by Anonymous on August 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Expected a little more

Interesting, but not exactly an upper! Kind of dark. Just not what I expected; not quite sure why. I wanted the characters to be a little more communicative to each other. Showed the difficult living conditions people lived under in that time period and location.

posted by BookGma on October 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2008

    Not the kind of book I would normally read.

    This is not the kind of book that I would normally read but the title caught my attention. It was fabulous. I learned a lot about Canada in the mid 1800s and trading companies and trapping. Well written, a mystery with a love stories thrown in for fun. Hard to put down.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    Fabulous!!

    Suspenseful and fascinating novel. I highly recommend this to anybody who enjoys mystery and/or historical fiction. I was surprised that the New York Times has not reviewed this book - it was such an enjoyable read and I got it in the bargain bin at B&N!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    Expected a little more

    Interesting, but not exactly an upper! Kind of dark. Just not what I expected; not quite sure why. I wanted the characters to be a little more communicative to each other. Showed the difficult living conditions people lived under in that time period and location.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    Couldn't wait to come home and read

    This was simply a great story and a fun read. I enjoyed the way each chapter was told from a different character's perspective and how the author used first person for the main character. The author did an excellent job of describing the landscape. Even on a hot summer day, I could feel the cold and wet of this Canadian winter. It was one of those books that I couldn't wait to get home to after work.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    History combines with Mystery in a riveting story.

    A mother searches for her son across a frigid landscape- the basis of a complex story interweaving missing artifacts, Canadian mounties, Native Americans and even Scandinavian immigrants! This all takes place in the wilderness along the Canadian border in the 1800's. The author creates haunting characters, and evokes a time and place little explored in novels. The plot is full of surprises and a satisfying read. And the wolves...bring unforgettable imagery.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    A great book for a long train ride in Winter!

    I enjoyed this book tremendously. Until the end. The story was intriguing, dramatic and well-developed. However, the author left the ending to the reader's imagination and I felt somewhat cheated. The cover was what drew me, as well as the wolf theme.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2007

    Better than I expected

    So glad I found this book - I had never read this type of story. As another reviewer stated, it does not fit into one genre. There are a lot of characters to keep up with but I found with careful reading I was able to keep everyone straight. I felt I needed more closer with some of the characters at the end - but all in all a great read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2009

    DIFFICULT SLOW READ

    Story dragged on, very slow read, SO MANY NAMES! Very disappointing book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    Captured Canadian snow and wilderness

    Very well drawn characters and setting. You would think this author visited Canada for sure. Learned alot about this era of Canada and the peoples who inhabited the wilderness. You are absoilutely pulled into this cold and remote place.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    Highly recommended

    This book was an unexpected treat. I thought I would find it interesting, but really thoroughly enjoyed it from page one to finish. You don't have to know anything about the time and place of the setting to really get into this book. The author takes you there among the characters, all of whom are so interesting, and you feel the cold and see the landscape.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Unique story line

    Story takes place in the Canadian wintertime of the 1860s and centers around an unseemly murder. All the characters, none of which seem to be capable of expressing their feelings - that is at first. Very interesting story line. I found this book engrossing and wanted it to continue. Glad I was wandering around B&N and saw this book. Great read!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    Tenderness of Wolves is excellent.

    I found Tenderness of Wolves an offbeat, well-written book. Steff Penny's writing style skillfully weaves character development, setting, and plot to draw the reader into being part of the tapestry of the story. It reminded me of Mystic River in that the characters in the story are as intriguing as the plot, making the book far more than a mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2009

    If you can, sit by a warm fire and have a hot drink close by!

    High on adventure, suspense and quite the thriller.<BR/>If you spend time in the back country and know what real quiet is you will actually feel the chill up your back bone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    more work than fun

    the time frame of the story and the life style of the people interested me. the story itself was involved with to many characters, which lead me to want to put the book down. at times it felt like i was reading for history class. yet i finished the book, but it was more work than fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2008

    Different

    A mystery set in the mid 1800s in Canada. A chance to be a unique historical piece of fiction. The story involves at least five subplots which jump around increasing the effort to keep things in order. I found myself constantly trying to remind myself of who each character was. The author's prose was fine. Her plot organization and structure were dfficult to get through. And the answer to the mystery came from a source which was a whole new subplot inserted at the end. I note the author is a screenwriter. My impression is this would make a nice 12 part mini-series, but it doesn't work well as a novel. Nice setting, interesting plot idea, peculiar characters, but as a novel it doesn't flow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2008

    A great story

    The book has many interwoven themes, love, avarice, ethnic relationships and mystery. The word-painting of cold landscapes and hard lives, brings the story to life. All in all a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Different, interesting, exciting - a must read

    After reading "The Tenderness of Wolves" by Stef Penney, I immediately got "The Invisible Ones" also by Stef Penney. She understands people. Her descriptions take you there.

    This book was an award winner and justifiably so. It is about a time and place that not many of us can relate to and yet, somehow she takes you there.

    I would highly recommend it if you want a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    stark reading; chillingly real! Good to read on a hot day!

    Penney is a true novelist, one of our newest stars. Than you, Stef. Congratulations on the 2006 Costa Book of the Year winning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Tediousness of Reading...

    Perhaps it is the exposure to 45 minute CSI and Law & Order episodes that makes this 'thriller' less enjoyable than expected. I believe that the author spent loving attention on building the vast character base and interweaving a story line in a setting with great dramatic opportunity. However, the build up never quite fulfills the potential I'd expect in a crime story. It has suspense, but the long-drawn out tracking of the missing son, Francis, leading to the eventual solution of the mystery takes the reader down too many backwood trails. There are lots of little plots and characters to divert the attention from the pivotal storyline: who killed Laurent Jammett? The main character, Mrs. Ross, does not have the flair or classic qualities of a traditional detective and there is a sadness pervasive to almost every person's life in this novel. Perhaps it is a great novel for people who like fiction to reflect reality. However, I like my escapist literature to take me someplace I have never been, not visit a place which I would never want to go. And yet, there are points of interest in the novel. I think historians and old west buffs would enjoy the realistic depiction of life on the edge of civilization. There is an earthy grittyness to the form. It just wasn't my cup of tea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Grips the reader!

    Amazing Historical fiction based in Canada during the trading company days. A man is murdered and his neighbors and town try to find out why. Is the man suspected a killer or just being judged based on his skin or that he's french? Amazing twist and turns. A very rich read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3