Customer Reviews for

Tending Roses

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 23, 2014

    "Tending Roses" is a book that makes you want to gathe

    "Tending Roses" is a book that makes you want to gather your family members and just hold them tight and make sure they know you love them. It makes me wish I had asked my grandmothers and grandfathers to tell me more about their life when they were young. It is a wonderful book that will make you laugh and make you cry. It is one of hope and faith and how it is not too late to find a simpler life by a little nudging from a grandmother and learning about her life.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2003

    Tending Roses

    I don't agree at all with the reviewer who didn't like this book. I didn't think the descriptions were syrupy, or lackluster, or that it read like it was written by a high school English student, and I'm a high school English TEACHER, so I'm a pretty good judge of that. Tending Roses was a well balanced, well written, realistic novel, and it was absolutely charming. The characters were real, the descriptions wonderful, and the story very touching. I read it through in one sitting, loved every minute of it, and didn't want it to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Highly recommend

    This is a book that is a great reminder of what really matters. A good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    What a great book!

    This book is very much worth the read. It really makes you think about what is important in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    highly recommend

    One of my favorite books of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    An excellent book

    A lesson in wisdom and age. Listen and appreciate your elders. They know more than you. Many people do not take heed to their elderly grandparents/parents. Read this book and decide
    For yourself. Loved this read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    Reality

    What a great read. Wisdom shared by an elderly grandmother in a unique yet comfortable manner for both individuals. Life at it's best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    A Timeless Story

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The story is simple with several good lessons for young parents as well as families with aging members. I haven't enjoyed a book this much for a long time. A nice summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    Share this one with everyone you know!!!

    A tender and touching story that hooks you from the first page and lures you deep into the world of the easily forgotten... I guarantee you won't forget this one! It will have you looking at those around you in a different light! Excellent writing did this story justice! Thanks to Lisa Wingate for such a wonderful treat! (If you are into couples reading this one is great when read aloud! My husband thoroughly enjoyed it too!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2005

    I CRYed & CRYed but could not whould not put the book down

    It was a great book ! I loved it ! I know I whould love it from the frist page.It was awesome.I recommened it to all,READ IT yourself and I strongly believe you'll feel the same.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2005

    Touching and Well Written Story

    Not only is Lisa Wingate¿s novel, Tending Roses, a beautifully written novel, but it also shares a gentle wisdom about families and relationships. I read this novel at a time in my life when I was making decisions about my own family: when to have my first child, whether or not to stay home with my children or to have a career (or both), how to care for aging grandparents, and reconciling strained parent and sibling relationships. By reading this novel, I became more aware that all families have struggles and go through trials and tribulations, and I felt reassured to see that Lisa Wingate, as many other women, have grappled with similar issues and successfully reconciled them. It warmed my heart, and I remind myself often to treat my family with love and respect because I recognize what an important part of my life they are. Enjoy this novel; I think that anyone who reads this will find something that they can relate to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2004

    Must read for. . .

    I think this is a must read for anyone who's parents or grandparents are going to grow old. The lessons in it are timeless and the author really puts you in touch with them and you grow to really care about them. I have loaned this book to several people and they have all also loved it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2004

    An enjoyable, good feeling story.

    A wonderful, inspirational story about real people. I remember feeling much like Katie when I was young with small children and working outside our home, how wonderful it would have been to have my Grandmother's journal, although I do have her stories. I will read this book again after I share it with my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2003

    Hitting close to home!

    Tending Roses,was a great book, one of the best i have read in a long time. I first read this book a couple of years ago when it first came out. My family and I are from a nice country town in Missouri, So it has brought back a lot of great memories.This book has also helped me to prepare for the future, talking with my father before he passed away. My father and I were close, but became closer listening to stories of when he was growning up in Missouri.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2003

    Tending Roses

    A really great read with realistic characters in a realistic story. A book I will keep forever, after sharing it with many friends and family members. This is the kind of book we love to share around the office. It makes you feel good and makes you think about life and what is important. Don't miss it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2003

    Awesome

    I found this to be the kind of awesome read that would appeal to readers of any age, at almost any time in life. The writing transported me into the lives of the characters, but in a way, it was about my own life as well. The family dynamic is like so many today, and the way Grandma Rose chooses to bring her bickering family back together is so inspired, and inspiring. I bought copies to send to family members, and it brought about many long talks about things we had never discussed. If you want to share a meaningful book with someone you love, this is it, but don't forget to get a copy for yourself, as well. Thank you, Lisa Wingate!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2003

    Tending Roses

    Our book group of army families read Tending Roses as our December selection. Everyone in the book club loved it, and we had the best discussion we've ever shared. No doubt in my mind, this is the best book I have ever read, and I know I will go back and read it a second time, then save it for my daughters. I felt like I was right there with the characters, and there is so much wisdom here about family, faith, and all of the things we as army personnel, and Americans, ought to cherish. It is one of those books you "get" on so many different levels. I'm planning to share it with my mom and sisters and grandmother for Mother's Day. I know it will be as special to them as it was to me, and I hope it will bring up some family memories with my grandmother. It would speak to almost anyone of any age, and it certainly spoke to me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2003

    Tending Roses

    I'm in the army book group too, and we very much enjoyed Tending Roses. It was just a good, down-to-earth story that didn't use "shock value" to get its point across. Grandma Roses's journal entries were beautiful, and truly inspired me to look at my life. "Family values" has become this comfortable buzz phrase we use without really thinking about what it means, and it's nice to read something that reminds you of the true meaning of the words. It's also refreshing to read an author who talks about real people and real problems in a down-to-earth way, without stooping to overblown literary devices to make the book seem important. The book is important because the issues are so real. It was inspiring, touching, and skillfully written, a top read for me, something other readers shouldn't miss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2003

    Tending Roses

    I loved Tending Roses! It was a great book to curl up with on a cold winter evening--but get ready, because once you pick it up, you won't be able to put it down. The characters were so well done and the setting was so real, I would look up from time to time, expecting to find myself at the farm. It's a very special read, one you remember long after you finish, and one you want to share with friends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2002

    Tending Roses gave me things to think about

    This book is unforgettable. I find myself thinking about Grandma Rose and her litlle bits of advice in my own day to day Life. I highly recommend this book and will give it as christmas presents this year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2