Customer Reviews for

The Tenth Circle

Average Rating 4
( 421 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(153)

4 Star

(120)

3 Star

(89)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

exciting thriller

Daniel Stone was the only white child who lived in an Alaskan Eskimo village where because of his race, the boys picked on him until he finally acted out by stealing, vandalizing property, fighting and a host of other petty crimes. When he was eighteen, he left Alaska ...
Daniel Stone was the only white child who lived in an Alaskan Eskimo village where because of his race, the boys picked on him until he finally acted out by stealing, vandalizing property, fighting and a host of other petty crimes. When he was eighteen, he left Alaska and reinvented himself and now is a mild mannered comic artist a stay at home dad to his teenage daughter Trixie, who he will protect at any cost. Trixie is in love with Jason who dumped her for another girl but she does everything in her power to get him back. At an unsupervised teen party, Trixie tries to make Jason but it backfires and she returns home telling her father he raped her. Jason is arrested and let out on bond but the lead detective on the case finds inconsistencies in Trixie¿s story. Just when they are about to drop the case, a date rape drug is found in Trixie¿s blood taken when she went to the hospital right after she claimed rape. Jason is now going to be tried as an adult but that is not the end of the story only the beginning. --- Jodi Picoult always writes an exciting thriller wrapped around a social issue and in THE TENTH CIRCLE the concern is date rape and how it affects the victim, the family and the suspect. The plot takes so many unexpected twists that readers have no idea where the storyline will finally take them. The audience will empathize with Trixie, a young adult who is facing issues her parents never dealt with and she struggles to deal with them on his own. This book is going to make the New York Times bestseller list. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Really?

Thanks to the person at the bottom for giving away what happens in the book!!!! Think before you write next time, people read reviews to see if its a book they want to buy! Ugh!!!

posted by 7807640 on November 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 421 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Really?

    Thanks to the person at the bottom for giving away what happens in the book!!!! Think before you write next time, people read reviews to see if its a book they want to buy! Ugh!!!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Anonymous

    If you read the ridiciously long reviews that some people write practically giving away the whole story, without any regard of other people who have not read the book yet. Rude and insensitive. My only advice, DO NOT READ THEIR REVIEWS!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    exciting thriller

    Daniel Stone was the only white child who lived in an Alaskan Eskimo village where because of his race, the boys picked on him until he finally acted out by stealing, vandalizing property, fighting and a host of other petty crimes. When he was eighteen, he left Alaska and reinvented himself and now is a mild mannered comic artist a stay at home dad to his teenage daughter Trixie, who he will protect at any cost. Trixie is in love with Jason who dumped her for another girl but she does everything in her power to get him back. At an unsupervised teen party, Trixie tries to make Jason but it backfires and she returns home telling her father he raped her. Jason is arrested and let out on bond but the lead detective on the case finds inconsistencies in Trixie¿s story. Just when they are about to drop the case, a date rape drug is found in Trixie¿s blood taken when she went to the hospital right after she claimed rape. Jason is now going to be tried as an adult but that is not the end of the story only the beginning. --- Jodi Picoult always writes an exciting thriller wrapped around a social issue and in THE TENTH CIRCLE the concern is date rape and how it affects the victim, the family and the suspect. The plot takes so many unexpected twists that readers have no idea where the storyline will finally take them. The audience will empathize with Trixie, a young adult who is facing issues her parents never dealt with and she struggles to deal with them on his own. This book is going to make the New York Times bestseller list. --- Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Love the author

    Good read but wasnt surprised with ending

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2006

    A new literary style bound to be a winner !!

    Jodi Picoult's THE TENTH CIRCLE verges on genius for a new literary style to add to her tight rope walking ideas that she always presents in her books. Her new book is 10% cartoon book which covers all the intricacies of Dante's Inferno with the wonderful style of the adult superhero cartoonest. Once again she presents a book that is a must do for all reading groups. What would we be willing to do for our child? Do we have any control over our darker, vengeful sides? Can we learn from mistakes and become better people? Are human being redeemable? Parental angst for the life styles of our teenagers is played out extremely well in this very compelling story line. I would recommend that anyone who has not not found Jodi Picoult should go right out and pick up all thirteen of her easy reading, thought provoking, timely issues books. A superhero winner, Jodi Pidoult!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Disappointing

    I've read several of Jodi Picoult's books and have been hooked from chapter 1. Not so much here. I found it hard to stay interested. When I turned the page and faced the prologue, I turned back thinking I had skipped a chapter. The book didn't end...it just stopped. Disappointing

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    don't bother

    My book club read the synopsis and thought it sounded like a good book. It was almost painful to get through without a glimmer of happiness in it. Every page seemed to bring more tragedy and gloom. I made myself finish it, but it was hard to do so.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Tediously Far-Fetched to the Point of Stupidity

    This is the worst Jodi Picoult book I've ever read. It was tediously far-fetched to the point of stupidity - especially from the point where Daniel's daughter runs away to Alaska. Yawn and disappointment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Recommended...but not my favorite

    As usual Picoult gives us a great, well researched read...but wasn't as much an "I just can't put this book down" as some of her others have been for me. I would still recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Think before you write your reveiws people!!!

    This is a good book but i dont think the reveiws are to crtisize the author i understand if you dont like the book but this isnt to talk bad about picoult. Thanks. And people DONT GIVE AWAY THE ENDING!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    !

    This book, like many other Picoult books, not only takes you through the journey that each individual character is experiencing but you also learn so much more about the passion of each of the characters themselves. I love the way she incorperates that into her writing so you feel like you are learning something effortlessly as you enjoy falling in love with her charaters and what makes them who they are.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Jodie Picoult's Worst!

    I love Jodie Picoult's books but this book was awful. I hated the main character and felt more sympathy for Jason who is supposed to be "the bad guy". All in all not one of her best works, I do not recommend wasting your money on it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    Best book i have ever read!

    I couldnt put this book down at all! I love this book! Ive read many of jodis books and this ones the best! Must read! I really wish that it continued, i wanna know if trixie ever met up with willie again! So sweet! :D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    I am disgusted...

    I wasn't even halfway through this book when I figured it out completely. I cannot believe the characters! It is not OK to accuse someone of rape when you didn't really say no or even resist. Just thinking 'um I think I don't want to' is not an answer when it is happening. Especially since, turns out they had had sex numerous times before and she went along with it fine on her own. Even plotting to stay with him anyway she could and buying drugs!?. I think she started a chain of events to cover for all she did wrong. Just to make a good face to her parents, who by the way ate it up. This girl character is not innocent, and she ruined a boys life to save herself the shame of her own actions. In fact I think all the acting out and running away was the guilt catching up to her. Nineteen minutes is a good read, but this was a waste of time.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2006

    A great read!

    Loved it!!!! My Sister's Keeper was my fav until this one -- truly one of Jodi Picoult's best. Took it on vacation and couldn't put it down. Read it!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2006

    AWESOME!

    This has become one of my favorite books. THE TENTH CIRCLE was a quick read and kept me on my toes! The book took so many unexpected turns that I couldn't put it down. The 'secret' at the very end of the book was quite frustrating until I figured it out. You'll just have to wait and figure it out yourself! A definite 5-star read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Loved It!

    !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Amazing!

    Aything by jodi I just adore. Fantastic book, I suggest you read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Review by 15

    I read this book in like an hour but that is because i read fast but it was an amazing book. If you have ever seen the movie to you can definantly say that this was a great story. I know that people are saying that it is for daddys girls but it is really for everyone and i would recommend this book any day. If anybody judges post because i am a 15 year old girl who likes interesting books like this and i know that this is probably the most boringist review but you shouldnt judge people. ~kam~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    SAME OLD JODI

    I used to enjoy her books but they all follow the same formula!! Family + troubled or sick kid + courtroom! Repitition with different names of characters has made her a best seller but she's no literary giant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 421 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22