Customer Reviews for

The Tenth Circle

Average Rating 4
( 423 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(153)

4 Star

(121)

3 Star

(90)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

exciting thriller

Daniel Stone was the only white child who lived in an Alaskan Eskimo village where because of his race, the boys picked on him until he finally acted out by stealing, vandalizing property, fighting and a host of other petty crimes. When he was eighteen, he left Alaska ...
Daniel Stone was the only white child who lived in an Alaskan Eskimo village where because of his race, the boys picked on him until he finally acted out by stealing, vandalizing property, fighting and a host of other petty crimes. When he was eighteen, he left Alaska and reinvented himself and now is a mild mannered comic artist a stay at home dad to his teenage daughter Trixie, who he will protect at any cost. Trixie is in love with Jason who dumped her for another girl but she does everything in her power to get him back. At an unsupervised teen party, Trixie tries to make Jason but it backfires and she returns home telling her father he raped her. Jason is arrested and let out on bond but the lead detective on the case finds inconsistencies in Trixie¿s story. Just when they are about to drop the case, a date rape drug is found in Trixie¿s blood taken when she went to the hospital right after she claimed rape. Jason is now going to be tried as an adult but that is not the end of the story only the beginning. --- Jodi Picoult always writes an exciting thriller wrapped around a social issue and in THE TENTH CIRCLE the concern is date rape and how it affects the victim, the family and the suspect. The plot takes so many unexpected twists that readers have no idea where the storyline will finally take them. The audience will empathize with Trixie, a young adult who is facing issues her parents never dealt with and she struggles to deal with them on his own. This book is going to make the New York Times bestseller list. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Really?

Thanks to the person at the bottom for giving away what happens in the book!!!! Think before you write next time, people read reviews to see if its a book they want to buy! Ugh!!!

posted by 7807640 on November 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Thx again ms plot spoiler

    Again harriet klausner feels the need to tell us the story. Please stop spoiling the book for others. Maybe u should write your own book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautifully written story of a father's journey with his child

    I'm a big fan of her's - she writes some very emotional books. I could almost believe a saw a movie similar to this story but I might be mistaken. The book takes you on the journey of not only Trixie, but her mother and father as well. Its well written and Picoult does a great job and the redirection and keeping you guessing. I really enjoyed how she made the dad the primary care taker of the child working from home - I think it really brought more emotion to the story and showed the fathers feelings beautifully for his child.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    Mari's view

    It was a good book. I would have wanted to read what happened to Laura and Daniel and Trixie and Willie...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    good ride

    This book takes you for a good ride into the perspectives of the characters. However, the ending became a bit predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    good book,but rough

    This book is basically about rape of Trixie, but not only rumors spread but the guy she had sex died. I would say this is more ofpreteen book, because they wouldnt understand about difference of real sex and rape . Its educational book,in my opnion. Its still a good learning how to deal with it, and slove. I watch the movie is just too much to watch.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable But Not Outstanding

    I decided to read this book after having recently enjoyed other navels by Jodi Picoult. I generally enjoy the topics that Picoult chooses to explore and like how she shows the reader different sides of a controversy through the eyes of different characters. Jodi Picoult is a good author who really lets the reader into her character's lives, but I find that the more of her novels I read the less I enjoy them. Her descriptions and overall themes begin to get somewhat redundant after one has read several of her books. I didn't have nearly the emotional response reading The Tenth Circle as I did reading The Pact or My Sister's Keeper, both of which I thought were excellent reads. I also thought that the comic strips included in this novel detracted from the story more than they added. They were more along the lines of cheesy than deep and meaningful, and their meaning seemed to be staring the reader in the face more than provoking thought.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not one of Jodi Picoult's best

    I have read and enjoyed many of Jodi Picoult's novels, however, I did not particularly enjoy The Tenth Circle. The storyline of the father David was the most compelling as his past is revealed and you get an in-depth look at his character. The overall plot was not very interesting in my opinion. If I had realized the book was about teenage rape, I probably would not have picked it up. I do appreciate that Jodi does not necessarily end her books with everything in a nice pretty bow, but leaves the reader to fill in how it might ultimately end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Book Club Pick

    We read alot of Jodi Picoult's work. This was enjoyable but the book club wished she had been as descriptive of the Alaska section as she was with the rest of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointing

    I absolutely love Jodi Picoult's books. I began with Second Glance and have devoured one after the other, but The Tenth Circle left me a bit disappointed and I had to take a break from her for a while. The plot was good, but I think it needed to be developed a little bit more. The ending was definitely predictable, and I really didn't like the ending at all. Not her best book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Never Stops Amazing

    This was a great book. Picoult always has a twist at the end of every story that changes everything you thought was going to happen!! she is a great writer...i have yet to find one of her books that i dislike!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2008

    A reviewer

    The book was ok, I was dissappointed in the end. I got bored whenever she wrote about the alaskan tundra. Loved the Pact a lot more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2007

    Quite the page turner!

    This is the first book of Jodi Picoult's I have read, and I would have to say that I did enjoy it, and I will continue to read the rest of her books. This one, though, made me extremely depressed. haha. It was one thing after another with this family, but I couldn't stop reading it. Overall, good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2007

    Not her best work

    I have read many of Jodi Picoult's novels and had high hopes for this book. Unfortunetly I had to force myself to get through it. There was too many different storylines and the ending was rushed kind of a let down. I was waiting for some big twist but it didn't happen. Its not bad but I skipped the comic pages,which were boring and I really hope she doesn't do another book like this. I think the date rape story could have been a very good storyline but there was too much going on.I have loved all of her other books, just not this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2007

    Love, hate and everything in between

    This book was ok. it was a good read but sad. It has a very twisted ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2007

    LOVED IT...at first

    Thought it was great until Trix ran away. It started to fizzle & become too predictable from then on. The peek into a 14 yr. olds life was very interesting, as was the look at native Alaskan life. I absolutely hated the Laura character. If you want to read a great book about your teen as a murder try Before and After by RoseEllen Brown

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2007

    It It Ain't Broke....

    Like all her other novels, this one explores the relationship between parents and their children. It follows her tried and true formula of telling a story from multiple viewpoints. And finally, she, once again, takes a seemingly black/white issue and blurs the line. This particular novel focuses on the date rape (perhaps) of a 14 year-old-girl and the impact it has on all the lives involved. The ending was a little unbelievable but her endings generally are. Lest you think her style is getting stale - think again - for this time she integrated a graphic novel. Oh... and you'll get a great synopsis of Dante's Inferno...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2006

    A good story that tries too hard

    There are way too many things going on in this novel¿first you have the illustrations, then the Dante parallels (a stretch), childhood flashbacks, a ¿we¿re all connected whether we know it or not¿ bit¿the list goes on. And that doesn¿t even include the actual plot! While an interesting novel, it could have benefited from some careful editing. The basic story is there¿it¿s all the other stuff that gets in the way. This is another example of how Picoult¿s writing is uneven from novel to novel¿sometimes it¿s great, like My Sister¿s Keeper, and other times it¿s downright clichéd, like The Pact.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2007

    Not Her Best

    I have read almost all of Jodi Picoult's novels and this one is by far my least favorite. I really got bored toward the end with all of the Alaskan outback imagery. I also felt that the integration of comic book scenes was bizarre and hard to actually read I mostly skimmed through these parts. The storyline was good at the start and then it really loses focus as the book progresses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2006

    Fizzled out a bit

    This is a well-written book with believable characters and a gripping plot. Though the interwoven comic book was an interesting idea, I had trouble deciphering exactly what was going on in many of the smaller panels-- perhaps if they were larger and the characters more distinct from each other? The ending was somewhat of a surprise, but ultimately, I felt unsatisfied after finishing it. The author showed that our dark sides are something to be recognized or ignored at our peril. But it also seemed that no one was completely owning up to their own deceptions or previous actions, including Trixie. If, as in the comic strip and story, anything one does to protect a loved one or oneself is understandable and sort of okay,(including repeated lying, assault, murder) what kind of message is that? I realize there's a final hidden message in the comics, but I ran out of steam after finding the first word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2006

    Loved the comics

    I loved the comics that were in the book--it showed a novelist, a female novelist at that, thinking outside the box. I'm torn with Jodi Picoult's books. On the one hand they're all rather depressing and brutal. On the other hand, I think she does a really good job at giving each character their own personality. This book wasn't as good as 'My Sister's Keeper' but I do like Picoult's style and I loved the mixture of comics and Dante's Inferno into the story. Honestly, though, I think Picoult must have some issues with her mother, because the mother characters are always rather selfish and unsympathetic in all of her books. Or at least all of her books that I've read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5