Customer Reviews for

The Tenth Circle

Average Rating 4
( 422 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(153)

4 Star

(121)

3 Star

(89)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

exciting thriller

Daniel Stone was the only white child who lived in an Alaskan Eskimo village where because of his race, the boys picked on him until he finally acted out by stealing, vandalizing property, fighting and a host of other petty crimes. When he was eighteen, he left Alaska ...
Daniel Stone was the only white child who lived in an Alaskan Eskimo village where because of his race, the boys picked on him until he finally acted out by stealing, vandalizing property, fighting and a host of other petty crimes. When he was eighteen, he left Alaska and reinvented himself and now is a mild mannered comic artist a stay at home dad to his teenage daughter Trixie, who he will protect at any cost. Trixie is in love with Jason who dumped her for another girl but she does everything in her power to get him back. At an unsupervised teen party, Trixie tries to make Jason but it backfires and she returns home telling her father he raped her. Jason is arrested and let out on bond but the lead detective on the case finds inconsistencies in Trixie¿s story. Just when they are about to drop the case, a date rape drug is found in Trixie¿s blood taken when she went to the hospital right after she claimed rape. Jason is now going to be tried as an adult but that is not the end of the story only the beginning. --- Jodi Picoult always writes an exciting thriller wrapped around a social issue and in THE TENTH CIRCLE the concern is date rape and how it affects the victim, the family and the suspect. The plot takes so many unexpected twists that readers have no idea where the storyline will finally take them. The audience will empathize with Trixie, a young adult who is facing issues her parents never dealt with and she struggles to deal with them on his own. This book is going to make the New York Times bestseller list. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Really?

Thanks to the person at the bottom for giving away what happens in the book!!!! Think before you write next time, people read reviews to see if its a book they want to buy! Ugh!!!

posted by 7807640 on November 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 121 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2008

    JODI PICOULT FAN

    I have read almost all of Jodi Picoults books-this is one of my favorites. I felt that the ending needed a little bit more substance, it ended rather quickly. I also watched the Lifetime movie and would NOT recommend watching the movie-the book is WAY better, which is typical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2008

    COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN

    I simply couldn't put this book down. It was as harrowing as it was endearing. I did enjoy reading it very much, except for the end. It wasn't up to the rest of the novel. Still, I'd recommend it for some thought-provoking reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2008

    Good Book

    the tenth circle really good it kept me interested through the whole book. but i wish the ending had more of a wow. but it was still a really good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2007

    Amazing

    I love this book! I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to read a book that they just cant keep their hands off of. This book is all about the struggles of teenagers so I could really understand this book. This book made me want to keep reading, because of the drama and the intensity. I cant wait to read another of her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2007

    Liked all but the end

    This was my first Jodi Picoult book and I liked it a lot. It kept my attention the entire time. I was never really sure what the ending would be. The only dissapointment for me was that the ending wasn't as detailed as I would have liked. Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2007

    Different

    This book was totally different from Picoult's other works--all of which I equally enjoyed. I understand she's written 13 novels! At any rate, set in Alaska and Maine this is an interesting coming of age story--not like any other you'll read. Family demons and dysfunction are a main part of this book, so be warned. Great writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2007

    Compelling

    I thought this was a very different book from her previous novels, and that's why I liked it. Don't get me wrong, I love all her other books, she's one of my favorite authors. The premise of it was disturbing to me, I could have easily given up, but I kept getting drawn back to it. That is why I love her writing style, she can get me to read and like a subject matter I would have altogether avoided. At first the comics were a bit strange to me, but I read them and found they made sense as the story went along. I will continue to look forward to new Jodi Picoult novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2007

    READ IT

    I made a resolution to read more this year, this was the first book I picked up and I'm glad I did. The story is a little hard to follow at times but it is well worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2006

    Great, Simple Great.

    I haven't read anything else from this author, but the storyline of this book is great.. keeps you in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2006

    Amazing Story

    Jodi Picoult is my all time favorite author. I have read many books by her, but this was by far one of my favorites. I am fourteen years old (Trixie's age) and although I can't realate to her story I think it is a story about finding the truth in yourself and that no one is ever who you really think they are. Definetley recommended. Not only is Trixie's stroy heartwrenching and tragic, but the story of Daniel and Laura is very unique. I loved how Picoult talked about the different levels of hell in the book Dante's Inferno. This is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2006

    READ MY OPINION

    As i am looking through these reviews I am seeing a two or a four and very few fives or ones. I agree with many of you that this book compared to all of Jodi's books it may not be so dramatic or plotty but I think it teaches you many good morals--especially the moral that you yourself must believe and be honest to the person you are on the inside. I suggest that when you read this book you read it from the character's perspective and find the hidden message behind the lines and comics--there's many valuable ones. If you read it for the scheme or plot you won't really get anything because this book settle over only one or three issues. Also I can't help but ask if you've figured the difference between truth and illusions because that seems to be a major theme for Jodi. Depending on if you have, this book might total up to mean something different for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2006

    Nothing is easier than self-deciet

    This book really teaches you about the integrity of yourself. The main characters in this book all struggle with living life as who they are. They see themselves as the before and after and as they go through their journeys they realize that two equals one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2006

    Twisted Love With a Touch of Mystery

    This book is about a fourteen year old girl Trixie Stone a freshman who fell in love with a boy that was a junior and his name was Jason. She had a mother, Laura, who had cheated on Trixie¿s father with another man. Her father Daniel was a comic book writer and was about to lose his job. That all changed when one night it made his life, Laura¿s, and Trixie¿s life change for the worse. Their life was more complicated because earlier that day Jason broke up with Trixie. Trixie was so mad that later that night she went to a party , got drunk, and she wanted to make Jason jealous, so her friend told her exactly how to do that. It didn¿t work until she started to kiss Jason¿s friend Zephyr and then he got irritated. He got mad at his friend and he told Trixie he was taking her home and when they got to the house Jason started kissing her and Trixie was getting excited but then it got to intimate that he end up raping her with the knife that she used to cut her arm because she thought it made her pain go away, for not being good enough for Jason. Then her dad came to check on her and he saw her bleeding so he rushed her to the hospital and they had to take all her clothes, ask her a lot of questions, and examine her body. Then as they kept an eye on Jason to make sure he didn¿t go near Trixie he end up running away. He died by someone pushing him off the bridge, but who killed him? Trixie ran away because she could not stand the pain, or everyone accusing her that she did it even though she didn¿t so she ran away. She ran away to the place where her dad lived when he was a boy it was an Eskimo village and she was cold and she had no way of warming up. Then this Eskimo who was in a sled dog race saw her and stopped to help her. Did her parents ever find her? What I liked about this book was all the drama and mystery in the book. I also liked it because it is actual things that could happen to you. What I didn¿t like about this book was how the book how the book would be really good one second and then it got really boring and hard to finish. Someone who would enjoy this book is someone who likes drama and mystery all in one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2006

    Super

    I read a couple of chapters from this book on line and decided to purchase. I am very glad I did. Excellent storyline. Sure surprised by the ending. Thought I knew who the suspect was...NOT. Well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 121 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7