Customer Reviews for

The Tenth Justice

Average Rating 4
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

SO GREAT!!

A friend recommended this book to me, because I work in the legal field, and I just absolutely LOVED IT!!

I think this book would even be great for people who aren't in the legal world loop, because Brad Meltzer does a really great job of working into the story the ...
A friend recommended this book to me, because I work in the legal field, and I just absolutely LOVED IT!!

I think this book would even be great for people who aren't in the legal world loop, because Brad Meltzer does a really great job of working into the story the breakdown of what certain legal terms mean without distracting from the plot. I was really impressed with that. I almost couldn't put the book down.

This book is definitely worth the buy.

posted by Rach03 on April 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Tenth Justice

In typical Meltzer form, The Tenth Justice was a fast weekend read. The dialogue was a little immature between the roommates but the last 200 pages made me cheer for them. It wasn't one of Brad's best books but I still enjoyed it.

posted by 2112305 on October 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    SO GREAT!!

    A friend recommended this book to me, because I work in the legal field, and I just absolutely LOVED IT!!

    I think this book would even be great for people who aren't in the legal world loop, because Brad Meltzer does a really great job of working into the story the breakdown of what certain legal terms mean without distracting from the plot. I was really impressed with that. I almost couldn't put the book down.

    This book is definitely worth the buy.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2003

    Escapism at its best

    While this novel isn't 'literature' in the traditional sense,it is escapist fiction at its best. If you're going on a long plane ride, have a leisurely weekend at the beach planned or just want to spend a rainy weekend in, this is the novel. Fast pacing, witty dialogue, suspense, paranoia, and some nifty insights into the workings of the Supreme Court make this a most entertaining read. Enjoy.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    A Legal Thriller for Young Adult

    The Tenth Justice is my first legal thriller, and I must confess that it was legally thrilling. Ok, bad joke, but I really did enjoy reading this book! The dialogue was completely realistic and humorous (if a bit mature) and the plot was uber mysterious. I stayed up late reading it! The twists and turns had me suspecting every one of the characters at some point. The characters themselves were so well developed it made reading a special treat. I didn't once think that Ben's, Nathan's, or any other character's reactions were fake, or questioned whether they would act a particular way. Even though it's a legal thriller, there wasn't a lot of confusing references to laws, and the cases were usually explained easily enough to understand. This coming from a girl who regularly confuses the democratic and republican parties, mind.

    My favorite character is Ober. He is the clown of the four close friends/roommates but he has a sensitive side. His quotes are the funniest, like when he was discussing the Batman Theory, which is basically his opinion that people's lives can be completely changed by one traumatic event. Think Catwoman, Joker, and other comic book characters. The lessons I learned from this book are 1) If you take an oath not to talk about something, don't talk about it! 2) Treat your friends with respect, you never know what favors you might need to call in. The negatives of this book are the language, sex and sex-related humor.

    I gave this book a 4 out of 5 stars, and I can think of at least one person to recommend this book to.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    The Tenth Justice

    In typical Meltzer form, The Tenth Justice was a fast weekend read. The dialogue was a little immature between the roommates but the last 200 pages made me cheer for them. It wasn't one of Brad's best books but I still enjoyed it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2002

    One Mistake can blow it... that is not to read this book

    This book is amazing. I was reading it all over the place. At school, at home, at a soccer game, even while babysitting. This is my first lawyer book and it was wonderful. I couldn't stop reading it. I'm now reading Dead Even and then John Grisham's the Firm. Brad Meltzer has made me want to read all sorts of lawyer books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    good read

    worth reading

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2009

    Excellent!

    This book was great! It was hard to put down. I couldn't wait to see what happened next. I definitely recommend this book. --K--

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    I am in love with Ben Addison.

    Most people believe that the Supreme Court justices are the only ones with power when it comes to making constitutional decisions ¿ but they are all wrong. Brad Meltzer¿s legal thriller The Tenth Justice provides an interesting prospective through which a reader can view the court: through the eyes of a Supreme Court clerk. Meltzer¿s protagonist, Ben Addison, is an ambitious Yale Law School graduate who decides to clerk at the United States Supreme Court for a year. Ben is under the impression that his job as a U.S. Supreme Court clerk will guarantee him a job at a prestigious law firm of his choice. However, Ben does not realize that he will accidentally involve himself in one of Washington¿s largest political controversies of all time. At the beginning of his job, Ben gets a phone call from an old Supreme Court clerk who says that he wanted to check in on the new clerks to make sure that everything was running smoothly. Ben slowly forms a friendship with the former clerk, Rick, and accidentally reveals the results of an upcoming Supreme Court decision to his new friend. The next day, Ben finds out that Rick was never a former Supreme Court clerk. Rick only used him to prematurely find out the Supreme Court decision so that he could make money off the results of a business monopoly case before the court released the results to the public. In an effort to find Rick, Ben involves his friends and coworkers into the scandal, putting all of their lives in jeopardy. Although The Tenth Justice revolves around the central premise law and politics, Meltzer¿s novel will surely interest those who do not have an affinity for law or politics. Meltzer¿s novel is about far more than the mistake of a Supreme Court clerk, it is about friendship, trust, and naivety ¿ concepts to which everyone can relate. Not only does Meltzer touch upon a broad range of themes, his story is also fast-paced and sprinkled with original, witty sarcasm which makes the read quick and enjoyable. I would recommend this book to anyone, even someone who is not interested in law or politics, because I think it is extremely entertaining and has a powerful, useful message about trust to which everyone can relate.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2008

    couldn't put it down

    My sister passed this gem of a book to me at the end of last semester. She thought I needed to read something other than a text book over break. I told her I didn't have time, but then I couldn't put it down once curriousity made me read the first page! The pages indeed turn themselves. I read straight through in one day and laughed most of the way. The main character is so real to life and beleiveable that you can't help but emerse yourself in his story. Great read for any pre-law or law student or recent law grad as well as anyone who just enjoys a lighthearted mystery.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2006

    the pages turn themselves

    i became a brad meltzer fan because of his work with DC comics, and I enjoyed those so much I decided to give his novels a try as well. the 10th justice is a great read and like books like the da vinci code the pages litterally seem to turn themelves in this fast paced thriller. the friendships portrayed in the book seem like your own old college/high school friends and with each double cross you'll find yourself questioning your own definition of friendship. a legal thriller without all of the drab courtroom stuff. great read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2006

    Overall....very good.

    This is the third Meltzer book I've read and I enjoyed it a great deal. The characters did some really stupid things that everyone except them could see was dumb (i.e., the thing with the photographs) but other than that, I enjoyed the storyline, the characters, and the inside look at the Supreme Court, (assuming it was accurate.) I could identify with the interaction among the 4 roommates/friends and really liked the dialogue in those scenes. I will definitely look for more from Mr. Meltzer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2002

    Excellent

    This book got me reading again

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2001

    The BEST book!!

    This is a wonderful book and I recommend it highly. If you like Grisham and Baldacci you will loveeeeee this book. So many twists it left me dizzy. If you want a good, fast paced book this is it!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2012

    ...with liberty and corruption for all -- actually 3.5stars I h

    ...with liberty and corruption for all -- actually 3.5stars

    I have a few Brad Meltzer books but this is the first one I’ve actually read and I can only say I am moving at least one more up on my TBR pile as I write this review.

    This multi-layered thriller set in the US Capitol gives us insight to America’s legal decisions. Naïvete, ambition and a lapse in judgment is a dangerous combination as Ben Addison proves with his second judicial clerk assignment. I would have liked the story to be a little tighter in the beginning. While easy to get into I wasn’t captivated by the world building in the very beginning. Also since the entire situation is because of Ben’s actions, I had a hard time being sympathetic to his character. Then when all of his friends got involved, I wouldn’t feel sympathetic to them either – because once again anything bad would be because of what they each did not a situation that that fell into.

    All of that being said I really did like the premise and the elements of the story. There was a perfect balance of supposition mixed generally regarded fact to involve me as a reader and pull me into the heart of the story. I am also a fan of the writing style and the many twists in the mystery itself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Absolutly Amazing

    I read this book this summer and thought it was absolutly amazing. Brad Meltzer does an amazing job with keeping you on the edge of your seats. No doubt i wil be reading more of his books and will be adding this to my Nook library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2006

    Better then Grisham

    What a great first novel. This is the only one i have read by this author, and it sat on my bookshelf for at least two years. Why didn't anyone ever tell me how good it was. I went to half price books and bought two more books by him. Cannot wait. Very exciting, not as good as DaVinci Code, but a notch below as far as the pace

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2004

    Great Book!!!!!!!

    This was a really good read. The characters are engaging and you really feel for them. The dialoge is fantastic, and there are a bunch of twists. Nothing really thought provoking. Just alot of fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was the third book that I've read by Mr. Meltzer in the las

    This was the third book that I've read by Mr. Meltzer in the last few weeks. I have to say that if you're looking for a good mystery with plot twists turns and the unexpected around every choice made this is the book for you to read. It's not often that a book brings me to tears so when that does happens I give that author Five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    Perfect summer read

    Although I kept thinking I had read this before it was a good summer book. The characters were likeable and I wanted positive things to happen to them. The plot kept you guessing til the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    quick-moving first novel

    A good quick-moving first novel by a young Meltzer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4