Customer Reviews for

The Tenth Justice

Average Rating 4
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

SO GREAT!!

A friend recommended this book to me, because I work in the legal field, and I just absolutely LOVED IT!!

I think this book would even be great for people who aren't in the legal world loop, because Brad Meltzer does a really great job of working into the story the ...
A friend recommended this book to me, because I work in the legal field, and I just absolutely LOVED IT!!

I think this book would even be great for people who aren't in the legal world loop, because Brad Meltzer does a really great job of working into the story the breakdown of what certain legal terms mean without distracting from the plot. I was really impressed with that. I almost couldn't put the book down.

This book is definitely worth the buy.

posted by Rach03 on April 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Tenth Justice

In typical Meltzer form, The Tenth Justice was a fast weekend read. The dialogue was a little immature between the roommates but the last 200 pages made me cheer for them. It wasn't one of Brad's best books but I still enjoyed it.

posted by 2112305 on October 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    The Tenth Justice

    In typical Meltzer form, The Tenth Justice was a fast weekend read. The dialogue was a little immature between the roommates but the last 200 pages made me cheer for them. It wasn't one of Brad's best books but I still enjoyed it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2012

    ...with liberty and corruption for all -- actually 3.5stars I h

    ...with liberty and corruption for all -- actually 3.5stars

    I have a few Brad Meltzer books but this is the first one I’ve actually read and I can only say I am moving at least one more up on my TBR pile as I write this review.

    This multi-layered thriller set in the US Capitol gives us insight to America’s legal decisions. Naïvete, ambition and a lapse in judgment is a dangerous combination as Ben Addison proves with his second judicial clerk assignment. I would have liked the story to be a little tighter in the beginning. While easy to get into I wasn’t captivated by the world building in the very beginning. Also since the entire situation is because of Ben’s actions, I had a hard time being sympathetic to his character. Then when all of his friends got involved, I wouldn’t feel sympathetic to them either – because once again anything bad would be because of what they each did not a situation that that fell into.

    All of that being said I really did like the premise and the elements of the story. There was a perfect balance of supposition mixed generally regarded fact to involve me as a reader and pull me into the heart of the story. I am also a fan of the writing style and the many twists in the mystery itself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2015

    Disappointing

    Difficult to finish, there was a lot of dialog. From the description I was expecting a real page turner, that is not what this book turned out to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    quick-moving first novel

    A good quick-moving first novel by a young Meltzer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    It's OK

    It's not a book that you don't want to put down. At some points in the book i just wanted to put the book down and never pick it up again. However i would just keep reading and hope that it would pick up speed. Then everyonce in a while it would have a very dramatic twist that regrabed my attention for a few more chapters. then it would do the same thing again. Drag on and on and on then have a twist.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Aveage at Best

    This novel was not a Brad Meltzer best. Although the plot was interesting and somewhat believable, the characters were very immature. If I heard Ben apologize once, I heard Ben apologize a thousand times "I'm sorry, I'm soooo sorry!!!" It was as though this was the author's main filler line throughout the book. Much of the dialogue between best friends was so mundane with irrelevant banter that you just wished they would shut up and return to the real world. For best friends to take the abuse of Ben and remain best friends was unbelievable at best. Not one of Brad's best writes!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2001

    An easy, fun read, but.........

    I like books about the Supreme Court which is why I picked this up. The insights were pretty good and the story was plausible, but the characters were sophomoric to the point of not being believable. At times the behavior of the main character and his roommates was downright annoying. Once I got past that, the book was not bad. I admit it had me guessing until the end....and I was still wrong. This isn't Grisham, Baldacci, Lescroart, or Turow, but it was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2000

    A Competent Thriller with a Good Hook

    It's true that you'll tear right through this book. If you've got an afternoon, that just might be enough time. It sets up a really good dilemma for its hero, despite his obvious slipup. Some pat handling of legal issues and the relationship between friends is made up for with genuine suspense. The ending is also a bit too tidy. More power to this young author, though, who I hear received law school credit for writing it (and who, I wouldn't be surprised, probably wrote it in a frenzy over a week, like all other students do their work).

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2