Customer Reviews for

Tenth of December

Average Rating 3.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

This book is not written for me.

None of these short stories appealed to me; none of the charecters are likeable and the details of their lives are mostly depressing. Since this reviewer is 81 years old and lives in the Northeast, he suggests you consult other reviews.

posted by RalfK on January 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

I've never felt more compelled to write a book review. I was so

I've never felt more compelled to write a book review. I was so disappointed with this book...the stories are strange, they don't have a good flow, and I found myself wanting to skip pages, hoping it would get better along the way. No such luck. I have always found i...
I've never felt more compelled to write a book review. I was so disappointed with this book...the stories are strange, they don't have a good flow, and I found myself wanting to skip pages, hoping it would get better along the way. No such luck. I have always found it easy to immerse myself in a book, but this took some real effort, and I still couldn't manage to stay interested in the weird, twisted stories with unsatisfying endings. What a waste of time and money.

posted by 17273176 on January 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Worgh Lives up to the hyoe Livds up ro Lives up to the hype

    Highly recommend.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Underwhelming

    After all the hype this book got, I was expecting something great. Unfortunately it was only mediocre. A couple of the stories were good, but I ended up skimming through the rest. At least I got it cheap.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Beautiful

    I have never written a review for a book before but felt compelled to do so for this book. Reading this book was challenging and ending up being a very rewarding experience. I would highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Fun writing style

    The story concepts were great and i loved the writing style. The themes seemed to all be very similar though. I understood the reason more clearly after reading the interview with the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Eye Opening

    Reading this book made me take a deep look inside myself, and the world around me. Hope it will continue to help me be a better person

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Anonymous

    I read all of the "rave"reviews, so being an avid reader I had to buy it. A complete waste of my money. The writing style is horribly disjointed which made the stories extremely hard to read. I am not sure if I will be able to finish this (and I can read almost anything).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2014

    Ugh, I can barely get through this book.  Save your money.

    Ugh, I can barely get through this book.  Save your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Sucks

    Sucks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    RATING ZERO FOR TENTH OF DECEMBER

    10th of December stinks. It is some kind of a stream of consciousness confusion. I couldn't follow what the author was trying to say. I only bought the book because 10th of December is my birthday. Waste of money, and now I can,t get rid of it. If it was paper, I could at least throw it against the wall. MIKE LAWLESS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Too intense!

    VERY well written, imaginative, but subjects too twisted and bizarre for my tastes. Could not bring myself to finish after a couple of stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    MY BIRTHDAY

    On the tenth of december

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    APP DEN

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

     

     



    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Dece

    Nm. Lol need more people.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    凗 关 &alpha &omega

    Im rigamortis alter ego. Wassup.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Could have been so much more

    I'm sad I bought this. As I read each story I was struck each time by how much better each piece could have been.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Dystopian in the traditin of Vonnegut and Philip K. Dick; vernac

    Dystopian in the traditin of Vonnegut and Philip K. Dick; vernacularly satirical in the tradition of Twain; existential in the tradition of Satre - and more entertaining than any of them. I am engaging in no hyperbole when I say this is one of the best books I have EVER read. It's comforting to know there is an author writing great short stories with the keen observation, concise prose and rapier wit that that feels human nobility and suffering deeply enough to express an unflinchingly honest compassion in every story. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Fantastic!

    You know a book is amazing when you watch your page numbers because you're hoping there's still lots left to read, not because you hope you're getting close to done. I am tired of reading mediocre books that are predictable and take up time and money that I end up wishing I never spent. I am shocked at the negative reviews. Engrossing, imaginative, funny, smart, touching and unpredictable. Fantastic read. Don't let the negative comments sway you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Sucked

    Very poory written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    I found it boring

    I started to read this book, but it seemed so boring,so I put it aside and thought I might come back to it at some other time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5