Customer Reviews for

Tenth of December

Average Rating 3.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

This book is not written for me.

None of these short stories appealed to me; none of the charecters are likeable and the details of their lives are mostly depressing. Since this reviewer is 81 years old and lives in the Northeast, he suggests you consult other reviews.

posted by RalfK on January 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

I've never felt more compelled to write a book review. I was so

I've never felt more compelled to write a book review. I was so disappointed with this book...the stories are strange, they don't have a good flow, and I found myself wanting to skip pages, hoping it would get better along the way. No such luck. I have always found i...
I've never felt more compelled to write a book review. I was so disappointed with this book...the stories are strange, they don't have a good flow, and I found myself wanting to skip pages, hoping it would get better along the way. No such luck. I have always found it easy to immerse myself in a book, but this took some real effort, and I still couldn't manage to stay interested in the weird, twisted stories with unsatisfying endings. What a waste of time and money.

posted by 17273176 on January 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    I've never felt more compelled to write a book review. I was so

    I've never felt more compelled to write a book review. I was so disappointed with this book...the stories are strange, they don't have a good flow, and I found myself wanting to skip pages, hoping it would get better along the way. No such luck. I have always found it easy to immerse myself in a book, but this took some real effort, and I still couldn't manage to stay interested in the weird, twisted stories with unsatisfying endings. What a waste of time and money.

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Couldnt even get through the sample!!! :(

    Thank goodness that was free. It felt like I was back in college, stoned, and despretely trying to sqeeze some sense out of the words. Anybody else get that vibe from this one?

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    Overrated.....

    This collection of short stories was a disappointment to me. I expected something top-notch, given all the ultra-enthusiastic reviews.
    As a result, I bought the book sight-unseen. I've not been able to complete one story. The characters do not engage me, and the flat,detached style is a turn-off. Be sure you sample before buying.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Thumbs down

    Get the free sample before you buy. I wish i had. What a waste of money! It is hard for me to understand how any of the stories in this collection made it to print.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Prose is tripey.

    You can almost smell the alcoholic breath coming off the squeezed, pinched off words and paragraphs this author employs in his desparate attempt to write The Great American novel. Not worth it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Very disappointing

    The person who likened George Saunders to a modern day Mark Twain, did Mark Twain a disservice. Although a couple of the stories had an interesting twist, the language and situations were so distasteful, that they were not worth the time spend reading them. I tried to give this a zero star rating, but had to give at least one in order to submit the review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Stay Away!

    This is a classic example of all that is wrong with fiction today. The stories are all grammatically well-constructed and sometimes organizationally interesting. But they are all absolutely devoid of content. They appear to be writing exercises that Saunders has constructed solely for his own amusement and understanding. The fact that this book has gotten good reviews from "major" critics is utterly depressing. Most of the stories would earn a D- in a high school creative writing class. Don't waste your money on this tripe.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Disappointing

    The only positive.......i started with free sample and read first story. Made NO sense. Pleased to see I'm not alone in that thought. Highly discourage reading this one :(

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Anonymous

    I read all of the "rave"reviews, so being an avid reader I had to buy it. A complete waste of my money. The writing style is horribly disjointed which made the stories extremely hard to read. I am not sure if I will be able to finish this (and I can read almost anything).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2014

    Ugh, I can barely get through this book.  Save your money.

    Ugh, I can barely get through this book.  Save your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Sucks

    Sucks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    RATING ZERO FOR TENTH OF DECEMBER

    10th of December stinks. It is some kind of a stream of consciousness confusion. I couldn't follow what the author was trying to say. I only bought the book because 10th of December is my birthday. Waste of money, and now I can,t get rid of it. If it was paper, I could at least throw it against the wall. MIKE LAWLESS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Too intense!

    VERY well written, imaginative, but subjects too twisted and bizarre for my tastes. Could not bring myself to finish after a couple of stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Sucked

    Very poory written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    I found it boring

    I started to read this book, but it seemed so boring,so I put it aside and thought I might come back to it at some other time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Very strange book. I felt lost reading these stories, and the f

    Very strange book. I felt lost reading these stories, and the few that I somewhat liked had endings that left you hanging. Kept thinking I must've skipped a few pages while reading these stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2013

    I picked this book up because I¿d read four or five glowing revi

    I picked this book up because I’d read four or five glowing reviews, one of which saying it was the ‘best book you’ll read this year.’

    It was, in fact, the WORST book I’ve read in a long, long while.

    The reviews always seemed to use the word “hilarious,” which just stumped me. What part was hilarious? The poor woman who murders animals because she thinks her husband probably wants her to? The retarded child they keep chained in their backyard? The Iraq vet who’s angry and confused?

    Yeah, it was a hilarious read (please note, SARCASM).

    It came off like that English teacher everyone had that always talked about writing, but cannot do it himself (or self-published and ended up with 400 copies of his poetry chapbook in his trunk).

    Filled with unlikable characters, boring plots, and muddled storytelling, I hated it. This was the first book in a long time that I read in one day; not because I couldn’t put it down, but because I wanted to just get through it and put it behind me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Not good

    Bought this based on seeiing the author on "This week with George Stepenopols" and based on it being a "New York Times best seller". It is poorly written with broken storylines. I do not recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    I did not enjoy this book. It is a collection of short stories t

    I did not enjoy this book. It is a collection of short stories that (I presume) are supposed to be funny, but the ones I didn't find depressing I spent the entire story saying "No don't do that! This character is a complete idiot."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    I dpersonally do not recommend this book

    Was definitely not a favorite of mine. I would not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2