Customer Reviews for

Tenth of December

Average Rating 3.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

This book is not written for me.

None of these short stories appealed to me; none of the charecters are likeable and the details of their lives are mostly depressing. Since this reviewer is 81 years old and lives in the Northeast, he suggests you consult other reviews.

posted by RalfK on January 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

I've never felt more compelled to write a book review. I was so

I've never felt more compelled to write a book review. I was so disappointed with this book...the stories are strange, they don't have a good flow, and I found myself wanting to skip pages, hoping it would get better along the way. No such luck. I have always found i...
I've never felt more compelled to write a book review. I was so disappointed with this book...the stories are strange, they don't have a good flow, and I found myself wanting to skip pages, hoping it would get better along the way. No such luck. I have always found it easy to immerse myself in a book, but this took some real effort, and I still couldn't manage to stay interested in the weird, twisted stories with unsatisfying endings. What a waste of time and money.

posted by 17273176 on January 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    This book is not written for me.

    None of these short stories appealed to me; none of the charecters are likeable and the details of their lives are mostly depressing. Since this reviewer is 81 years old and lives in the Northeast, he suggests you consult other reviews.

    13 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    Swallowed it whole, but a high point for me was Escape from Spid

    Swallowed it whole, but a high point for me was Escape from Spiderhead--so tightly written and hauntingly bleak it stuck with me for almost a day.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Awesome writer!

    Just heard a review of this book on NPR. Read sample and had to "BUY NOW." Absolutely genious writing!








    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    Yes.... these stories are strange,wierd....unreliable...you lose

    Yes.... these stories are strange,wierd....unreliable...you lose your footing ..you don't relate to these bizarre characters . You need a breath of fresh air after reading several of the stories.
    Exasperated, you put the book down and go to sleep.The next day you find yourself thinkiing about these sad, strange people and bam!!
    It hits you....you feel a painful knot in your chest, its compassion and worse its recognition.
    That's why he's a genius.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Just great characters. Not your neighbors but they just could be

    If you are an avid NewYorker reader you've read a lot of these stories in shorter form. I recognized them as I started the new story and then focused on the way Mr Saunders expanded the scope. Almost all of the time it was for the better. The title story seemed to me to be more graphic in it's shorter form in the magazine although I probably brought too much into it from my vivid memory of this exquisite tale.

    Definitely a wonderful collection.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It is quite something to come across a writer of versatility and

    It is quite something to come across a writer of versatility and skill who doesn’t figure (now that they have your ear—you bought the book, didn’t you?) they will add more than they need just because they can. This is a slim volume of stories that all of us should have--to read, to cherish, and to share. Saunders has a distinct voice that reveals us as we are now. We may say that his stories do not have the language of the old masters, but they have the language we use, with more kindness, generosity of spirit, and humor mixed in than most of us can rustle up on an ordinary day.

    In the “Afterword” to Although Of Course You End up Becoming Yourself, an extended interview with David Foster Wallace by David Lipsky writing for Rolling Stone magazine, Lipsky says of Wallace’s style that he wrote “the stuff you semi-thought, the background action you blinked through at supermarkets and commutes.” You heard it, you know it, but it doesn’t register enough for you to articulate and consider. Wallace was able to do that, and Saunders does it also. He reaches in and gets that real thing that you discarded, shines it, and shows you how it defines us.

    If I could ask him, I would ask Saunders how he chose which stories to include in this volume. He spans the range of us, starting out in the mind of suburban teenagers looking at each other with longing or appraisal ("Victory Lap"), and ends with a gentleman of great age descending the staircase of dementia to his grave ("Tenth of December"). In between we catch glimpses of ourselves as returning soldiers filled with anger and hope ("Home"), twenty-somethings undergoing moral and medical testing ("Escape from Spiderhead"), and middle-aged parents aching to give their children more than they themselves had growing up ("The Semplica Girl Diaries").

    Saunders is funny, kind, precise with his sword-thrusts which reach the heart but do not kill. I do not think we need ask “where do you get your inspiration?” since echoes of Mao Zedong ring through "Exhortation", and we also know the zany neighbor in "Sticks", or can imagine the source of the internal dialogue in "My Chivalric Fiasco". These people are us, and he treats us gently and allows us to laugh, with regret sometimes, with recognition at other times. But he doesn’t laugh at us and we don’t laugh with cynicism. We are grateful to Saunders because, despite his pointing out our failings and our shortcomings, we can sense he still likes us, and even celebrates our efforts in trying to make sense of, and make our way in, this crazy world.

    I have too many favorite bits to single one out. But perhaps after all, my favorite bit is the fact that he doesn’t use too many words. It is honed and toned and polished and clear and gets to the heart of the matter. It isn’t a long book, so you can easily find your own favorite bit. It’s all good. Go out and buy it. This is one you will want to reread: you will read it when you are happy, and you will read it when you are sad, you will read to see how he did that.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    I¿m not a whole-hearted fan of Youssarian, Vonnegut, Defoe or so

    I’m not a whole-hearted fan of Youssarian, Vonnegut, Defoe or some other great observers of the human condition and circumstance, but George Saunders‘ writing offers me something a little different.  Something I require in an author’s voice, just to finish the book.  The sound of hope.  If you are in need of a realistic adult voice: its observations on our lives and what we are putting forward for posterity, this is the book for you.  Read it twice!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    Good Book to read

    Good Book to read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Excellent

    One of today's great writers.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Worgh Lives up to the hyoe Livds up ro Lives up to the hype

    Highly recommend.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Beautiful

    I have never written a review for a book before but felt compelled to do so for this book. Reading this book was challenging and ending up being a very rewarding experience. I would highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    MY BIRTHDAY

    On the tenth of december

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    APP DEN

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

     

     



    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    凗 关 &alpha &omega

    Im rigamortis alter ego. Wassup.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Dystopian in the traditin of Vonnegut and Philip K. Dick; vernac

    Dystopian in the traditin of Vonnegut and Philip K. Dick; vernacularly satirical in the tradition of Twain; existential in the tradition of Satre - and more entertaining than any of them. I am engaging in no hyperbole when I say this is one of the best books I have EVER read. It's comforting to know there is an author writing great short stories with the keen observation, concise prose and rapier wit that that feels human nobility and suffering deeply enough to express an unflinchingly honest compassion in every story. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Fantastic!

    You know a book is amazing when you watch your page numbers because you're hoping there's still lots left to read, not because you hope you're getting close to done. I am tired of reading mediocre books that are predictable and take up time and money that I end up wishing I never spent. I am shocked at the negative reviews. Engrossing, imaginative, funny, smart, touching and unpredictable. Fantastic read. Don't let the negative comments sway you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Not For Everyone Not For Everyone

    Saunders is a short story artist. Imaginative story lines with deeply felt characterization. Each story i found quite unique...would almost believe each had a different author if not for a telltale desire on Saunders part to find something at the end of each story for us to hang some hope on. If you like your reading simple and linear you may not like this...but, try it anyway...change is good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Brilliant collection of short stories. If you are looking for co

    Brilliant collection of short stories. If you are looking for conventional writing, skip it; unless you are willing to expand your horizons a bit.  Saunders writes stories filled with stunning situations and characters; stories where the humor and other forms of emotional upheaval are well earned. Saunders also shows a Twain-like mastery of "American English"; he trusts his form of the language completely  which leads to amazing results.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Recomend, a very enjoyable read

    Short stories that offer many different story lines. Something for everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2