Customer Reviews for

Terminal

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Soemthing A Bit Different For Keene

    "Terminal" is not your typical Brian Keene novel. It is however, typical Brian Keene, simply brilliant! "Terminal" is the type of story that keeps morphing into something different. From the outset the set up grabs you and demands that you turn the page. It's been awhile since I've been forced to turn the pages like this.

    The story is simple. The prose is real and raw. The words clearly flow from the proverbial pen of Keene. The story keeps twisting. Evertime you think you know where it's going it turns. Every turn keeps pulling you along. It's not epic in scope but there is still time to feel a bond with all the characters.

    What most sets "Terminal" apart from Keene's other work is that it much more rooted in reality then anything else. The supernatural/horror element is not over-the-top splattter punk but something more akin to a Stephen King novel. It could be suggested this story pays homage to Keene's influence from King. Despite it's departure from Keene's usual style it still is signature Keene.

    If you've read Keene before this book is a nice departure that still enjoyable. If you've never been exposed to Keene before this book would be an exellent place to start. Just read it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    Be prepared!

    Well I'm not much of a reader, but this is the 4th Brian Keene book I've read and I really enjoyed it, as I did his other's. There came a point in this book where I was actually feeling some physical effects due to the anxiety the book was creating, it almost made me want to put the book down and rest a minute, but I couldn't!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    A little bit different for keene

    Who is mostly known for his zombie trilogy but still good. Basicaly a bank heist gone wrong with touches of the supernatural thrown in for extra seasoning this book will keep your attention from beginning to end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Disappointing ending

    Good but depressing read with even worse ending. Would only read again if free. Depressing not scary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2008

    Life is filled with the unexpected....

    You have grown up hating the town you live in and want to get out as soon possible. Yet as with a lot of people¿s dreams, some just don't come true. Life happens or so it does for Tommy O¿Brien, Keene¿s main character. O¿Brien is living the life most folks fall into, marriage, children and the usual 40 hour grind. As if life isn¿t hard on it¿s on merit, O¿Brien is faced with several life changing events one so devastating it leaves him literally on the edge of death. He¿s not only lost his job at the factory but he¿s found out he has terminal cancer. He¿s scared and he¿s alone in his disease because the last thing he wanted was his wife to worry. What was he going to do? Overwhelmed by the events that happen in his life O¿Brien turns to his friends after all he can¿t keep it bottled up inside him because he knows if he does his wife and their son will be left with absolutely nothing. Sitting in the car with his best friends, John and Sherm, they devise a plan that hopefully will help him care for his family in his departure from this earth. The plan has to be carried out quickly though, because time is something O¿Brien doesn't have the luxury of. Brian Keene's ¿Terminal¿, is truly a page turner. I really enjoyed this book. Do you want to know what happens to O¿Brien and his family? How are John and Sherm going to help their buddy in his time of need? I seriously suggest you read the book and find out! You will not be disappointed Keene's spun an unforeseen heartwarming tale woven with love, friendship and a touch of the super natural. 4 Stars - Reviewed by Michael S. Timlin, Authors on the Rise Book Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2006

    Chilling Choices

    Terminal is all about choices, and how we deal with what life hands us. Of course, no Brian Keene novel is ever simple or two-dimensional. As always, his characterization, plot pace, and imagery are extraordinary. Centered on a 25 year old who finds out he has around one month to live since he has terminal cancer. He is going to leave a wife and child behind in desperate poverty, which he finds unconscionable. The choices he makes thereafter lead him and every one around him down a blood soaked horrific slide into hell. Add into that a good dose of comic book references (one of the things I like best about Keene), and icon imagery, and you have the stage for a truly magnificent novel. Keene¿s strong suit is his characters. They come alive in your mind, more so than many modern authors are capable of rendering. Keene has the uncanny talent of offering you enough detail of a character¿s background without over indulging in the exercise. You find yourself caring about everyone, which makes the end of the book that much more gripping. Really, the only downside I find in this novel and Keene¿s other work is it¿s nearly impossible to put down. So plan ahead and start it on a weekend when you won¿t have to walk away from this truly magnificent work of suspense fiction. Highest Recommendations!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2005

    A Classic Alongside Ketchum's THE GIRL NEXT DOOR

    In the 90's, a then-young novelist named Jack Ketchum released a book called The Girl Next Door. It was a disturbing, ground-breaking, sleeper hit that has impacted the genre ever since. Brian Keene's Terminal is the same type of book. Perhaps a Generation X answer to The Girl Next Door? It has the same emotional impact, and will have an effect on the genre for years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2005

    One word. Unbelieveable.

    In all the books I have read, none has made me laugh out loud and also bring tears to my eyes. I'm not much of a softy either. I found myself sweating in suspense and anticipation as the book continued. I cant fully describe in words how great this book is. Keene makes you feel so deep for the main character and his situation its almost surreal. Five stars isn't enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2005

    A gripping and powerful story

    I picked Terminal up because I loved The Rising, and City of the Dead. I love Brian's writing style. It is fast, and to the point. He doesn't drag scenes out. He makes you understand whats happening without boring you. Terminal was no exception. It moved fast, and never bogged down. I found myself tearing through it. The story was completely original, and the characters were well developed. Every character in this story came alive to me. I didn't find one that was wooden. Tommy and Benjy had to be my personal favorites. I fell in love with them. They seemed so real, and honest. Terminal will stay with me for a long time. It was haunting and sincere. You will find yourself wondering what you would do if you were put Tommy's shoes. I highly recommend Terminal. It is one of the best stories I have read in a long time. I can promise you that if you pick it up you will love it. I wish I could give it Ten Stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2005

    AWSOME

    Quite a turn from previous Keene books, but awesome just the same. A true page turner I was through it in two days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    keen thriller

    Like many living in Hanover, an industrial ghost town, ailing Tommy O¿Brien has no health insurance so he delays visiting the doctor until his wife Michelle insists that he goes following two weeks of intense headaches and a major weight loss. The doctor informs Tommy that he suffers grade four-cancer so serious and aggressive that there is no treatment and he will die in one to three months. Stunned and worried about the welfare of his wife and their son T.J. after he goes, Tommy and his two best friends Sherm and John discuss robbing a bank while drinking beer at Murphy¿s Place. --- The bank robbery goes wrong, but the three thieves have hostages. One oft he prisoners, the boy Benjy, apparently has mystical healing powers and miraculously Tommy is cured and his crony shot in the stomach recovers immediately. However, Tommy and his pals will soon learn the extent of Benjy¿s healing even as they are arrested.--- TERMINAL is an exciting suspense thriller starring a ¿condemned¿ man whose philosophy is ¿life¿s a bit*h and then you die¿. The story line is action-packed, but contains an intriguing paranormal twist that takes a fabulous final Twilight Zone spin. Readers will agree that money can buy you health as those without put off until it is too late. This is a keen tale that the audience will appreciate.--- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2005

    TERMINAL is the most honest thriller to date.

    TERMINAL by Brian Keene is an intense ride that defies expectations. From the guy who wrote 2 zombie novels, this is the best thing Keene has written to date..period. Just a heart-breaking story of one man's desire to leave something...anything for his family after being diagnosed with terminal cancer. Brilliant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2