Customer Reviews for

Terminal Freeze

Average Rating 4
( 149 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

If You Like The Movie The Thing, You Are Going to LOVE This Book!!

This is a tantalizing, thrilling, scary story you would not want to read alone in the dark. It reminds me of two movies, The Thing From Another World made in 1951 and the remake of the movie by John Carpenter called The Thing made in 1982. The best part is that the bo...
This is a tantalizing, thrilling, scary story you would not want to read alone in the dark. It reminds me of two movies, The Thing From Another World made in 1951 and the remake of the movie by John Carpenter called The Thing made in 1982. The best part is that the book's plot is much better than either of these movies. It is just not a typical monster plot that happens to be set in the Arctic, but it is an exciting suspense thriller, that has a government conspiracy twist, and it is creepy and scary. The setting makes the mood of the story even more deadly. It takes place in a government owned facility that has little lighting, plenty of old dark rooms tht have not been used in years, and it located in deep in the Arctic region. The characters are scientists who accidently find something in a cave while researching the Arctic region. Naturally they are warned by the local Native Americans to leave it alone. Will they do that? No, there wouldn't be a great story is they did.

This book has good characters you care about and some you just don't like at all. Don't worry though because the jerky characters get their just desserts. The atmosphere is creey, dark, and cold. Mr. Child sets the story like a roller coaster ride. He does not weigh down the story with a lot of description. Once the creature is found, the story just surges to the end. It is what I describe as a "guilty pleasure" book. I read it quickly, and it was just pure fun!!!! There is a twist at the end that makes the book even more clever. The twist will give you "food for thought" about the ending. I don't to tell you to much about the plot as it would spoil it for you.

It is my favorite of Lincoln Child's books. Read his other books as they are good too. If you love fast moving stories that are scary, chilling, thrilling, and have little twists and turns in them, this book you will love.

posted by Aki on March 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Terminal Bore

Flat characters, contrived plot, unexplained storylines. Had to force myself to finish. Save your time and money - not worth either!

posted by 1033876 on February 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 149 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    If You Like The Movie The Thing, You Are Going to LOVE This Book!!

    This is a tantalizing, thrilling, scary story you would not want to read alone in the dark. It reminds me of two movies, The Thing From Another World made in 1951 and the remake of the movie by John Carpenter called The Thing made in 1982. The best part is that the book's plot is much better than either of these movies. It is just not a typical monster plot that happens to be set in the Arctic, but it is an exciting suspense thriller, that has a government conspiracy twist, and it is creepy and scary. The setting makes the mood of the story even more deadly. It takes place in a government owned facility that has little lighting, plenty of old dark rooms tht have not been used in years, and it located in deep in the Arctic region. The characters are scientists who accidently find something in a cave while researching the Arctic region. Naturally they are warned by the local Native Americans to leave it alone. Will they do that? No, there wouldn't be a great story is they did.

    This book has good characters you care about and some you just don't like at all. Don't worry though because the jerky characters get their just desserts. The atmosphere is creey, dark, and cold. Mr. Child sets the story like a roller coaster ride. He does not weigh down the story with a lot of description. Once the creature is found, the story just surges to the end. It is what I describe as a "guilty pleasure" book. I read it quickly, and it was just pure fun!!!! There is a twist at the end that makes the book even more clever. The twist will give you "food for thought" about the ending. I don't to tell you to much about the plot as it would spoil it for you.

    It is my favorite of Lincoln Child's books. Read his other books as they are good too. If you love fast moving stories that are scary, chilling, thrilling, and have little twists and turns in them, this book you will love.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2009

    Another example of a skilled literary effort that rises above the ordinary. Child's writing style shines through again in a riveting, well conceived thriller!!!

    I read Terminal Freeze expecting Child's usual exciting storytelling that he has become so well known for and I was not disappointed. I was transported to the especially alien enviroment of the far North and found the vivid details very captivating. The story held my attention to the very end and my only regret is that I have finished a great read and will have to wait for Child's next story to be released.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    Terminal snooze is more like it...

    CAUTION: SPOILER ALERT!
    I guess, based on the other reader's reviews, that my take on this effort by Child is not universal. The premise is great! The setting is perfect, reminiscent of The Thing but I found the story itself to be absolutely ludicrous. The discovery of the creature is an excellent lead-in for scary happenings but the whole idea of the site being taken over by that coincidentally insane? film maker and network exec to be preposterous. And then, the creature itself is not very well developed and the demise of the camp inhabitants is dull and predictable. And the local native guy served in the US Military there, at the camp? Uh huh... The lab experiments at the camp in the years gone by were unrelated to the appearance of the creatures? And, oh by the way, in the last few sentences Child introduces the idea that the creatures were from space, left here many years ago...

    Sorry but Child is much better than this... this was one of the lamest executions on a great concept that I've read...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2009

    Terminal Bore

    Flat characters, contrived plot, unexplained storylines. Had to force myself to finish. Save your time and money - not worth either!

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed for Midwest Book Review

    Paleoecologist Evan Marshall is part of a scientific team studying the effects of global warming in Alaska's Federal Wildlife Zone. Exploring an ice cave, the team discovers a mysterious animal frozen in ice. When their sponsor, a media conglomerate, learns of this, they send a film crew to the Zone to film a documentary about the unthawing of the animal. But once the unthawing begins, the animal disappears. The film's director suspects the scientists have something to do with it, which they deny. When one of his employees is found slashed to death, the scientists begin to suspect the animal may not have been dead, after all.

    Lincoln Child delivers a suspense-filled thriller, setting a host of characters, from military men, to scientists, to a film crew in a remote area, in the middle of a snowstorm with a killing machine wreaking havoc. The usual obsessive persona is present in the form of demanding director, flanked by flunkies catering to his every whim, nonsensical or not. Marshall is an empathetic character, a scientist dealing with a past trauma who has sworn to never again hold a gun in his hand but is forced to. Once the action gets going, the plot becomes fast-paced and tense.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Not his best effort

    Lincoln Child is capable of writing a more engaging novel. The plot is intriguing, but the development of it is meandering and could be developed quickly. However as a book to pass the hours with, it does work.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    If you liked Relic, you'll like this.

    I'm a big fan of both Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child and this books fits right into their style. I actually found this almost impossible to put down.

    Has traces of "The Thing" and works off the "cut off from the world" theme. There is a hat tip to the relic books and I love crossovers in writing. (Stephen King employes this alot.) I greatly enjoyed this latest installment from Mr. Child.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Pure Escapism

    Nothing deep or profound, but the usual action/science thriller Child and his cohort Douglas Preston do so well. As always, the unlikelihood of the underlying events (a prehistoric killing machine frozen in the ice for millennia miraculously thaws out and begins wreaking various and sundry forms of havoc on a scientific expedition funded by a news outfit) is disguised by a very realistic, jaded view of what makes today's society tick, and gives an air of credibility to a lot of whopping impossibilities. A fun read, not to be taken too seriously, but definitely entertaining.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    Child Needs Preston (and Vice Versa)

    Like many others I am a big fan of the Douglas Preston/Lincoln Child collaborations, especially the Pendergast series. Yet I find their individual efforts much less compelling. This is probably Child's best effort to date, definitely better than Death Match and Utopia. (I haven't read Deep Storm yet.) But it is still a fairly routine thriller with some scary scenes that never really builds to a climax. Part of the problem is that the characters are so one-dimensional I didn't care whether they lived or died. The other part is that we've seen it all before.

    Comparisons between this book and the movie entitled The Thing (the original Howard Hawks/James Arness version, not the one with Kurt Russell) are inevitable. A group of scientists at an isolated outpost in the Arctic Circle discover a strange creature that has been frozen in the ice for thousands (millions?) of years. They unwittingly let it thaw out, thereby (naturally) bringing it back to life. Mayhem ensues. They try to kill it with conventional weapons. More mayhem. Finally they use their brains. End of story. Except for an unnecssary epilogue which suggests THE THING might have been FROM ANOTHER WORLD! (Gasp!)

    OK. I admit I'm being a bit unfair. As I said, there are some genuinely scary moments. And there are some major differences from the movie too. Take the isolation, for instance. They may be isolated, but they manage to bring in a professor of medieval history who holds the key to the mystery. (I kid you not.) Which leads to an old Eskimo who knows more than he is telling. And then there is an entire documentary film crew (complete with an obnoxious artiste as director and an even more obnoxious diva as host/narrator) which shows up halfway through the book to provide more opportunity for mayhem. There is even an Ice Road Trucker.

    On second thought, rent the movie, skip the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2009

    NO,NO,NO...

    I was very disappointed in this book. The plot has been done and re-done too many times, no more please! Lincoln let me down on this story but that doesn't mean I won't read his next book! I'll just pretend this book never happened.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    awesome

    Even though the plot has been used before, Child manages to make it a great read.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    No, just no

    This is one of the poorest excusises for a book I have ever read! It just got to carried away by making the thing be from outerspace and it just was not something I would ever recommend because it never really named what it was and didn't described it well enough for me.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Lincoln Child delivers another fantstic thriller.

    I love Lincoln Child's books. I can count on him to hook me at the first page, and drag me along on another thrill ride. Terminal Freeze is yet another fantastic tale set to make the reader sit fast in their chair and eagerly flip the pages to an unbelievable ending. This particular story takes place in the Artic so wear something warm and settle yourself down for another story that mixes old style sci-fi and horror movies with modern docudrama, idealistic scientists and ego driven stars. I couldn't help but cheer when the meglomaniacal director got his - not to give anything away. Some people will do anything to be famous, or is that infamous? Hard to tell sometimes.
    Terminal Freeze is a good read - Looking forward to the next book. I hope Mr Child writes quickly...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    Fantastic writer, familiar story

    Lincoln Child is a breathtaking writer. He molds words into pictures and never insults his reader by dumbing-down his language. I have read everything he's ever written. The plot in this one reaches back more than a bit into Relic which he wrote with Doug Preston (also a spectacular writer). Relic was a heckuva read and Terminal Freeze is a good read but too familiar. Read it because it's a ripping story and because Mr. Child is a real wordsmith. Put aside Relic and you'll love it!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    Loved it!

    Loved this book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Will Keep You Up Nights!

    Not only is this book a chilling thriller that will keep you from sleeping...it is so exciting that you won't want to put it down, and it will keep you from sleeping. This is the first book I have read by Lincoln Child...and now I want to read some of his other books. If you like thrillers, you will definitely like Terminal Freeze.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2009

    Another sleepless night...

    So far, every novel written by Mr. Child has kept me up into the wee hours of the night, and this one was certainly no exception. The story delivered everything I've come to expect from one of his novels - well-drawn characters, riveting details, and descriptions that make it so enjoyable and effortless to walk into the worlds he creates. It's about the cheapest vacation there is, to curl up for a few hours with one of his books.

    There's as much action as you would expect from a Child novel, with the usual technical proficiency and skill in building up tension, and creating dark corners for things to lurk in. There were also some very funny moments in the book, deftly written, that added dimension and interest to the characters. And I'd love to see a couple of new people introduced here return in future books, though in one instance at least that might prove to be a bit messy...

    Intelligent mayhem, mystery, and humor.you really can't ask for more than that. If you have read his books before I don't think you'll be disappointed, and if you haven't, this one's a fine place to start.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    Another amazing ride from Child!

    Once again, Lincoln Child has crafted a chilling tale (in more ways than one, certainly) of an Arctic scientific expedition and documentary gone horribly and unpredictably wrong. He absolutely delivers on what I expect -- the wonderful prose that takes you there; great, dimensional characters with various motivations; a very creepy setting; a creature that will make you want to turn the lights on and pull the covers up! And then a twist to bend your mind for an ending that'll keep your brain spinning after the last page. As usual for me, some of the science touched on throughout the book inspires me to go find out more.

    Fans of Mr. Child as well as all thriller fans who have yet to try him will enjoy this one. I always return to Mr. Child's books for a reason -- he's a fabulous writer and storyteller who doesn't disappoint! Definitely recommended!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Lailla

    ((Elsa's daughter.)) <p>
    Hi!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Elsa

    ((Sorry guys my wifi was out)) elsa walks down from her office.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 149 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8