Customer Reviews for

Terminal Freeze

Average Rating 4
( 148 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

If You Like The Movie The Thing, You Are Going to LOVE This Book!!

This is a tantalizing, thrilling, scary story you would not want to read alone in the dark. It reminds me of two movies, The Thing From Another World made in 1951 and the remake of the movie by John Carpenter called The Thing made in 1982. The best part is that the bo...
This is a tantalizing, thrilling, scary story you would not want to read alone in the dark. It reminds me of two movies, The Thing From Another World made in 1951 and the remake of the movie by John Carpenter called The Thing made in 1982. The best part is that the book's plot is much better than either of these movies. It is just not a typical monster plot that happens to be set in the Arctic, but it is an exciting suspense thriller, that has a government conspiracy twist, and it is creepy and scary. The setting makes the mood of the story even more deadly. It takes place in a government owned facility that has little lighting, plenty of old dark rooms tht have not been used in years, and it located in deep in the Arctic region. The characters are scientists who accidently find something in a cave while researching the Arctic region. Naturally they are warned by the local Native Americans to leave it alone. Will they do that? No, there wouldn't be a great story is they did.

This book has good characters you care about and some you just don't like at all. Don't worry though because the jerky characters get their just desserts. The atmosphere is creey, dark, and cold. Mr. Child sets the story like a roller coaster ride. He does not weigh down the story with a lot of description. Once the creature is found, the story just surges to the end. It is what I describe as a "guilty pleasure" book. I read it quickly, and it was just pure fun!!!! There is a twist at the end that makes the book even more clever. The twist will give you "food for thought" about the ending. I don't to tell you to much about the plot as it would spoil it for you.

It is my favorite of Lincoln Child's books. Read his other books as they are good too. If you love fast moving stories that are scary, chilling, thrilling, and have little twists and turns in them, this book you will love.

posted by Aki on March 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Terminal Bore

Flat characters, contrived plot, unexplained storylines. Had to force myself to finish. Save your time and money - not worth either!

posted by 1033876 on February 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed for Midwest Book Review

    Paleoecologist Evan Marshall is part of a scientific team studying the effects of global warming in Alaska's Federal Wildlife Zone. Exploring an ice cave, the team discovers a mysterious animal frozen in ice. When their sponsor, a media conglomerate, learns of this, they send a film crew to the Zone to film a documentary about the unthawing of the animal. But once the unthawing begins, the animal disappears. The film's director suspects the scientists have something to do with it, which they deny. When one of his employees is found slashed to death, the scientists begin to suspect the animal may not have been dead, after all.

    Lincoln Child delivers a suspense-filled thriller, setting a host of characters, from military men, to scientists, to a film crew in a remote area, in the middle of a snowstorm with a killing machine wreaking havoc. The usual obsessive persona is present in the form of demanding director, flanked by flunkies catering to his every whim, nonsensical or not. Marshall is an empathetic character, a scientist dealing with a past trauma who has sworn to never again hold a gun in his hand but is forced to. Once the action gets going, the plot becomes fast-paced and tense.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Lincoln Child delivers another fantstic thriller.

    I love Lincoln Child's books. I can count on him to hook me at the first page, and drag me along on another thrill ride. Terminal Freeze is yet another fantastic tale set to make the reader sit fast in their chair and eagerly flip the pages to an unbelievable ending. This particular story takes place in the Artic so wear something warm and settle yourself down for another story that mixes old style sci-fi and horror movies with modern docudrama, idealistic scientists and ego driven stars. I couldn't help but cheer when the meglomaniacal director got his - not to give anything away. Some people will do anything to be famous, or is that infamous? Hard to tell sometimes.
    Terminal Freeze is a good read - Looking forward to the next book. I hope Mr Child writes quickly...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Thumbs up!

    The creature in this book is quite similar in appearance and ferocity as to the one in Relic. The story keeps you steadily turning the pages in anticipation of what might be lurking around the next dark corner. The Tunit shaman with the tales of his people & the introduction of the Pendergast-like character, Logan, were quite mysterious & fascinating. In addition, what a sight it would be to see a crimson aurora borealus! This is a must-read for fans of Mr. Childs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2012

    *POSSIBLE SPOILER ALERT* A couple days ago I finally was in the

    *POSSIBLE SPOILER ALERT*

    A couple days ago I finally was in the mood to give this book a try. I'm a big fan of the Pendergast series that Lincoln Child co-authors with Douglas Preston and I've been curious to see how his standalone novels that he writes alone would turn out to be and I knew when I read the summary of this one that it would be a good place to start.

    Terminal Freeze turned out to be a very quick read which I wasn't expecting at all. I was expecting it to be written at the same pace as the above mentioned series he co-authors but that was not the case at all with this one. Don't get me wrong, just because it was a quick read doesn't mean that it wasn't a good read because it was.

    The novel centers around a scientific expedition to the remotest of places in the arctic. While on the expedition the main character Marshall's team makes a remarkable discovery that puts everyones lives in danger. Not heeding the warning by the leader of the local Tunit tribe people begin to die, but no one knows what is killing the victims except the local tribesman.

    I'm always a sucker for thriller novels that take place in remote places and you have to admit the Arctic is pretty darned remote so it makes a thriller novel that much more chilling (pun intended) for it to take place there. I liked that the novel took place at a remote military installation because for me I like my thriller novels that have "mysterious" creatures to have lots of fire power.

    There was a hell of a lot of action in this novel and I enjoyed the blood and gore of it as well as the legend and mystery behind the creature, however the creature could have been written about in a more detailed manner and I did find that the story glazed over a lot about the creatures mannerisms and that the creature didn't make a real appearance (where it was described while making a kill) until rather late in the novel for my tastes.

    I also think that while Marshall was a likable character that he along with the others were rather one dimensional, they had very little depth and I wish that more of Marshall's past had been explained and that we had gotten to know him and the other characters more.

    Despite my issues with the lack of detailing in the creature as well as the one dimensional characters the action in the novel made it entirely worth the read. It was fast past and adrenalin filled and I had no idea who would be the next one killed so it kept me guessing.

    Overall, it was a fun read, it kept me interested and I enjoyed it. I would recommend this one to thriller fans with a hint of horror and mysterious beasts as well or if you just want a quick read that will have you at the edge of your seats. I can't wait to read my next Lincoln Child novel and I'm really glad that I have another one in transit from the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good read

    I think most of us have seen the B movies on the Sci-Fi channel about artic frozen monsters but this book was much better than any of those films by far. The story may be predicting but was still a great page turner. The ending was pretty good and does leave some questions remaining but in a good way. You take a jouney throughout this novel and it takes you to a place you may never get to in your real life. I would definately recommend this to anyone with an imagination who would like to go inside a sci-fi thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Another wonderful read by Lincoln Child

    I have read most all of Lincoln Child's books and this did not disappoint. The story is enthralling and entertaining. His characters always are defined and described so well, that you easily develop a mental picture of his characters and they stay true to their nature throughout the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Great Read

    Another Lincoln Child wonder. Love his books and this one will not disappoint. Set in arctic cold a killer cat on the loose and the clever way they dispose of it?? Loved this book for the pure escapism of it. Quick easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    Enjoyable read.

    Easy read with a different plot which might make a good horror movie.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable

    I picked up TERMINAL FREEZE by Lincoln Child as it sounded like a good story. I've read other reviewers take on the book (both bad and good), and some compared it to THE THING. I could see the comparison. A scientific expedition in the Arctic finds something frozen in the ice, which brings out a documentary crew to film it. The production company funded the scientific expedition so they feel they have the right to do what they want. Oh, did I mention that the production company was the exploitation type. The mix of scientists and production crew and the politics of the company make for an explosive mix in this icy tundra. Since I don't recall reading any of Lincoln Child's books before, I found this story to be quite entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Terminal Freeze - excellent read for those who like thrillers

    It is one of those books you start and can't put down - I read the entire book in a day. If you watched the Kurt Russell movie "The Thing", the location and plot would remind you of the movie, but take you further. Futuristic plots and thrillers are enjoyable and can make you think - could this really happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    A good Lincoln Child

    As usual a good author to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    Another "I couldn't put the book down" from Lincoln Child"

    I have read almost all of Lincoln Child's books. I absolutely love his writing. He always keeps me at the edge of my seat wanting more. This book is the same way. It is full of suspense. I couldn't put it down because I had to know at that moment what was going to happen next. His characters are so real that you find yourself forming opinions of them as if they were real people. You either want them to suceed at whatever they are trying to accomplish or you feel they deserve to die.

    I can't wait for another one of his books to come out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Decent

    Not a bad read, but not one of Child's best either. I would definitely recommend it, but if you read a lot of Child's books, it might be kinda predictable. Well worth the money I paid for the book.

    I know I sound wishy washy, but it is a very good book compared to every other book in the universe, but if you are only comparing this book to Child's other works, then I would say not the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ...but fear itself

    This is a creepy book. Seriously. If you like hair-raising tales, Child's novel is for you. There's a group of people isolated in the Arctic when a horrible storm arises just as they realize that the unthinkable has happened. Inadvertently they have released a monster of incomprehensible strength and wiliness. One by one various characters die at the hand of the monster. As the storm worsens the survivors struggle to find the weakness that will give them victory over their foe.

    So far, so good. Yet the story could have been told much more concisely. The filler lets the reader's mind wander just when it should be getting ready to explode in fear. So even though most of us will find fear enough, there could have been some very shaky readers dropping out of their chairs!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3