Customer Reviews for

Terminal Freeze

Average Rating 4
( 149 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

If You Like The Movie The Thing, You Are Going to LOVE This Book!!

This is a tantalizing, thrilling, scary story you would not want to read alone in the dark. It reminds me of two movies, The Thing From Another World made in 1951 and the remake of the movie by John Carpenter called The Thing made in 1982. The best part is that the bo...
This is a tantalizing, thrilling, scary story you would not want to read alone in the dark. It reminds me of two movies, The Thing From Another World made in 1951 and the remake of the movie by John Carpenter called The Thing made in 1982. The best part is that the book's plot is much better than either of these movies. It is just not a typical monster plot that happens to be set in the Arctic, but it is an exciting suspense thriller, that has a government conspiracy twist, and it is creepy and scary. The setting makes the mood of the story even more deadly. It takes place in a government owned facility that has little lighting, plenty of old dark rooms tht have not been used in years, and it located in deep in the Arctic region. The characters are scientists who accidently find something in a cave while researching the Arctic region. Naturally they are warned by the local Native Americans to leave it alone. Will they do that? No, there wouldn't be a great story is they did.

This book has good characters you care about and some you just don't like at all. Don't worry though because the jerky characters get their just desserts. The atmosphere is creey, dark, and cold. Mr. Child sets the story like a roller coaster ride. He does not weigh down the story with a lot of description. Once the creature is found, the story just surges to the end. It is what I describe as a "guilty pleasure" book. I read it quickly, and it was just pure fun!!!! There is a twist at the end that makes the book even more clever. The twist will give you "food for thought" about the ending. I don't to tell you to much about the plot as it would spoil it for you.

It is my favorite of Lincoln Child's books. Read his other books as they are good too. If you love fast moving stories that are scary, chilling, thrilling, and have little twists and turns in them, this book you will love.

posted by Aki on March 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Terminal Bore

Flat characters, contrived plot, unexplained storylines. Had to force myself to finish. Save your time and money - not worth either!

posted by 1033876 on February 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    If You Like The Movie The Thing, You Are Going to LOVE This Book!!

    This is a tantalizing, thrilling, scary story you would not want to read alone in the dark. It reminds me of two movies, The Thing From Another World made in 1951 and the remake of the movie by John Carpenter called The Thing made in 1982. The best part is that the book's plot is much better than either of these movies. It is just not a typical monster plot that happens to be set in the Arctic, but it is an exciting suspense thriller, that has a government conspiracy twist, and it is creepy and scary. The setting makes the mood of the story even more deadly. It takes place in a government owned facility that has little lighting, plenty of old dark rooms tht have not been used in years, and it located in deep in the Arctic region. The characters are scientists who accidently find something in a cave while researching the Arctic region. Naturally they are warned by the local Native Americans to leave it alone. Will they do that? No, there wouldn't be a great story is they did.

    This book has good characters you care about and some you just don't like at all. Don't worry though because the jerky characters get their just desserts. The atmosphere is creey, dark, and cold. Mr. Child sets the story like a roller coaster ride. He does not weigh down the story with a lot of description. Once the creature is found, the story just surges to the end. It is what I describe as a "guilty pleasure" book. I read it quickly, and it was just pure fun!!!! There is a twist at the end that makes the book even more clever. The twist will give you "food for thought" about the ending. I don't to tell you to much about the plot as it would spoil it for you.

    It is my favorite of Lincoln Child's books. Read his other books as they are good too. If you love fast moving stories that are scary, chilling, thrilling, and have little twists and turns in them, this book you will love.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2009

    Another example of a skilled literary effort that rises above the ordinary. Child's writing style shines through again in a riveting, well conceived thriller!!!

    I read Terminal Freeze expecting Child's usual exciting storytelling that he has become so well known for and I was not disappointed. I was transported to the especially alien enviroment of the far North and found the vivid details very captivating. The story held my attention to the very end and my only regret is that I have finished a great read and will have to wait for Child's next story to be released.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    If you liked Relic, you'll like this.

    I'm a big fan of both Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child and this books fits right into their style. I actually found this almost impossible to put down.

    Has traces of "The Thing" and works off the "cut off from the world" theme. There is a hat tip to the relic books and I love crossovers in writing. (Stephen King employes this alot.) I greatly enjoyed this latest installment from Mr. Child.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    awesome

    Even though the plot has been used before, Child manages to make it a great read.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    Loved it!

    Loved this book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Will Keep You Up Nights!

    Not only is this book a chilling thriller that will keep you from sleeping...it is so exciting that you won't want to put it down, and it will keep you from sleeping. This is the first book I have read by Lincoln Child...and now I want to read some of his other books. If you like thrillers, you will definitely like Terminal Freeze.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2009

    Another sleepless night...

    So far, every novel written by Mr. Child has kept me up into the wee hours of the night, and this one was certainly no exception. The story delivered everything I've come to expect from one of his novels - well-drawn characters, riveting details, and descriptions that make it so enjoyable and effortless to walk into the worlds he creates. It's about the cheapest vacation there is, to curl up for a few hours with one of his books.

    There's as much action as you would expect from a Child novel, with the usual technical proficiency and skill in building up tension, and creating dark corners for things to lurk in. There were also some very funny moments in the book, deftly written, that added dimension and interest to the characters. And I'd love to see a couple of new people introduced here return in future books, though in one instance at least that might prove to be a bit messy...

    Intelligent mayhem, mystery, and humor.you really can't ask for more than that. If you have read his books before I don't think you'll be disappointed, and if you haven't, this one's a fine place to start.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    Another amazing ride from Child!

    Once again, Lincoln Child has crafted a chilling tale (in more ways than one, certainly) of an Arctic scientific expedition and documentary gone horribly and unpredictably wrong. He absolutely delivers on what I expect -- the wonderful prose that takes you there; great, dimensional characters with various motivations; a very creepy setting; a creature that will make you want to turn the lights on and pull the covers up! And then a twist to bend your mind for an ending that'll keep your brain spinning after the last page. As usual for me, some of the science touched on throughout the book inspires me to go find out more.

    Fans of Mr. Child as well as all thriller fans who have yet to try him will enjoy this one. I always return to Mr. Child's books for a reason -- he's a fabulous writer and storyteller who doesn't disappoint! Definitely recommended!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Lailla

    ((Elsa's daughter.)) <p>
    Hi!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Elsa

    ((Sorry guys my wifi was out)) elsa walks down from her office.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Anna

    Mounted her horse and rode into the distance. (Alright, my wifi is going off for a few weeks. Elsa you're in charge of and updating the available character list in res 8. Other than that, just stay active and keep the peace. I'll check in now and then, if I can. Good luck!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Suzie

    Walked in"why so depressed?" She asked. She walked over and sat down next to her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Taylor

    She layed there depressed under a bed sheet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Anda

    Hello.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    To nightfur

    I love you so lets have $ex

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Blazetail

    Are you here nightfur?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    Had me at the start

    At first it had me going, all the way to the end. This is definitely one of his best books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Guthix

    T.T

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Claudia

    Takes her dagger and sheath and walks out happily.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Skull to all

    Closing up shop.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3