Customer Reviews for

The Terminal Man

Average Rating 4
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Great Book!

    I am 13 and most people woould think i am to young to fully appreciate chrichton, but... oh well. I think he is amazing! I practically devoured this book over the past three days; i just couldn't put it down! I love all the fascinating concepts in "Terminal Man" and it is amazing how right Crichton was aboutso many things going on today (like how computers run practically everything). Very compelling book; perfect for someone wanting to read something that stimulates your mind!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2004

    Taut thriller

    Harry Benson is delivered to University Hospital by the police, who will be watching him throughout his stay there. He's charged with assault and battery, and the only reason he's being allowed to keep his surgical date is that the experimental procedure should - if all goes well - correct the cause of his violent seizures. Or so the surgical team and the hospital's administrator believe. But Benson's psychiatrist, Dr. Janet Ross, isn't so sure. Although this taut thriller seems meant to caution us about the dehumanizing perils of the computer age, which was just dawning when Crichton wrote it, I found it most interesting for its depiction of physicians by one of their own. By making Janet Ross female, the author casts her as the 'outsider' through whose eyes we readers can see the other doctors' specialty-related foibles. Had the book been written later, this wouldn't have worked as well; but in a 1972 world it's an excellent device. By the time you reach the last page, you'll know more than you may want to know about the minds of those who take care of you when you're most vulnerable. A terrific read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2004

    Excellent but brief Crichton read.

    The Terminal Man is one of Michael Crichton's crowning achievements. A very short book under 200 pages. I read it in a weeks time. This is the story of a young man (Harry Benson), who suffers from major and very dangerous seizures. Since he has already maimed two people, the police capture him and bring him to University Hospital in LA. There, doctors plan to treat him with a procedure called Stage Three. This is supposed to build up resistance to Benson's seizure attacks. However, not everything goes as planned. I will not tell you anymore. Purchase the book at a low price and read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Boring.

    Nothing much happened in this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Skull

    Goes to sleep(gtg)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The first 65-75% of this book is a total bore but the last part

    The first 65-75% of this book is a total bore but the last part makes it come gliding back to full circle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

    This book was recommended to me by my doctor when he found out I had an implant similar to the one the author wrote about in this story for seizures as well. I found it amazing that the author wrote about something that was developed many years later. This book will blow your mind and keep you on the edge of your seat!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Amazing Read!

    I am a huge fan of Crichton and I have just gotten around to reading the Terminal Man. As always Crichton is able to combine scientifical facts into a thrilling novel. I couldn't put it down because of all the twists and turns in this book. A must for Crichton fans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    The Terminal Man

    Terminal man by Michael Crichton is a creative suspense filled book from page one to the twisting end that will have you flipping the pages over and over again. Harry Benson is a middle aged man with a very big problem. He often has what he calls Blackouts, severe seizures where he loses total control and more recently the blackouts have led to violent breakouts with severe beatings to a man. The violence is increasing and it's only getting worse for Benson. Enter the neurological research team at university hospital. An advanced team of neuro scientists who think they have a solution to Benson's problem. The process is simple and even works at first but only when it is completed do the scientists realize they have made a mistake. Benson soon has a mental breakdown and escapes the hospital. He then goes on a murderous rampage in Los Angeles that seams it can only lead in one way, the termination of Harry Benson.
    This is just another one of the twisting page turners by the author Michael Crichton. Other great works by Michael Crichton are The Andromeda Strain, The Sphere, Congo, and Jurassic Park.
    This is a great read for anyone who enjoys suspenseful creative novels. Once the book gets going it does not slow down until the very last page. Crichton supplies creative description throughout the book and the readers mind s always working. This is a perfect book for someone looking for the in depth science type novel also. The book is filled with new advance technology that people at that time era might not even have thought possible. Personally I am one of those people who loves the fast adrenaline filled read. I really like this book because I was unable to put it down while reading. Crichton kept me questioning through the whole book. He also did a careful job setting up the book. Putting the characters in the book and using the technology in the book to add to its affect. However, the book did get a little confusing at times do to the vast amounts of new technology introduced. Other than that this was a very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read!

    This novel is one of the best novels I have ever read. It's not too long, but at the same time the story is very clear. This is the perfect book to read on a cold, rainy day. This novel was very well done, as are all of Crichton's other works. If you enjoy Michael Crichton, you're gonna love this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    The Terminal Man

    In this Sci-fi thriller, Harold Benson suffers from violent seizures, and has surgery done to implant probes that send shock waves to stimulate his brain. However, Benson escapes and goes on a murderous rampage. This book is very suspenseful and very interesting. You are glued to your seat as you follow the hunt for this killer, and the conflicts the characters must face. This book sends chills down your spine as you follow the agenda of this murderer and get a glimpse of what the near future might hold. This book has large amounts of gore and violence, and is not for those with a weak stomach, or those easily spooked. Some people may say that this book is outdated and unrealistic which takes away from its appeal, but unless you are an actual brain surgeon or a hardcore researcher, I'm sure you enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    Quite possibly the most riveting Crichton book I've ever read....period(.)

    This jarring psychological thriller of a novel has without a doubt provoked more nail biting in me than any other published piece of literature. It has a phenomenally intriguing story that is taught with terror and fraught with suspense. As usual, Crichton likes to kick off the story with a prologue of sorts to familiarize readers with the scientific break throughs that facilitate the frightening events of the plot. For this story, he begins by reciting a timeline of scientific developments in the field of behavior modification. Specifically, he explains its significance in attempting to alleviate psychometer epilepsy, the disease preying on the novel's main character and soon-to-be antagonist Harry Benson. While the suggested implications of these technological remedies are considerably far-fetched, Crichton typically manages to fabricate a viable "safety net" of actual facts and current events in the scientific community that lead you to believe that these marvelous feats could really happen, which is all the more frightening. I'm also able to fully appreciate how seamlessly he manifests the transition of his artfully tailored background of data to his extraordinary tale of interest. Once the setting is explained to give the reader perspective, Crichton jumps head first into the exposition with the curious plight of Harry Benson, a man who is subject to frequent black outs (initiated by the seizures) in which he loses expansive tracts of time. His episodes had resulted in the severe beating of two people thus far. I can't help but feel that the 30-something Benson was unimpressively characterized. Though the freakish circumstances of his condition more than make up for it, he undoubtedly has little to save him from being a generally static "joe everyman", which dismays me to some degree seeing as I happen to be a reader who enjoys seeing a definite struggle of morals in the afflicted. Regardless of my criticisms, surgeons Ellis and Morris seem to think Benson is more than an ideal specimen to be the primary candidate for their highly experimental procedure. This is where it is more than easy to get lost. I for one felt like there is an awful accumulation of jargon to get tangled in when the procedure is explained. This is a problem I run into quite often in Crichton novels. The relative "flow" of the intrigue is rarely unscathed in the torrent of technical concepts, much like when the whole "artificial intelligence interface" scare and electrode insertion surgery reared their wordy heads. Alas, I was ceaselessly fascinated by the overall theme of science-gone-too-far that's typical of Crichton. I even found myself empathizing with Mr. Benson who had ultimately become a monster due to the efforts of people trying to prevent just that. All and all, it's an interesting book whose bizarre plot is backed up with volumes of scientific know-how. On the negative side, its detail-laden plot is a chore to follow for people who are simply looking for a streamlined sci-fi diversion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2006

    I loved this book

    This book has many unique qualities that most other techno-thrillers do not. Michael Crichton definitely put a lot of effort in making the most out of this story. The Terminal man was a great novel, and this wanted to make me read more science-fiction novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2005

    GREAT BOOK!!!

    I just recently got into Mike's writings and I've nearly read all of his books....I have found terminal man to be one of the best, only beaten by PREY....I still would strongly reccomend it and all his other books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2005

    Intelligent For Its Time

    Even though this book was written in 1971, I can see it in a modern movie with little changes. Crichton's way of writing is so abrupt and so... well, I don't like math or science, but everything he writes, I understand. If he weren't so good at fiction, I'd suggest he write text books. Anyway, the Terminal Man is awesome and suspenseful. You never know what will happen next, and the end is a shocker... almost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2003

    A good book

    This was awesome. I even was a little naughty and read during class, it was so good. I am interested in matters of the brain and insaness, but that's me. The ending somewhat made me confused, but it was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2003

    Great... until the end.

    I must say, I am a great MC fan and have read most of his books. Though I really enjoyed this novel, the end was so awful! I'm not saying don't read it or that it was a bad book; its just the end was very disappointing. I'm not going to spoil it for you though! Go out and buy/borrow/check it out! Just don't expect a good ending. Otherwise, it deserves 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2003

    Amazing! Fascinating! One of His Best!

    I have read about half of Michael Crichton's books-- this is by far one his best (so far). The Terminal Man is short but it fascinated me beyond his other works, simply because of the plot. The plot really grabbed hold of me more than any of his other novels. The only story of his I enjoyed more was Sphere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2002

    The Best

    I have read quite a few of his books, and This is on top with Sphere. I am 15 years old and I love these books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2002

    SO GOOD- BUT HEY THAT'S MICHAEL

    Wow. This book is great. I read it all in one day because I couldn't put it down. But of course all of Michael Crichton's books are hard to put down! ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4