Customer Reviews for

The Terminal Man

Average Rating 4
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2004

    Taut thriller

    Harry Benson is delivered to University Hospital by the police, who will be watching him throughout his stay there. He's charged with assault and battery, and the only reason he's being allowed to keep his surgical date is that the experimental procedure should - if all goes well - correct the cause of his violent seizures. Or so the surgical team and the hospital's administrator believe. But Benson's psychiatrist, Dr. Janet Ross, isn't so sure. Although this taut thriller seems meant to caution us about the dehumanizing perils of the computer age, which was just dawning when Crichton wrote it, I found it most interesting for its depiction of physicians by one of their own. By making Janet Ross female, the author casts her as the 'outsider' through whose eyes we readers can see the other doctors' specialty-related foibles. Had the book been written later, this wouldn't have worked as well; but in a 1972 world it's an excellent device. By the time you reach the last page, you'll know more than you may want to know about the minds of those who take care of you when you're most vulnerable. A terrific read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2004

    Excellent but brief Crichton read.

    The Terminal Man is one of Michael Crichton's crowning achievements. A very short book under 200 pages. I read it in a weeks time. This is the story of a young man (Harry Benson), who suffers from major and very dangerous seizures. Since he has already maimed two people, the police capture him and bring him to University Hospital in LA. There, doctors plan to treat him with a procedure called Stage Three. This is supposed to build up resistance to Benson's seizure attacks. However, not everything goes as planned. I will not tell you anymore. Purchase the book at a low price and read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The first 65-75% of this book is a total bore but the last part

    The first 65-75% of this book is a total bore but the last part makes it come gliding back to full circle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Amazing Read!

    I am a huge fan of Crichton and I have just gotten around to reading the Terminal Man. As always Crichton is able to combine scientifical facts into a thrilling novel. I couldn't put it down because of all the twists and turns in this book. A must for Crichton fans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    The Terminal Man

    Terminal man by Michael Crichton is a creative suspense filled book from page one to the twisting end that will have you flipping the pages over and over again. Harry Benson is a middle aged man with a very big problem. He often has what he calls Blackouts, severe seizures where he loses total control and more recently the blackouts have led to violent breakouts with severe beatings to a man. The violence is increasing and it's only getting worse for Benson. Enter the neurological research team at university hospital. An advanced team of neuro scientists who think they have a solution to Benson's problem. The process is simple and even works at first but only when it is completed do the scientists realize they have made a mistake. Benson soon has a mental breakdown and escapes the hospital. He then goes on a murderous rampage in Los Angeles that seams it can only lead in one way, the termination of Harry Benson.
    This is just another one of the twisting page turners by the author Michael Crichton. Other great works by Michael Crichton are The Andromeda Strain, The Sphere, Congo, and Jurassic Park.
    This is a great read for anyone who enjoys suspenseful creative novels. Once the book gets going it does not slow down until the very last page. Crichton supplies creative description throughout the book and the readers mind s always working. This is a perfect book for someone looking for the in depth science type novel also. The book is filled with new advance technology that people at that time era might not even have thought possible. Personally I am one of those people who loves the fast adrenaline filled read. I really like this book because I was unable to put it down while reading. Crichton kept me questioning through the whole book. He also did a careful job setting up the book. Putting the characters in the book and using the technology in the book to add to its affect. However, the book did get a little confusing at times do to the vast amounts of new technology introduced. Other than that this was a very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    The Terminal Man

    In this Sci-fi thriller, Harold Benson suffers from violent seizures, and has surgery done to implant probes that send shock waves to stimulate his brain. However, Benson escapes and goes on a murderous rampage. This book is very suspenseful and very interesting. You are glued to your seat as you follow the hunt for this killer, and the conflicts the characters must face. This book sends chills down your spine as you follow the agenda of this murderer and get a glimpse of what the near future might hold. This book has large amounts of gore and violence, and is not for those with a weak stomach, or those easily spooked. Some people may say that this book is outdated and unrealistic which takes away from its appeal, but unless you are an actual brain surgeon or a hardcore researcher, I'm sure you enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2005

    Intelligent For Its Time

    Even though this book was written in 1971, I can see it in a modern movie with little changes. Crichton's way of writing is so abrupt and so... well, I don't like math or science, but everything he writes, I understand. If he weren't so good at fiction, I'd suggest he write text books. Anyway, the Terminal Man is awesome and suspenseful. You never know what will happen next, and the end is a shocker... almost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2003

    Great... until the end.

    I must say, I am a great MC fan and have read most of his books. Though I really enjoyed this novel, the end was so awful! I'm not saying don't read it or that it was a bad book; its just the end was very disappointing. I'm not going to spoil it for you though! Go out and buy/borrow/check it out! Just don't expect a good ending. Otherwise, it deserves 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1