Customer Reviews for

Terrier (Beka Cooper Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 285 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(227)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Tamora Peirce has done it again!

I got hooked to Tamora Peirce when I was proably in the 7th or 8th grade. I wore out the copies of Alanna and Daine's books at the library, and put a good hurting on the hardback copies of Keladry's story. Even as I got older, and the librarian started to comment on the...
I got hooked to Tamora Peirce when I was proably in the 7th or 8th grade. I wore out the copies of Alanna and Daine's books at the library, and put a good hurting on the hardback copies of Keladry's story. Even as I got older, and the librarian started to comment on the books they had for the older age groups I now fell in, I still came back again and again to the back of the bottom shelf where they were kept. So understand that this review is written with the bias of an unwavering fan. :)

The characters was excellent, and not at all what I expected. Beka, the ancestor of George Cooper, was not the girl I had imagined Peirce would write when I first heard about the possibility of the series, years ago. Instead she is an average girl that most can relate with.

I thought the diary entries would throw me off, since most of the journal style books I have read do. But Peirce kept the entries even and detailed, and the plot moves quickly, so it didn't bother me as much as I thought.

Terrier is an excellent read and I highly recommend it, especialy for preteen and early teen girls.

posted by Chrissy_Mae on May 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Horrible

O.k her other books are amazing but this book just DRAAAAAGED on and on. The book got no where! I regularly read huge books but this book didnt make me want to keep reading, and trust me i tried. I woudn't recommend this book but the lioness series are really good

posted by Anonymous on August 31, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 287 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted May 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Tamora Peirce has done it again!

    I got hooked to Tamora Peirce when I was proably in the 7th or 8th grade. I wore out the copies of Alanna and Daine's books at the library, and put a good hurting on the hardback copies of Keladry's story. Even as I got older, and the librarian started to comment on the books they had for the older age groups I now fell in, I still came back again and again to the back of the bottom shelf where they were kept. So understand that this review is written with the bias of an unwavering fan. :)

    The characters was excellent, and not at all what I expected. Beka, the ancestor of George Cooper, was not the girl I had imagined Peirce would write when I first heard about the possibility of the series, years ago. Instead she is an average girl that most can relate with.

    I thought the diary entries would throw me off, since most of the journal style books I have read do. But Peirce kept the entries even and detailed, and the plot moves quickly, so it didn't bother me as much as I thought.

    Terrier is an excellent read and I highly recommend it, especialy for preteen and early teen girls.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved it

    Terrier started off slowly with all the different journal entries from various people, but after that, the story picked up quickly. I thought the idea of the Dogs was brilliant. Beka's strength and determination was refreshing. All the characters, especially Goodwin and Tunsall, were realistic and shared Beka's quick eagerness. I enjoyed the journal format, especially when Beka's mood or sleepiness clearly changed how she wrote. I definately recommend Terrier.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    GREAT BOOK!!!

    I love all of Tamora Pierce's books and this is by far one of my favorites. The characters in the story are great and the plot is even better. This is an amazing, MUST READ book for all Pierce fans.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    One of the bestbooks I have ever read!

    I know these books are directed towards women and young women. But I am an adult male and I love this book. I will be honest and say that the cover is what made me read the book. Beka Cooper was my first Tamora Pierce book and I have read 14 of hear books since. She has a very good way of letting you get to know her characters andfeel like you are there with them.

    I promise you if you read thisbookyou will not be disapointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Awesome!

    This book arrived on time, and was in the condition described. It is also a great read and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys strong heroines and a little magic!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    A must read!!!!

    This book is fantastic!!! I couldn't put it down. I love the character beka the best out of all the tamora pierce characters because she is just beka. Not the kings champion or lady knight she is just beka. I can't wait to get the rest of the series!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Terrier deserves a Bone

    I loved this book! Terrier is the first adveture of Beka Cooper as a Puppy (a Dog-in-training, which is kind of like Tortall's version of a police force). Beka experiances a few of the cliche coming-of-age plot events but Tamora Pierce gets into her groove and creates an adventure that is as colorful and interesting as her other Tortall books. Readers get a more in depth look at the Court of the Rogue (as seen in Song of the Lioness). Readers also get to see more of the black cat Faithful (Song of the Lioness), who is now known as Pounce, Beka's guide and an honorary member of the Jane Street Kennel (the station that Beka is attached to). I really enjoyed this book and I would recommend it to anyone who loves adventure and good detective work!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    ONE OF HER BEST - BUT DON'T READ FURTHER

    This was one of my favorites of Pierce's. I loved Beka and all her friends. They all had something to add to the story and were all interesting characters. None of them were flat and they added humor and aid while helping Beka out with her chases. This book is awesome and introduces another great heroine. She struggles with her shyness and being able to complete the job she was born to do. The progression of her relationships with all of her friends were believable and I loved watching them settle into their friendships.
    This book should have been a stand alone novel. Pierce destroyed Beka's character and those of all her friends in the upcoming novels. I wish I had not read the later two novels and had stopped at this one and left my unblemished image of Pierce in place. I became completely disappointed in Pierce and the story.
    I do not want to give any stories away but if you loved this book as I do, DO NOT READ FURTHER.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    :)

    I have always wondered if Bekka is descendant of George and Alanna...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    Wonderful story - strong heroine

    I really enjoy all of Tamora Pierce books but the Beka Cooper series is my favorite. The author's imagination helps to develop unusual special magic powers. This heroine is well developed. I recommend it for readers of all ages who enjoy fantasy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    C

    C

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Interesting

    I couldn't put this book down. It is full of action and adventure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this

    I love the characters in this book. The plot also had the appealing protect the weak theme that I enjoyed in the protector of the small series. I was afraid Tammy had run out of interesting characters and ideas for books after I read the Aly Cooper series, which I didn't really like. Reading this book proved that there are still some great stories to come from Tamora Pierce.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    Amazing!

    This book was incredible! I loved it. The plot is great, the characters are realistic and likable. I highly suggest it.
    Warning: The second book it horrible in comparison.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ausome!

    I absolutly 100% loved this book and cant wait to read bloodhound!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2009

    One of the best books.

    I've read all of the books that tamora pierce has published, but this was one of the best books. It had so many different things and the plot waz really awesome.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read!

    Tamora Pierce's writing style just keeps getting better and better, and it's nice to see her experimenting with new formats. This book is comprised of journal entries, most from the title character. Rather than limiting the scope of the plot or character development, the reader is able to discover and explore the world of the novel with Beka herself, which holds the reader's interest. For those who have read the other Tortall series, the reappearance of a familiar character is welcome. This book is suitable for everyone who enjoys a good story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2009

    MRSMcintyre6thASHWIN

    This book was great. It had a great story line and awesome characters. The book was hard to get into in the beginning because it added a lot of characters. As soon as I got a hold of all the names, it turned out to be a great read. I suggest this book for any age group because any person can relate to Beka in her situation. There was a lot of action in the book right from the beginning and went on through the end making the book exciting. Pounce was definitely my favorite character. Also, I like how the author used journal entries. It gave an exciting twist on the story. All in all this book is a definite good read for anyone out there. I can¿t wait to start on the next one in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    This has me coming back for more

    Tamora Pierce has once again created a fantastic novel for her readers. it sucks you in and never spits you out. Usually, a book with have some slow and/or boring parts that you really don't need, but this book has none. It is fun, created, mysterious and goes a smooth, cool pace. I love this book and all of my friends agree.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    OMG I ADORE THIS BOOK!!

    okay i love tamora peirce, so i read the flap for this book, i loved it almost instatly!! the first time i checked it out of the library was i think a year and a half ago. i've checked out twelve times since, i've even done book reports on it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 287 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15