Customer Reviews for

Terrier (Beka Cooper Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 286 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(228)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Tamora Peirce has done it again!

I got hooked to Tamora Peirce when I was proably in the 7th or 8th grade. I wore out the copies of Alanna and Daine's books at the library, and put a good hurting on the hardback copies of Keladry's story. Even as I got older, and the librarian started to comment on the...
I got hooked to Tamora Peirce when I was proably in the 7th or 8th grade. I wore out the copies of Alanna and Daine's books at the library, and put a good hurting on the hardback copies of Keladry's story. Even as I got older, and the librarian started to comment on the books they had for the older age groups I now fell in, I still came back again and again to the back of the bottom shelf where they were kept. So understand that this review is written with the bias of an unwavering fan. :)

The characters was excellent, and not at all what I expected. Beka, the ancestor of George Cooper, was not the girl I had imagined Peirce would write when I first heard about the possibility of the series, years ago. Instead she is an average girl that most can relate with.

I thought the diary entries would throw me off, since most of the journal style books I have read do. But Peirce kept the entries even and detailed, and the plot moves quickly, so it didn't bother me as much as I thought.

Terrier is an excellent read and I highly recommend it, especialy for preteen and early teen girls.

posted by Chrissy_Mae on May 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Horrible

O.k her other books are amazing but this book just DRAAAAAGED on and on. The book got no where! I regularly read huge books but this book didnt make me want to keep reading, and trust me i tried. I woudn't recommend this book but the lioness series are really good

posted by Anonymous on August 31, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 228 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted May 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Tamora Peirce has done it again!

    I got hooked to Tamora Peirce when I was proably in the 7th or 8th grade. I wore out the copies of Alanna and Daine's books at the library, and put a good hurting on the hardback copies of Keladry's story. Even as I got older, and the librarian started to comment on the books they had for the older age groups I now fell in, I still came back again and again to the back of the bottom shelf where they were kept. So understand that this review is written with the bias of an unwavering fan. :)

    The characters was excellent, and not at all what I expected. Beka, the ancestor of George Cooper, was not the girl I had imagined Peirce would write when I first heard about the possibility of the series, years ago. Instead she is an average girl that most can relate with.

    I thought the diary entries would throw me off, since most of the journal style books I have read do. But Peirce kept the entries even and detailed, and the plot moves quickly, so it didn't bother me as much as I thought.

    Terrier is an excellent read and I highly recommend it, especialy for preteen and early teen girls.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved it

    Terrier started off slowly with all the different journal entries from various people, but after that, the story picked up quickly. I thought the idea of the Dogs was brilliant. Beka's strength and determination was refreshing. All the characters, especially Goodwin and Tunsall, were realistic and shared Beka's quick eagerness. I enjoyed the journal format, especially when Beka's mood or sleepiness clearly changed how she wrote. I definately recommend Terrier.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    GREAT BOOK!!!

    I love all of Tamora Pierce's books and this is by far one of my favorites. The characters in the story are great and the plot is even better. This is an amazing, MUST READ book for all Pierce fans.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    One of the bestbooks I have ever read!

    I know these books are directed towards women and young women. But I am an adult male and I love this book. I will be honest and say that the cover is what made me read the book. Beka Cooper was my first Tamora Pierce book and I have read 14 of hear books since. She has a very good way of letting you get to know her characters andfeel like you are there with them.

    I promise you if you read thisbookyou will not be disapointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Awesome!

    This book arrived on time, and was in the condition described. It is also a great read and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys strong heroines and a little magic!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    A must read!!!!

    This book is fantastic!!! I couldn't put it down. I love the character beka the best out of all the tamora pierce characters because she is just beka. Not the kings champion or lady knight she is just beka. I can't wait to get the rest of the series!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    ONE OF HER BEST - BUT DON'T READ FURTHER

    This was one of my favorites of Pierce's. I loved Beka and all her friends. They all had something to add to the story and were all interesting characters. None of them were flat and they added humor and aid while helping Beka out with her chases. This book is awesome and introduces another great heroine. She struggles with her shyness and being able to complete the job she was born to do. The progression of her relationships with all of her friends were believable and I loved watching them settle into their friendships.
    This book should have been a stand alone novel. Pierce destroyed Beka's character and those of all her friends in the upcoming novels. I wish I had not read the later two novels and had stopped at this one and left my unblemished image of Pierce in place. I became completely disappointed in Pierce and the story.
    I do not want to give any stories away but if you loved this book as I do, DO NOT READ FURTHER.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    C

    C

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Interesting

    I couldn't put this book down. It is full of action and adventure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this

    I love the characters in this book. The plot also had the appealing protect the weak theme that I enjoyed in the protector of the small series. I was afraid Tammy had run out of interesting characters and ideas for books after I read the Aly Cooper series, which I didn't really like. Reading this book proved that there are still some great stories to come from Tamora Pierce.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    Amazing!

    This book was incredible! I loved it. The plot is great, the characters are realistic and likable. I highly suggest it.
    Warning: The second book it horrible in comparison.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ausome!

    I absolutly 100% loved this book and cant wait to read bloodhound!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2009

    One of the best books.

    I've read all of the books that tamora pierce has published, but this was one of the best books. It had so many different things and the plot waz really awesome.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read!

    Tamora Pierce's writing style just keeps getting better and better, and it's nice to see her experimenting with new formats. This book is comprised of journal entries, most from the title character. Rather than limiting the scope of the plot or character development, the reader is able to discover and explore the world of the novel with Beka herself, which holds the reader's interest. For those who have read the other Tortall series, the reappearance of a familiar character is welcome. This book is suitable for everyone who enjoys a good story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    This has me coming back for more

    Tamora Pierce has once again created a fantastic novel for her readers. it sucks you in and never spits you out. Usually, a book with have some slow and/or boring parts that you really don't need, but this book has none. It is fun, created, mysterious and goes a smooth, cool pace. I love this book and all of my friends agree.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    OMG I ADORE THIS BOOK!!

    okay i love tamora peirce, so i read the flap for this book, i loved it almost instatly!! the first time i checked it out of the library was i think a year and a half ago. i've checked out twelve times since, i've even done book reports on it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jocelyn Pearce for TeensReadToo.com

    TERRIER is the latest from a brilliant author whose earlier works you've got to read if you haven't already! My expectations for this book, as it is by Tamora Pierce, were, of course, quite high, and I was not disappointed. This might be my new favorite of hers (though it still might be beat out by the SONG OF THE LIONESS quartet--it's close), which is certainly saying a lot. <BR/><BR/>It's the story of Beka Cooper, a Lower City girl and member of the Provost's Guard who lives centuries before Alanna the Lioness and those characters of her world known to fans of Tamora Pierce's other work. Beka lives in the dark time spoken of in one of the Alanna books when every sword, whether held by a man or a woman, was needed. Indeed, Alanna was not the first Lady Knight; hundreds of years before, women could earn their shields without having to hide who they were. In fact, one of the many fascinating characters known to Beka is a Lady Knight named Sabine. She reminded me of Alanna. Mattes, one of the guardsmen whose job it is to train Beka in their ways, reminds me of one of Alanna's friends, Raoul. Rosto is quite like George Cooper (whose ancestor Beka is!), as well. And fans of the SONG OF THE LIONESS quartet will also recognize Beka's cat, Pounce! <BR/><BR/>When Beka trains to be a Puppy in the Guard, she knows someday she'll be a Dog, and she wants to be a good one. She's quite excited to be assigned to one of the best pairs in the Lower City; indeed, in all of Corus! She knows it'll be hard work, that Mattes and Clary will work her hard, but she's ready for it. This is what she wants to do. She's aided by her friends, her cat, and her magical Gifts of listening to the winds and to the pigeons who carry the souls of the dead. <BR/><BR/>Soon after she starts her work, Beka learns of some dangerous goings-on in the Lower City, and it's up to her to stop it, as only a true Lower City girl could--one with Beka's listening talents, at that. She knows the people, she knows their ways, and she is uniquely fit for figuring out what's going on in her neighborhood, and that is what she will do. <BR/><BR/>The format of TERRIER is different from that of Pierce's other books. It's told as Beka's journal, for one thing, meaning it's in first person. All of her other novels are in third person! It's certainly a change, but she does quite well with it. The only problem is the length of some of these journal entries! Beka is tired from her work as a Puppy; she's not going to write twenty, thirty pages in her journal at night! She probably won't even remember enough to write such long entries! That is the only flaw I found in this book, and that's easy to overlook. This is a page-turner, a wonderfully written story, with amazing characters. Whether you're a fan of Tamora Pierce, of fantasy, or of books in general, read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A gritty cop book with a twist

    This book is a must read for any Tamora Pierce fans, or any fantasy reader for that matter. If you haven't read any of the Tortall books, this is a great place to start! The story takes place about 200 years before Alanna went for her shield. The writing style very entertaining. It's written as Beka Cooper's journal, so there's a lot of insight. Beka is a strong, quick minded heroine who's not afraid to get her hands dirty. The characters are realalistic and easy to relate to. I'm sure I'm not alone when I say I can't wait for the next one to come out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2008

    Snap!

    amazing book. pierce is never a let down as an author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2007

    Pretty Good

    I feel that this book was very well written.Beka's character was very three dimensional and came alive very easily. The fourty or so pages irked me though. It was to cliche i think the execution of the writing could have been much much better. She kept saying how Tunstal and Goodwin were the best and that no one had them...but walla she gets them. Yes she could have use the plot line but it was executed in such a obnoxiously cliche manner that i was about to drop it. But it got a lot better. The rest of the book is set in a very lively pace and althought the first person diary format is not my favorite it still kept me going. The duel cases set a very mysterious/exciting atmosphere. I feel She has a problem introducing characters/situations cause she is very obviouse about it but now that she has them set i'm sure the next book will be infinitely better. oh... and the language of the lower city took some getting used to because it was sorta hard to muck through it. After you get used to it though and it just becomes natural. Yup i loved it-except for the begining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 228 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12