Customer Reviews for

Terrier (Beka Cooper Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 286 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(228)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Tamora Peirce has done it again!

I got hooked to Tamora Peirce when I was proably in the 7th or 8th grade. I wore out the copies of Alanna and Daine's books at the library, and put a good hurting on the hardback copies of Keladry's story. Even as I got older, and the librarian started to comment on the...
I got hooked to Tamora Peirce when I was proably in the 7th or 8th grade. I wore out the copies of Alanna and Daine's books at the library, and put a good hurting on the hardback copies of Keladry's story. Even as I got older, and the librarian started to comment on the books they had for the older age groups I now fell in, I still came back again and again to the back of the bottom shelf where they were kept. So understand that this review is written with the bias of an unwavering fan. :)

The characters was excellent, and not at all what I expected. Beka, the ancestor of George Cooper, was not the girl I had imagined Peirce would write when I first heard about the possibility of the series, years ago. Instead she is an average girl that most can relate with.

I thought the diary entries would throw me off, since most of the journal style books I have read do. But Peirce kept the entries even and detailed, and the plot moves quickly, so it didn't bother me as much as I thought.

Terrier is an excellent read and I highly recommend it, especialy for preteen and early teen girls.

posted by Chrissy_Mae on May 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Horrible

O.k her other books are amazing but this book just DRAAAAAGED on and on. The book got no where! I regularly read huge books but this book didnt make me want to keep reading, and trust me i tried. I woudn't recommend this book but the lioness series are really good

posted by Anonymous on August 31, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 228 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    I enjoyed this book alot, it gave a more in depth book to what Tortall was like before King Jonathon and his father's reign. I also liked that it showed the lower class side of Tortall, lets us know that its not all nobles and splendor. It did tie in the noblity well using names we have seen in her other books but the focus was the city dwellers and it showed what life was like for them. It shows the reader that there really where female knights and that they were well respected and not unusual. This book re-sparked my love for Tamora's writing and I have read and reread her books. I like that the cat is seen in this book as well it lets the reader know that even through hundreds of years there is still a conection to the Tortall that we all love. I cannot wait for the next book in the series and am eagerly awaiting its arrival, even though I have to what a year or two.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    This is a book i read over and over!

    WOW! i LOVE this book. I normally don't like books that are like journals, but wow this one i love! I love how finally there is a heroine who is SHY, but still gets out there in all the action! it is one of the best books i've read. I can't wait till the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2007

    Wonderful

    This book is absolutely amazing! Tamora Pierce is my favorite non-classic author. I'm a huge fan of magic and medieval-fantasy, so putting them both together in all her books is fantastic. I can't wait for the second book to come out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2007

    Pox and Murrain! This book was actually good!

    I loved this book! Normally I'm not a great fan of Tamora Pierce and I only read her books if I have nothing else to read but this book was a nice surprise. Beka Cooper was a great character, she was shy, she made mistakes but she was still tough. The other characters were great also. What I liked most about this book was the unique slang that the lower city Dogs used ( like doxie, trull, mot, cove etc.). Overall this was a great book that I would recommend to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2007

    One of the best books Tamora Pierce has writen yet!!!

    In this book Tamora Pierce tells the story of Beka Cooper. Tamora Pierce has made such a wonderful story this time. I got hooked on her Alanna series, and I have read all of the series based in Tortall. Out of all her books I would have to say this is one of her best. Tamora Pierce trully makes you question everything in this book. The more you read it and the stranger the book gets the less you ever want to stop reading it. I was heart broken at the end by not knowing what will happen next. Now I'm waiting for the second book to be released to see how Beka contiues to shock everyone with her ablilities.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2007

    Wonderful!

    I recieved this book for my birthday though I had had my eye on it for some time and I absolutely loved it. Even more than The Protector of the Small or any of the other quartets written. I finished the book in almost three days and loved every part of it. I don't think that any of the parts in this story dragged or were boring. To much excitment all at once would rush things and make it too fast paced. I prefer the books that keep me guessing and anxious. Loved how Pierce wrote this one in first person. A refreshing read. I recommend this book to those who also enjoy the other series written by Tamora Pierce. And to anyone else too. Can't wait for the the next installment! Keep up the good work Tamora Pierce!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2007

    Worth the Read

    It seemed lately with Tamora Pierce's books, the heroines seemed to mesh together, but Beka was surprisingly refreshing. A shy character is new to Pierce's work (Kel doesn't count, because she had that 'tough' feel to her) and the setting was unusual as well. The characters of Goodwin and Tunstall were appealing as well. Very worth the read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2007

    Outstanding!

    I didn't expect anymore or less from Tamora Pierce she is the best writer there is! The book was awesome, sometimes there was a boring part but, she always added the excitement in the next pages. I recommend this series to anybody.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2007

    BEST EVER!!!!

    I love this book and this author, it was a bit boring at times but it always picked up. I wouldn't expect less from Pierce since i read all her books and enjoyed everyone (more or less) I Recommend this book for all fantasy lovers and if u read any of her previous books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2006

    Unputdownable

    Honestly I hardly ever say this but this book truely is unputdownable. Do not be fooled by the begining. There are two jurnal entries at the beginging, I found a little heard to read actally. After you get past that though, best she's written. I have been a loyal reader and have read all her books. This author has a style all of her own and it works. Keep up the good work girl! We still love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2006

    One of the GREATEST books Tamora has written yet!

    I was blown away at by this novel. It is very vivid. It is also written in a very different style than Tamora's other books. I highly recomend reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2006

    Bookworm07

    Terrier was yet another of Tamora's fabulously written books. Although a little different from her others, it was still outstanding. I read it in 2 days, I just could not put the book down. It was a real page turner. I can't wait for the next one. It's going to be another great series by the great Tamora Pierce.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2006

    Classic Pierce At Its Best

    Terrier is different, but just as good as Tamora Pierce's other novels. I've been reading her books for at least five or six years and they never fail to make me happy. Beka is a very good, strong heroine, with her faults and her strengths, friends and enemies, and her Dogs. Each of the characters is, as usual, wholly three-dimensional and I get a sense for all of them. Although first-person narration is new to Ms. Pierce, she pulls it off expertly. I also enjoyed the Lower City slang and, of course, seeing Faithful again (this time as Pounce). Of course, the thought of Beka as George's ancestress - her an upholder of the law, him King of the Rogues (before becoming a [mostly] upstanding citizen) - is just so amusing. Overall, it's a well-rounded book combining all of the best elements of a classic Tamora Pierce novel. Maybe it doesn't top the Song of the Lioness quartet, but it is an outright amazing book nonetheless.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2006

    AMAZING!

    once again, another amazing one by Pierce, expect more good ones to follow in this series, you'll be hooked!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2006

    AWESOME

    This book was sooo good! I loved how it was unique and different from any of her other books about Tortall. I wish she had included the ancestors of more of the characters from her other books too, however. The characters were funny and tough, and the dialect rich with new words unheard in Tortall(i.e. mots and coves, scummer, cracknob, mumper) and it was nice that this book was told in the perspective of a poorer girl instead of a noble! Great work Ms.Pierce and please keep it up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2007

    Amazing...couldn't stop reading it!!!

    I was another outstanding story by Pierce. She has such talent! I held me through everything, finished it in 2 days(one if not for school).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2006

    Unbelievable!!!

    I finished this book within a day, and I thuroughly(sry about the spelling) enjoyed it!!!I have always been a fan of Tamora Pierces' book (even though I was highly disappointed with the Circle of Magic series). She brings back the history of Tortall in a new light that is enjoyable to read!! Highly recommended!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2006

    AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Tamora has really outdone herself. the narrative is new and very well done. I won't even get started on how good the plot was. YOU MUST READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2006

    an Excellent book

    I LOVED this book. It was my first book to read out of the tamora Pierce books and I enjoyed it GREATLY! Once I picked up the book i just couldn't put it back down. For those of you who do not like fantasy novels, this book is great way to get start your journy toward them. It has a hint of fantasy feeling and a lot of action and mystery...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2006

    Excellent

    If you a fan of Harry Potter and Eragon your gonna love this book. Gritty crime drama/fantasy. Pierce creates her own world and it is rich and good. This book predates her previous Tortall Novels so she has changed enough to give it real meat. All the characters are great. I have been reading her books since I was in Junior High. I'm thirty now and it nice to know she is still writing great fantasy and fiction and Inspiring girls everywhere.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 228 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 12