BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Territory

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2007

    a splendid, thrilling read!

    When I heard that a known literary fantasy writer like Bull had taken on a story set in Tombstone during the time before the gunfight at the OK Corral (a subject about which I have a certain amount of knowledge and affection), I HAD to read it. I was well rewarded. This is a straightforward story with mystery and secrets in every corner. There is always a feeling of portents at the reader's back, even when events seem to roll along an unobstructed track. While her take on certain historical characters won't match everyone's, it makes sense within what is known of them and within the story. All of her characters are well-constructed. Even the secondary characters are made three-dimensional without too much time taken from the main tale. The story of the Tombstone women story is as important as the men's villains are shown to have a good side, while those who turn to ill also reveal what is good in them. I rarely find so much complexity in a story that appears as clean-cut as a classic western. The magic is very down to earth and believable, as is the life of the widowed typesetter/reporter. Bull does a great job of depicting the life and constraints of the Chinese of the period without being pitying or condescending: it is at it is. This is the best adult fantasy I've read in a long time!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Bluebird

    After finishing the last few bundles, he nodded ay Cedarpaw "Lets head back" Blue meowed and grasped the moss in his jaws.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    cedarpaw

    Nodded and followed him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    RUSSET PACK

    TERRITORY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Thank you for Jesse Fox. Thank you for Mildred Benjamin. Thank y

    Thank you for Jesse Fox. Thank you for Mildred Benjamin. Thank you for Chu. Mostly, thank you for a Tombstone with bones and flesh and spirit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Great read, sort of an unfinished ending though.

    Great read, sort of an unfinished ending though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Banditstar

    "Okay!" Follows her. ~Banditstar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    Territory is a fine read

    “The land around them was flattened by the shadowless light, and seemed almost as impossible to walk into as a painting. Wyatt appeared to have no trouble, though.”

    “He’d thought he was the wildfire. Now he knew he was only the tree.” [Doc Holiday]

    … from Territory by Emma Bull

    Just finished Emma Bull’s novel, Territory. So good. It was like stepping back in time and seeing the private lives of historical figures revealed — from an angle you might never have expected. I want a sequel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    A must read for elemental magic enthusiasts

    After War of the Oaks I was hooked, if I see the name Emma Bull I MUST buy the book. This book surprised me in all the right ways. A well researched historical with the addition of Elemental Magic dragged me away. I could not put it down. It reminded me of Mercedes Lackey's Fire Rose which delighted my heart. Any time East meets West magic in the old west I am intrigued. If this book were made into a movie it would be on par with The 7 Faces of Dr Lao, a favorite of mine.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2008

    Another good read

    The vividness of a good movie, savoured at the pace of words on the page.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fascinating and exciting historical fantasy

    In Tombstone in the Arizona Territory, Wyatt Earp seems to run things though he was defeated in the race for sheriff. Doc Holiday, who is dying of consumption, is in remission, and he believes it has something to do with Wyatt who needs him and regards him as part of his family. As long as Wyatt can draw on the support of his family including Doc, he is a power to be reckoned with, a man who always gets what he wants. --- Jesse Fox was summoned to Tombstone by his friend and mentor, the powerful sorcerer Lung Chow. He stays because his friend needs him and because of his interest in typesetter, journalist and writer Mildred Benjamin. He becomes Wyatt¿s enemy when he helps a prisoner escape, someone Earp wants hung to protect his brother who was one of the gang that tried to rob a stagecoach and ended up killing a man. When Lung is murdered, Jesse vows to avenge his death even if it means becoming a sorcerer like his friend was. --- This is a fascinating and exciting historical fantasy in the tradition of Judith Tarr. Emma Bull¿s take of the legend of Wyatt Earp, Doc Holliday and other famous men of the Wild West is fascinating. Jesse grows and changes as he learns to accept the fact that he is a conjurer and he ends up using his rookie powers in a High Noon fight at the OK Corral to neutralize an experienced sorcerer who has too long not been held accountable for the murders he committed. TERRITORY is a spellbinding tale of the good and dark side of magic. --- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2