Customer Reviews for

The Terror

Average Rating 4
( 206 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A terrifyingly superb historical fiction!

I first picked this book up because the cover caught my eye and so did the unbelievable price at $5.98. After reading about the book I could not stop thinking about it, so one day I started reading it and could not put it down! It jumps you right into the story of the...
I first picked this book up because the cover caught my eye and so did the unbelievable price at $5.98. After reading about the book I could not stop thinking about it, so one day I started reading it and could not put it down! It jumps you right into the story of the Franklin Expedition and the two boats that get lost in the frozen seas. However, starvation, disease, and mutiny are not the crew's only enemy, the bigger threat is the intelligent beast that lives out on the ice that seems intent on the destruction of all living things aboard these two vessels.

posted by Caravaggio on November 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not quite "Terror"

I usually do not get frightened by novels, but was expecting a little more from this one. I found myself much more interested in the story behind the Franklin Expedition and the problems associated with the journey, rather than the attacks by the arctic beast. With this...
I usually do not get frightened by novels, but was expecting a little more from this one. I found myself much more interested in the story behind the Franklin Expedition and the problems associated with the journey, rather than the attacks by the arctic beast. With this in mind, the expedition element to the novel also became rather stale after a while. The novel seemed to drag once getting about midway. I am surprised at the positive response that this novel received. However, some positives were the characters and the detail of the journey.

posted by Ingsoc on August 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A terrifyingly superb historical fiction!

    I first picked this book up because the cover caught my eye and so did the unbelievable price at $5.98. After reading about the book I could not stop thinking about it, so one day I started reading it and could not put it down! It jumps you right into the story of the Franklin Expedition and the two boats that get lost in the frozen seas. However, starvation, disease, and mutiny are not the crew's only enemy, the bigger threat is the intelligent beast that lives out on the ice that seems intent on the destruction of all living things aboard these two vessels.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent and Nightmare Inducing

    I originally bought this book for my husband and only read it as a fluke, but once I opened it up, I couldn't put it down, even though at times I had to actually go outside and sit in the bright daylight to get the images of cold and death out of my mind. Character development, plot and even the rather inexplicable supernatural element all were handled masterfully, and added up to a novel that truly makes the reader not only examine the essence of evil but absorb it to the point of actual fear. The well-crafted prose style and references to Hobbes' Leviathon and Poe's Masque of the Red Death add a period authenticity to what might otherwise be something of a Stephen King knock-off. I give this book my highest recommendation.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Don't Let the Size Deter You

    What a great book! I purchased it for the supernatural aspect, but ended up enjoying it much more for the wonderful characters, great descriptive writing, and endless suspense. I will admit that the first 100 or so pages weren't that gripping, but after that hump...wow. I couldn't put it down. A great book that also reminds us that sometimes human beings are more of a monster than the unknown entity in this story. At 700+ pages, don't let the size put you off. It's well worth the time you invest in reading it!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2007

    ONE OF THE BEST READS EVER!

    The story of John Franklin's ill-fated expedition to search for the Northwest Passage is one of those rare books you will put off your job, your favorite TV show, your dinner, your life in general, to read! It is 700+ well written pages of harrowing, exciting, undistilled adventure. If you like stories of man against the elements--explorers going to uncharted areas of extreme climes, mountain climbers clinging to the faces of Everest and K-2, fishermen facing giant seas, etc. you will LOVE this book. Not only does the reader have this high excitement to enjoy, there are supernatural and spiritual elements as well. Or are there? the characters are wonderfully well fleshed, from the dour, often drunk, Captain Crozier, an irritable Irishman who knows he will not be promoted futher in Her Majesty's Navy to Dr Goodsir, ships surgeon, who, unsure of himself at first, at last remains utterly true to the self he has found. THE TERROR shows mankind at its best as well, of course, at its worst. There is death in abundance, noble deaths abound-- as do the ignoble, the stoic and cowardly--and the mysterious. Dan Simmons, always a good writer, has really outdone himself with this one and I hope he reprises himself with at least one other failed expedition. I can hear the ca-chiiig at the box office now! Spielberg gets my vote. And who is that dead man in the bed anyway? Bravo Dan! (I'd have given it 10 stars if I were able!)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    Exciting

    I read a review of this book and form that review i decided to buy it. I am only half way through but i already love this book. The fact that the main sotry is based on actual events is really interesting, i find myself reading everything i can find now on the true story of the Franklin Expedition. The characters in the novel very likeable or hateable whatever the case may be but i enjoy taking this crazy journey with them.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    A reviewer

    It's rare that i get a hold of a book that doesn't let me go, but this is one of those books. I read it every available second i had, could not put it down. Some of the characters became my friends and some became my worst enemies. In the end, I wanted to slow down so as not to lose my friends, but couldn't because I HAD to know what happened to everyone. It was sad and creepy and thrilling and satisfying all at once. Dan Simmons makes you FEEL the cold of the Arctic and the terror the men experience from not only 'the thing on the ice' but from everything they must face. I highly recommend this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    REVIEWED: The Terror WRITTEN BY: Dan Simmons PUBLISHED: 2009 Up

    REVIEWED: The Terror
    WRITTEN BY: Dan Simmons
    PUBLISHED: 2009

    Up until the ending, this book was flawless. Not to take anything away from the ending – it was okay – but just not as powerful as the rest of this book. And when I say powerful, I mean my-heart-was-racing-and-I-could-not–put-this-down sensational. This is really just one of the best books I’ve read in the past few years, which is no small amount.

    The Terror is written from multiple points of view from the perspective of a crew of 126 sailors aboard two ships that are seeking the Northwest Passage in 1845. The ships become crushed by ice in an abnormally frigid ocean that keeps them prisoner for several years. Not only must the men fight the Arctic elements and starvation to remain alive, but an evil creature begins to attack the trapped vessels, picking off the sailors one-by-one.

    Imagine the movie ALIENS or John Carpenter’s THE THING if set aboard sinking ships in the mid-nineteenth century. Then add in cannibalism, rats, years-long misery, murder, mutiny, lots of rum, mysterious Eskimos, rich mythology, and a demonic creature that can apparently move through the ocean ice. Yes, my fingernails were gnawed to the quick.

    Dan Simmons has an amazing voice in his writing, able to transport the reader into the established rules and rigid beliefs of Victorian-era sailors. Not only that, but the author makes you feel the “cold” of the ice, the “hunger” of slowly starving to death, and the “fear” of being hunted by a creature that is only glimpsed.

    As I mentioned, the ending was my only issue. Not that it was bad, just… a “change” in the writing perspective which made sense to the story arc but still left me somewhat deflated.

    Warning for all: This book is tragic and depressing. It is an amazing story of exploration and survival, but readers who don’t like it regularly complain of its despondency. This is true – it is 765 pages of gut-wrenching despair although, also, told in such beautiful prose that it still covers the whole gambit of other human emotions.

    Six out of Five stars (see what I did there?)


    Midnight cheers,

    Eric

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2009

    Lots of terror

    900 pages and it is still too short. Didn't want it to end. Great read !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    The Terror by Dan Simmons

    Another historical fiction from Dan Simmons. A great, but long, read about the Franklin Expedition to the north pole. Nice supernatural touches added to the storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    The Terror,both the Title of the book and the name of the ill-fa

    The Terror,both the Title of the book and the name of the ill-fated ice-breaker from a late 1800's polar expedition is a multi-dimensional classic
    It combines historical fiction,horror,and .thrilling adventure all in one very long but never boring epic saga. Once again,Dan Simmons creates characters
    both unforgettable and real.The story is of two ice breakers from the late 1800's on an expedition at the North Pole to find a way through the
    NorthWest Passage.The plot is thick with mythos,horror,strife and human struggles. Dan Simmons captures the culture,attitudes
     and practices of the 19th Century .The "terror" out in the frozen dark icy North Pole stalking the men stuck for years in the ice is nothing
    compared to the horror of  mere survival,both physically and mentally.The men aboard the two ice breakers in the years trapped
     in the ice are alive and real and you will find yourself experiencing their trials  and miseries with them
    .It grips you and does not release you even after having finished the book. This classic has everything-mystery,
    drama,horror,exquisite detail,emotion,sorrow,thrill,and edge of your seat,nail biting suspense.This novel is
    not for readers with short attention spans or the faint of heart.It is written in a style reminiscent of the
     classics that actually were written in that time period,lending a further sense of being there....You don't have to
    be high brow to read The Terror....but it has elements of mastery that are found in true literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Historical Fiction Meets Epic Tale of Horror

    I really liked the way Simmons combined historical elements and research on Eskimo tribes to craft a superb story with elements of human and other horrors the crew may have experienced. This book also left me intrigued about the arctic and the famed Northwest Passage. It also made me feel lucky that although this has been a cold winter, it is all relative! ;-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Fantastic Book!  Dan Simmons takes history and puts a new spin o

    Fantastic Book!  Dan Simmons takes history and puts a new spin on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Anonymous

    Not the story I thought I was buying but mesmerizing nonetheless. I could not put it down. Didn't even got bed last night as I was finishing up this amazing journey. Loved the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Excellent book.

    At first I wasn't sure I could get into the book because of the way it was written, but I never gave up and it was really a good read. I was completely happy the way it ended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Imaginative historical fiction

    Imaginative historical fiction

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Loved the story

    Mixing horror with history made a very harrowing tale all the more terrifying. I love long detailed novels, this may be too long for some readers. Well worth the effort!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    This book was exciting from start to finish. A must read for an

    This book was exciting from start to finish. A must read for anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    I can see where this book would be offputting to some - it's lon

    I can see where this book would be offputting to some - it's long, has it's spots where it drags, and the ending was kind of...abrupt. But it's one of my favorite books; I bought a used copy of it from the library for a $1 years ago and was excited to see it was available for the nook. It's going to be a book you either love or hate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Tough read!

    This is definitely a tough read but I think it's totally worth it. After you read this book you might feel that someone manipulated your senses in a good way. Read it twice and was rewarded with two totally different reading experiences. That is what a great book does to you but you earn it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Transports you to the arctic

    Excellent story about the Franklin expedition. This novel is overflowing with history; there is an enormous section of references for further reading that will enhance your understanding of the story. When I read this book, I could feel the cold, the hunger, and you find yourself thinking like the crewmembers. This is one of those stories that I still think about all the time. Seldom does a novel stick with you long after you read. I read this last winter and I can recall the week I tore through this book, remembering the experiemce as if I had left for the arctic myself. This will also show you the darker side of humanity, and how we might change when faced with evolving circumstamces. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6