Customer Reviews for

Terror by Night: The True Story of the Brutal Texas Murder That Destroyed a Family, Restored One Man's Faith, and Shocked a Nation

Average Rating 4
( 142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Terror by Night

Terry Caffey with James H. Pence
2009
Tyndale House Publishing
Non-fiction/True Crime

Reviewed by Cindy Loven

Terry Caffey, has truly lived a nightmare, no one should ever have to live. His family murdered, his house burned down, and himself left for dead, he t...
Terry Caffey with James H. Pence
2009
Tyndale House Publishing
Non-fiction/True Crime

Reviewed by Cindy Loven

Terry Caffey, has truly lived a nightmare, no one should ever have to live. His family murdered, his house burned down, and himself left for dead, he thinks he is the only surviving member of his family.

To his delight, then horror, he discovers his daughter has survived, however she was involved with the murders. In fact the District Attorney, believes she is the master mind behind the plot to kill Terry, his wife and children.

How does a man face life alone, with his wife and son's brutally ripped from his life. How does a man face the truth that his sixteen year old daughter whom he has loved and raised, was part of the plan to kill them all? Only through the grace of God.

Terror by Night is a story of horror at the things that happen to the Caffey family. It is also a story of the grace of God, who touches and moves in Terry's life, bringing hope again to him. This book will have you sobbing for what is lost, and puzzling over the questions of why, how and what reason. A book of restored faith, redemptive power and God's love.

This book is most definitely a book to share with others. 260 pages $22.99 US 4 stars

This book was provided for review purposes only, no cash or payment was received for this review.

posted by LovenGod on October 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Inspiring....but in wrong category

While the story is very inspirational about the author's trials after the murders of his wife and two sons by their daughter and her friends, it shouldn't be in the True Crime category. Very little time was spent on the actual events of the crime. Most of the book was a...
While the story is very inspirational about the author's trials after the murders of his wife and two sons by their daughter and her friends, it shouldn't be in the True Crime category. Very little time was spent on the actual events of the crime. Most of the book was about his relationship with God and ow he coped with his loss. As far as Inspiration I would give it 4 1/2 stars, but for its True Crime content it would rate only 1 star.

posted by 4751711 on February 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Excellent

    To read this story in Terry's words and listen to his thoughts was remarkable. So much more interesting than your regular crime story. God bless Terry Caffey.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Close to home

    This story happened not far from my home and I read the news but this brought the whole story together

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Saw the show

    I saw the show and it's a great story. Its sad but a great story

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    An inspiring book about the power of forgiving...

    Because I am in Texas I had heard of this tragedy and wanted to read this book. I'm glad I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    Highly Recemmended

    Great lesson on the act of forgiveness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Great

    I bet charlie told her if they were to live together they have to kill her parents

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Must read

    Awesome

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Amazing book

    Very sad and tragic story but makes you believe that God does work in mysterious ways to overcome the unthinkable.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Please Read!

    Sad but wonderful story on forgiveness and building that necessary relationship with God!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    A must read for true crime buffs but also should be read by all!

    This is a much different true crime novel than most I have read but it is one of the best. It is written from the heart of a man who was put through unspeakable horrors. May I be as forgiving as he has been and I would ask God to give me the unconditional love for my children that he has for his. Never again will I question anothers intentions without walking in their shoes. Thank you for sharing your story. You have helped me in many ways!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Kept me turning the page well into the night

    What a horrific story--and true. I remember reading about this crime soon after it happened, wondering what exactly went wrong. Pence and Caffey do a phenomenal job of painstakingly recounting the details of the case, unpacking the emotional story in a thriller-like manner. It's not often that I can't put down a book, but this one kept beckoning me to turn the page well into the night.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2009

    Terro By Night

    This was a very well written book, it was very sad to read. I was interested in reading it because it occurred in the town I reside at. My prayers go out to Mr. Caffey and his journey through life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Great book

    I actually met Terry Caffey at my school. He said his story with hope and love. He gave everyone at my school this book


    SprucedLuke







    League of Legends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Great book

    I could hardly put this book down. Saw this story on Dr. Phil and decided to read the book. I am so glad I did. The fact that this man endured so much and was able to carry on with his life is such an inspiration to me. Also reading this book gave me such insight into his support of his daughter, that Dr. Phil's show didn't. On the show Dr Phil made it seem this man was in total denial about what his daughter had done, but I think that that assumption was totally unfair, after reading this book. This man loves his daughter and no matter what she did, that will never stop. I feel the same way about my daughter. We should all feel this way about our children. Just because we love them, doesn't mean we condone everything they do. I think he is being a really good Dad, standing by her side and helping her through this time. Yes, she put herself in this difficult position, but her Dad's support can help her learn from this grievous mistake, and that's what Dad's do. May God continue to be with them both and help them through this tragedy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    READ THIS !

    i COULD NOT PUT THIS BOOK DOWN !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    THIS WAS A GREAT BOOK, KEEP YOU SPELL BOUND. I WOULD READ MORE F

    THIS WAS A GREAT BOOK, KEEP YOU SPELL BOUND. I WOULD READ MORE FROM THIS AUTHOR. KEEP THE GOOD WORK UP.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Wow!

    This book was an AMAZING testimony! I laughed, i cried and was simply amazed! At times i couldnt put it down no matter how tired i was! A must read! Highly recommend. I will never take family for granted again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    WoW. Read this book. Such an inspiration.

    This book proves good can come from bad circumstances. What a fascinating read. You will have a mixture of feelings from reading this book. Your faith strengthened and different outlook on life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Loved it

    Great book, such an inspiration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Great true story..

    I highly recommend this book...Great book 4 those who has lost someone in life...Brought tears...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4