Customer Reviews for

Tess of the D'Urbervilles

Average Rating 3.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    Period drama at its best!

    This is my all-time favorite book, and I read it every three or four years. The style is classic Thomas Hardy and so it requires your undivided attention when reading, but it is so worth the effort!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2010

    eBook quality poor

    Great book but do NOT buy this eBook edition! The spacing between paragraphs is such that there are at least 4 blank lines. Thus on each page of my Nook, there are maybe 10 lines of text. Not a good way to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Add it to your collection

    It's absolutely beautiful! I'm in love with this Penguin series. I have collected twelve so far, and I haven't been disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Have your sport with Tess

    A top of the line classic. Hardy....brilliant!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2006

    EXCELLENT!!!

    This was one of the best books I have ever read. I took it out from the library after seeing the excellent A&E version and was addicted. Its just so beautiful and the story of Tess is compelling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Bad Scan

    Bad Scan

    Like so many of the free books available for the Nook, this book is very poorly scanned. Pagination and printing is off. I love Thomas Hardy ¿ but this is not the way to read him.

    It is not worth the trouble, and I am deleting it.

    I guess you really do get what you pay for¿

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2007

    Well, it ends eventually.

    It's an okay book. I mean, there are some parts that I hesitated to put the book down, but many spots in between where it just sagged for ages. Hardy takes forever to sum up something he could have said very simply, and though sometimes these descriptions are lovely, other times they're so dull you want to raise him from the grave, slap him, and force him to edit his work a bit--and this is coming from a girl who likes Dickens. If you don't believe me, the entire Part II of the book basically says, 'Tess is sad,' but it takes several chapters to do such. One of my main problems is actually with the main character of Tess. I know she's supposed to be a symbol of purity, but frankly, no one is that pure, and it's very hard to relate to her. Maybe this was the point of the character, but I never could enjoy a book with a character that I couldn't connect with in the slightest. If you like classical literature, and the plot summary interests you, then go ahead. This book wasn't really for me, but I must commend it on the fact that the plot does have its good moments, and Hardy did a good job of writing a book largely aimed towards a female audience, with the exception of some of the romance scenes, which were just humorous. If you have time, it's worth reading once, if only to say that you did.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2