Customer Reviews for

The Testament

Average Rating 4
( 438 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(207)

4 Star

(128)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Another Success

John Grisham has done it again. He has created yet another exhilarating novel that will keep you on our feet from cover to cover. The Testament proves that Grisham is still among the best authors of legal thrillers, having a well-balanced plot that combines adventures a...
John Grisham has done it again. He has created yet another exhilarating novel that will keep you on our feet from cover to cover. The Testament proves that Grisham is still among the best authors of legal thrillers, having a well-balanced plot that combines adventures and politics. After the multibillionaire Troy Phelan commits suicide, everybody is aching to know who will become the heir of his great fortune. The old man lived by himself, and the tough world of business had taught him to love nobody. When his handwritten, improvised will is read out loud to the public, the mystery is revealed. Troy Phelan decided to leave the entirety of his assets to an illegitimate, completely unknown daughter living as a missionary with a barbaric tribe in Brazil. Now it is up to the lawyer Nathan O'Riley to travel into the wilderness of South America and find the woman that has just inherited eleven billon dollars. Nate must trudge through swamps, storms, rainforests, and even malaria so that the Phelan wealth ends up with its rightful owner, and not the hands of other greedy, malicious people pursuing it.
Truly, this piece is a literary work of art. IT is among the best thrillers out there, putting up a fair fight to best-selling novels like The Da Vinci Code, by Dan Brown, and The Husband, by Dean Koontz. It realistically depicts the world of law and finance, giving the reader tremendous insight of how the worlds of politics and business are so intricately intertwined, The novel is not only fast-paced and engaging, but also profound and critical, reflecting many flaws present in modern society. Very much like in Kane and Abel, by Jeffrey Archer, The Testament realistically depicts the extent to which money can influence an individual's character, as well as the mortal consequences of alcohol and drug addictions. Without a doubt, this New York Times Bestseller can quench the thirst of all those adrenaline addicts looking for a Grisham page-turner.
Like all novels, however, The Testament is most definitely not recommendable to all audiences. Those who have extensive background knowledge on other books by John Grisham can find this literary piece to be very similar to his other works, like The Pelican Brief. Even though The Testament takes place in an exotic environment, it still revolves around the topics of laws, judges, cases, lawyers, and all the same old conflicts in Grisham's books. Additionally, this novel has very limited emotional emphasis. Romanticists in search of love stories will therefore find it to be mercilessly dry, dull, and superficial.

posted by Okonkwo on January 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Yawn.....

This was an uncharacteristically boring novel. The plot meandered aimlessly for most of the book and seemed to be heading nowhere. To be fair, the courtroom episodes were well written as usual. Overall a letdown.

posted by Anonymous on July 25, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    Boring, Boring, Boring!

    I use to love reading John Grisham books however lately I have found his writing brings on nothing but a yawn fest from me. This is definitely one book that had caused me to produce a myriad of yawns; good for putting me to sleep so I guess it does have some value afterall. I have skipped several pages at a time while reading this book and have found that I never really missed anything in doing so. Especially during one characters long trip down a river; that whole scenario could have been wraped up in about three pages or less. At this point I do not beleive I will be reading any more of his books any time soon unless I hear rave reviews from some avid book reading friends of mine.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2008

    A reviewer

    John Grisham's The Testament starts out with a great snare for readers. The multi-billionaire, Troy Phelan, has just been through a psych evaluation and passes and then commits suicide no more than five minutes later. The story them moves to the heirs of his will, or rather, the heirs that would have been but arent really. Phelan, in the minutes before jumping off of his 14 story high rise, left his riches to an illegitimate daughter who no one knows exists. She is a missionary working with primative native tribes on the Bolivia-Brazil border. Phelan's lawyer sends a recovering drug addict and alcoholic, Nate O'Riley, down to investigate and bring back her signature. As each pages turns, you'll begin to predict what all will happen to Nate before you've read it. Since he's an alcoholic, will there be any regressions? Well... you can say that. Will there be loads of obstacles to overcome once he starts headed into the marshes of the Pantanal? Uh... yeah. As soon as Nate finds the mysterious Rachel Lane, Phelan's illegitimate daughter. Then Grisham starts preaching. Let God be your guide and all of the the sudden everything is fine for Nate, well that's great but this is supposed to be a legal thriller. After 533 pages, you come out of the novel thinking 'wow, is that it?' The Testament is an intriguing page turner but has no real good affect on the reader after it is over.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2005

    quick hook flat finish

    grishom starts off with his customary spellbinding tale however fails to deliver the thrilling finish.this novel gets sidetracked and tends to drag on

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2003

    Disappointed

    It seems to me that if you are going to write something, you should know what your talking about. John Grisham did NOT do his research when writing this novel. At the beginning of chapter 21, he talks about a woman born in an igloo in Newfoundland and about the native Inuit people that lived there. Newfoundland has never had igloos as it is much to warm there and they only have snow about 2-3 months out of a year. And the Inuit people never lived in Newfoundland either. They lived along the shores from from the Bering Sea to Greenland. An uneducated person does not give a good first impression.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2000

    grisham tries something different , but the result is disappointing

    Pretty boring , don't waste your time on this . I have read all of his novels and The Partner , Runaway Jury were great and all his initial novels were good too , but this one and the street lawyer let me down ..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 1999

    You've got to be kidding...

    Where is the suspense in this C.S. Forster wannabe? Clearly Grisham's worst endeavor so far. I found myself falling asleep turning pages of what I had come to expect as another page turner. Far too predictable and moralizing. Save yourself the lack of suspense and wait for his next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Anonymous

    Starts off interesting. It drags on and on
    Disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2000

    Grisham at his worst

    I like John Grishams work I really do. The only other books of his that came close to being this bad were the client and The Pelican Brief. This book is just bad- the story does not make sense, the plot is jumbled, chracter development is horrible and the story itself is boring. I do not know if Grisham decided Brazil was super interesting or something but unless you have a big interest in a dull story, and A OVERWHELMING interest about the Amazon rain forrest skip this one. I really am glad this was not the first Grisham book I picked up otherwise I would have missed some really good books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2000

    Not par tor the writer

    The plot never intrigued this reader, and it spent too much time discussing too many characters that all ran together after a while.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2000

    Typical Grisham Novel

    A Very perdictable book. Grisham's storytelling ability is the only thing that saves the novel. Alot of questions are left unanswered, like what happens to T.P.'s children. Do your self a favor and wait for the movie.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1