Customer Reviews for

The Testament

Average Rating 4
( 444 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(211)

4 Star

(129)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Another Success

John Grisham has done it again. He has created yet another exhilarating novel that will keep you on our feet from cover to cover. The Testament proves that Grisham is still among the best authors of legal thrillers, having a well-balanced plot that combines adventures a...
John Grisham has done it again. He has created yet another exhilarating novel that will keep you on our feet from cover to cover. The Testament proves that Grisham is still among the best authors of legal thrillers, having a well-balanced plot that combines adventures and politics. After the multibillionaire Troy Phelan commits suicide, everybody is aching to know who will become the heir of his great fortune. The old man lived by himself, and the tough world of business had taught him to love nobody. When his handwritten, improvised will is read out loud to the public, the mystery is revealed. Troy Phelan decided to leave the entirety of his assets to an illegitimate, completely unknown daughter living as a missionary with a barbaric tribe in Brazil. Now it is up to the lawyer Nathan O'Riley to travel into the wilderness of South America and find the woman that has just inherited eleven billon dollars. Nate must trudge through swamps, storms, rainforests, and even malaria so that the Phelan wealth ends up with its rightful owner, and not the hands of other greedy, malicious people pursuing it.
Truly, this piece is a literary work of art. IT is among the best thrillers out there, putting up a fair fight to best-selling novels like The Da Vinci Code, by Dan Brown, and The Husband, by Dean Koontz. It realistically depicts the world of law and finance, giving the reader tremendous insight of how the worlds of politics and business are so intricately intertwined, The novel is not only fast-paced and engaging, but also profound and critical, reflecting many flaws present in modern society. Very much like in Kane and Abel, by Jeffrey Archer, The Testament realistically depicts the extent to which money can influence an individual's character, as well as the mortal consequences of alcohol and drug addictions. Without a doubt, this New York Times Bestseller can quench the thirst of all those adrenaline addicts looking for a Grisham page-turner.
Like all novels, however, The Testament is most definitely not recommendable to all audiences. Those who have extensive background knowledge on other books by John Grisham can find this literary piece to be very similar to his other works, like The Pelican Brief. Even though The Testament takes place in an exotic environment, it still revolves around the topics of laws, judges, cases, lawyers, and all the same old conflicts in Grisham's books. Additionally, this novel has very limited emotional emphasis. Romanticists in search of love stories will therefore find it to be mercilessly dry, dull, and superficial.

posted by Okonkwo on January 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Boring, Boring, Boring!

I use to love reading John Grisham books however lately I have found his writing brings on nothing but a yawn fest from me. This is definitely one book that had caused me to produce a myriad of yawns; good for putting me to sleep so I guess it does have some value after...
I use to love reading John Grisham books however lately I have found his writing brings on nothing but a yawn fest from me. This is definitely one book that had caused me to produce a myriad of yawns; good for putting me to sleep so I guess it does have some value afterall. I have skipped several pages at a time while reading this book and have found that I never really missed anything in doing so. Especially during one characters long trip down a river; that whole scenario could have been wraped up in about three pages or less. At this point I do not beleive I will be reading any more of his books any time soon unless I hear rave reviews from some avid book reading friends of mine.

posted by sanshekai on May 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    Another Success

    John Grisham has done it again. He has created yet another exhilarating novel that will keep you on our feet from cover to cover. The Testament proves that Grisham is still among the best authors of legal thrillers, having a well-balanced plot that combines adventures and politics. After the multibillionaire Troy Phelan commits suicide, everybody is aching to know who will become the heir of his great fortune. The old man lived by himself, and the tough world of business had taught him to love nobody. When his handwritten, improvised will is read out loud to the public, the mystery is revealed. Troy Phelan decided to leave the entirety of his assets to an illegitimate, completely unknown daughter living as a missionary with a barbaric tribe in Brazil. Now it is up to the lawyer Nathan O'Riley to travel into the wilderness of South America and find the woman that has just inherited eleven billon dollars. Nate must trudge through swamps, storms, rainforests, and even malaria so that the Phelan wealth ends up with its rightful owner, and not the hands of other greedy, malicious people pursuing it.
    Truly, this piece is a literary work of art. IT is among the best thrillers out there, putting up a fair fight to best-selling novels like The Da Vinci Code, by Dan Brown, and The Husband, by Dean Koontz. It realistically depicts the world of law and finance, giving the reader tremendous insight of how the worlds of politics and business are so intricately intertwined, The novel is not only fast-paced and engaging, but also profound and critical, reflecting many flaws present in modern society. Very much like in Kane and Abel, by Jeffrey Archer, The Testament realistically depicts the extent to which money can influence an individual's character, as well as the mortal consequences of alcohol and drug addictions. Without a doubt, this New York Times Bestseller can quench the thirst of all those adrenaline addicts looking for a Grisham page-turner.
    Like all novels, however, The Testament is most definitely not recommendable to all audiences. Those who have extensive background knowledge on other books by John Grisham can find this literary piece to be very similar to his other works, like The Pelican Brief. Even though The Testament takes place in an exotic environment, it still revolves around the topics of laws, judges, cases, lawyers, and all the same old conflicts in Grisham's books. Additionally, this novel has very limited emotional emphasis. Romanticists in search of love stories will therefore find it to be mercilessly dry, dull, and superficial.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2014

    Read this

    I loved this book by John Grisham and read anything he writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Great reading.

    Really enjoyed this book. It's one of his best that I've read in a long time. Could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Riveting

    Suspence! Excellent writing, i couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    The Testament

    A very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    Good Read!

    I read this book years ago, and I still think about it often. Intense action and a lot of depth to the plot, I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Great book..... so far

    It starts off as a great book but you get upset to find out some of things you find out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Nice read. Interesting characters.

    I picked up this book fresh off of reading The Litigator. This book was good and had a series of interesting characters. The ending was not spectacular, but was still a decent ending to a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Typical Grisham book

    Great story.. It was hard for me to get into this book, but turned out pretty good. Love John Grisham!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    Recommend

    I really enjoyed reading The Testament. I started reading this book as a recommendation from my boyfriend. Once I read the first couple of pages, I was hooked. This was a good read with just enough suspense to keep you reading to the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Super book that Ranks right up there as his best.

    I got this book from the book club. I've read just about all of John Grisham's novels, but for some reason I missed this one. I'm certainly glad I didn't, because I thought The Testament was close to being one of his best. I really enjoyed "The Partner", but this book ranks right up there. The characters were likable and believable. Mr. Grisham has demonstrated once more that he has a social conscience. He created a lovely and easy to understand description of the Gospel of Jesus. Certainly, the best that I have ever read. I'm sure that if people read this book they will get a better understanding as to how God works and that he his there for them in their time of need. Just a wonderful story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    The Human Spirit

    Grisham has a way of bringing out the human spirit in spite of personalities and flaws. No one is perfect and he creates characters that have weaknesses and strengths. Courage even at times of despair. Those who are in misery in spite of great wealth of money. Heros that are regular folk. Grisham writes his art that show many facets of human nature. With that said, all his books are a good read. After all there is a bit of each of us in the characters and can be seen or felt if you simply go deeper than the surface of words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Enjoyable and different

    Not my favorite Grisham novel but still worth reading. Law, suspense, drama, and some comedy all rolled into one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    Classic Grisham

    This was a good Grisham book, classic twists and suspense. It ended a little abruptly, however, which was disappointing. Overall, a good read though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!

    Very entertaining! Really enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    great read, suprisingly inspirational.

    Really enjoyed this book, a little different for John Grisham, very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting Story Line

    This is a story about the last will and testament of one of the riches men in the United States. The beginning of the book talks about his ex-wifes and offspring and is almost impossible to put down. The will sends a lawyer on a journey to Brazil to find the illegitimate daughter of the billionaire who spends her life in the jungle as a missionary. The journey was a bit more drawn out then necessary but the story did pick up after finding her. It was enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    What a great master of legals

    The book, like all of Grisham books, make you feel like you are part of the story. You can relate to the character, even if the character is a a complete departure of your own character and personality. I really enjoy this book. I was almost sorry to see it end and was somewhat disappointed that there was not a thunderous and more exciting ending, but that's how most

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2008

    For the love of money.......

    Starts you out wondering ok, now what,then kind of slows down, especially on the boat. Interesting how money effects humans differently. I would of loved to received $5 million on my 21st birthday, wouldn't be at the job I am at now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2008

    John Grisham's The Testament

    I thought that this book was very good. It absorbs the reader right from the start. Once you pick it up it is hard to put down. Nate was my favorite character, although I wish that Rachel had played a bigger part in the book. I think that fro most the ending leaves the readers wanting more, and it does not really end Nate's story or the story of the Phelan heirs and their lawyers. Overall i really liked this book and recommend it to other readers that enjoy a legal thrill ride without violence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7