Customer Reviews for

Testimony: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 270 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(64)

2 Star

(51)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good Book-Kept me up reading

Ms. Shreve's sensitive story telling about a sexual incident that takes place in a private school and how it affects several families is a wonderful book. This could have been a very difficult topic to write about but Ms. Shreve carried it off very well. Told from th...
Ms. Shreve's sensitive story telling about a sexual incident that takes place in a private school and how it affects several families is a wonderful book. This could have been a very difficult topic to write about but Ms. Shreve carried it off very well. Told from the various views of the people involved, as a reader you get everyone's opinion, which keeps you wanting to read page after page. The characters are well developed.

posted by loves2readIL on October 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

avid reader, anita shreve fan

I have read everything that Shreve has written to date. I looked forward to this book. However, I was very disappointed. The characters were weak, and too predictable. Her storyline just didn't have the impact I would have thought that this storyline would have had. By ...
I have read everything that Shreve has written to date. I looked forward to this book. However, I was very disappointed. The characters were weak, and too predictable. Her storyline just didn't have the impact I would have thought that this storyline would have had. By using each character to tell the story I think it left the plot weak. The book was too predictable. This is not one of her best works. Very disappointed!

posted by loverofbooks27 on November 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    avid reader, anita shreve fan

    I have read everything that Shreve has written to date. I looked forward to this book. However, I was very disappointed. The characters were weak, and too predictable. Her storyline just didn't have the impact I would have thought that this storyline would have had. By using each character to tell the story I think it left the plot weak. The book was too predictable. This is not one of her best works. Very disappointed!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not what I expected

    I was really eager to start this book and when I finally got it, I found that I just couldn't finish it. It was hard to get in to and when I thought it would pick up, it just didn't. I felt like the story wasn't going anywhere and that I was never making any progress. I didn't feel the build-up to the turning point in the book. I didn't mind reading from different points-of-view, but felt like I was circling the story. Had to put this one down and move on to something else....

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    Definitely a disappointment

    I usually like when authors switch character's point of view, however in Testimony, there were so many shifts that it was hard to connect with any of the characters. I found myself just skimming through the chapters because I had no vested interest in any of them. I realize that the story was intended to show how a single incident can affect so many people's lives, however, there were just too many to become really into the plot. It was very disappointing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Not the most enjoyable read

    This was not the most enjoyable book I have read by Anita Shreve. Although her characters are often capable of the most painful acts of betrayal, I didn't care about anyone in this book enough to want to see it through... The one character who represents a sort of redemption is someone that you barely get to know beforehand.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointment

    Perhaps it was the way the story was told from so many points of view, but this story was weak, and I could not connect with any of the charcters, with exception to Ann. The story was predicitible, but I feel like we never really learned what happened.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    Very Very Boring

    I can only describe this book as incredibly boring. It skips from one character to the next and then to the next and then back to the first one again which got to be very annoying. After the discovery of the sex tape in the beginning of the book the author offers nothing to keep your interest. There is no action, no drama, no mystery. It's like reading several people's diaries and only 1 or 2 of the people has experienced anything worth reading about. I had to force myself to finish this book. It was awful.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Just can't seem to get into it

    I've started reading this book three times now and I just cannot seem to get into it at all. The title and synopsis of the book intrigued me enough to purchase it, but it's a struggle to read because of how each character tells his/her side of the story. I've found myself going back to the previous chapter to remind myself of who's who.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Her Best

    I am a fan of Ms. Shreve's work, but this book was a disappointment. It seemed an attempt to capitalize on a recent rape case at a prominent university. Like others, I thought the decision to tell the story from multiple perspectives prevented the reader from connecting with or caring about the characters. As a result, such a superficial treatment of such a serious, and ultimately tragic, subject left me feeling like I'd spent the time reading a tabloid.<BR/>If you're looking for dark-themed books involving students, I recommend those at right.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Unique Topic

    The plot of this book was unique and very compelling. I found the writing style confusing as the narration switched around between characters and also jumped around chronologically. I often found myself wondering who knew about the tape at the current point in time, which is important for understanding the subtext of dialogue. I thought the characters were very well developed and realistic. If it wasn't for the frustrating timeline issue, I would have loved this book much more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The book could be better

    Overall its worth reading

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3