Customer Reviews for

Testimony

Average Rating 3.5
( 274 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(51)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good Book-Kept me up reading

Ms. Shreve's sensitive story telling about a sexual incident that takes place in a private school and how it affects several families is a wonderful book. This could have been a very difficult topic to write about but Ms. Shreve carried it off very well. Told from th...
Ms. Shreve's sensitive story telling about a sexual incident that takes place in a private school and how it affects several families is a wonderful book. This could have been a very difficult topic to write about but Ms. Shreve carried it off very well. Told from the various views of the people involved, as a reader you get everyone's opinion, which keeps you wanting to read page after page. The characters are well developed.

posted by loves2readIL on October 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

avid reader, anita shreve fan

I have read everything that Shreve has written to date. I looked forward to this book. However, I was very disappointed. The characters were weak, and too predictable. Her storyline just didn't have the impact I would have thought that this storyline would have had. By ...
I have read everything that Shreve has written to date. I looked forward to this book. However, I was very disappointed. The characters were weak, and too predictable. Her storyline just didn't have the impact I would have thought that this storyline would have had. By using each character to tell the story I think it left the plot weak. The book was too predictable. This is not one of her best works. Very disappointed!

posted by loverofbooks27 on November 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    MUST READ

    i never read an anita schreve before but because of this book - i want to read more of her.<BR/><BR/>this book was amazing in so many ways. it was a slow read for the first 80 pages but after that, i couldn't put it down. the characters are amazing and could be the person who sat next to you in college or high school. it's real. the story is given up front and then goes backward which is beautiful. it tells you the end result right away and then starts to tell you what happened before, during and after the end result.<BR/><BR/>a must read!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a well-written, thought provoking story . . . .

    I have long appreciated Anita Shreve's writing style and her ability to portray sensitive subject matters in an understandable way. The story is told in alternating chapters by the different characters. Even though I understand why it was done this way, there were a couple of times I had difficulty discerning whether we were in the past or present tense in the chapter being read. With that said, even though parts of this story were painful to read, I was touched by it and brought to tears in certain parts. The suprise element at the ending was interesting and possibly meant to be somewhat redeeming in nature for the students involved in the incident. I always look forward to the next Anita Shreve book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I couldn't put it down. I had to find out what happened next.

    When I started this book, I thought it would be just another sensationalism on a rape case, but it was not at all. The perspective of each character told in turn, brought forth the story in such a way that i just couldn't put it down. And, when I finished the book, I had such a tightness in my chest from the emotional trip, that I had to go listen to some crazy music just to alleviate the mood.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Should Be Required Reading for High School Teachers and Students

    The key to The Testimony is how one's actions can have a domino effect on others. In a very timely story (read current newspapers about teen sexting), Shreve details the lives of many people effected by the actions of just four students. The bad behaviors of these four leave a permanent and irreparable mark on the lives impacted. The story takes place in a private high school setting in New England but could translate to any school, anytown, USA. I recommend the book highly and have passed it to my daughter, a high school teacher, as recommended reading for her advanced students and colleagues. Anita Shreve's writing is wonderful as usual, her characters rich and believable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Searingly emotional

    Intense emotions; some scenes you will never forget.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2014

    I thought this was an amazing novel!

    I thought this was an amazing novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Interesting perspective, never read a book like it

    I'll read more of this author. The book tells the story of a school event, gone viral. Told from differing points of view in relation to the victims. Interestingly written, a novel idea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Thought provoking. Thought provoking...

    A well thought out look into how blame is assigned and accepted when bad choices and intense emotions overtake us. It also details the twisted path those choices make and the neverending and unrealized consequences that forever haunt us once a choice that can never be undone is made. In this book one moment changes everyone and everything. A worthwhile read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Very good

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    Excellent!

    I couldnt put it down! Highly reccomended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    another great anita shreve

    could not wait to finish this. It came together nicely, sad to think these things happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    fantastic

    i found this to be sad but realilistic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    great book

    loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    Could Not Stop

    I loved this book. Great plot. Made me want to keep reading and hated when it ended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    Absorbing

    I have been a fan for quite some time . Shreve's writing holds the attention of the reader from page to page in a non stop fashion . Going from an opening setting and then having the characters reflect on their own behaviors related to what occurred was pivital in this novel .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    Testimony

    Absorbing, well-written, current, disturbing about families, relationships and especially teen confusion about sex.
    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    Another winner from Anita Shreve.

    This book is another winner for Anita Shreve. Telling the story from each person's perspective makes it very interesting and let's you see how different people see the "incident" in different ways, and how one incident was the catalyst for the whole book and not the initial incident that you think it is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    Book Club

    We read this for book club & just loved it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Testimony

    Testimony was one of the best books that I have read in a long time. The story itself is a thrilling ride that will take you on a journey from the very first page to the last. The author's writing style is amazing as she writes in different point of views in every chapter. You get to see what is going on inside of every character's head while learning the details of the plot. The author gives you a true look on the fact that theres always the "other side" to a story. Shreve does not leave you disapointed in the end! Highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    great presentation of characters, each chapter focusing on one. sensative subject, but should be required reading for all high school students.

    don't miss this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3