Customer Reviews for

Testing Kate

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    ?

    ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Great

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Meh....i felt like i was in school

    The author bases the story in law scool and most of the story you feel like she is reliving her own college days . I did not care for this book and its last page had way abrupt an ending....almost like a page was wripped out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE this book

    Whitney Gaskell is one of my favorite writers of all times. Her books are gripping from the first page and laugh-out-loud hilarious. Every story has great characters, heartwarming plots, and hilarious dialoged. You'll fall in love with the characters from the beginning and want to read every book she has ever written. You won't regret this buy!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2006

    I READ THIS BOOK IN ONE DAY

    I could not put this down for the life of me. I stayed up all night and read it. I loved the character kate. The book was funny. I did not want the book to end. I was bummed out when it had to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    intriguing coming of age tale

    When she was attending college, Kate Bennett became an orphan. To survive her grief, she accepts a job and a boyfriend, neither of which truly turn her on. A few years later as she nears thirty, Kate decides it is time to take a three meter dive into life. She quits her job, ends her relationship with nice Graham, and treks from Ithaca, New York to attend law school at Tulane University. On the travel south, she has a problem that makes her miss orientation and is totally unprepared for martinet Professor Hoffman's criminal law class, who tears into her shaky psyche. --- Kate joins a study group consisting of beautiful brilliant Lexi kind hearted Jen inane Addison teen Dana and hunk Nick. However Hoffman continues to terrorize her making her first semester more difficult than necessary. The nasty Prof also gets his brand of ugliness aimed at her and her friends with a second semester class. Meanwhile as Kate copes with Professor maliciousness and finds Nick attractive, she tries to help her friends like Dana who attempts suicide and Jen whose secret keeps her from sharing how much she loves Addison. --- TESTING KATE is an intriguing coming of age tale starring a young woman trying to finally finding herself at law school. Kate and her group are fine characters struggling at law school and with life as the audience will want to know what happens to them. Though Hoffman is a caricature of the ugly professor as he is too extreme even for a despotic professor, readers will enjoy the inevitable confrontation between him and Kate in this fine pre-Katrina contemporary. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2006

    another good one

    This story was engaging and entertaining. It is definitely worth it. I've read all of Gaskell's books and I really felt she went in depth with the main character my only annoyance is that she didn't really develop Nick's character or the way Kate felt in regards to him. I still recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1