Customer Reviews for

The Texan (Bitter Creek Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Texan....just as good as the first book

    I am in love with this series. This is the second book in the series. Owen and Bayleighs' story is told. The feud between their family continues. Bayleigh's brother Luke goes missing and she asks for Owens help. They end up looking for him and in the mean time run across a group of men who have hijacked a nerve gas bomb. Bayleigh and Owen then find themselves in a lot of trouble as they confront these men. Their story is great and they get their happy ending. I love the story of the two Parents Blackjack and Lauren who have been in love for over 30 years....their love story continues in this book.
    I am onto the third book, I can't wait to start it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2001

    CAN'T WAIT FOR THE NEXT BOOK

    I read THE COWBOY and LOVED it. I could not wait for the next book. When it came out I read THE COWBOY all over again and loved it even more. Then read THE TEXAN it wasn't better than THE COWBOY but it was great. Can't wait for the last of the trilogy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    Good story

    If you like a good Western romance story, you will like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Great Read!

    Was a very enjoyable book and the author captures this wonderful story and pulls you in just like the first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2008

    OMG! What a couple!!

    I loved the story of Owen and Bayleigh. I loved that they could banter and fight and love and be so passionate. And they still found ways to rely on and trust each other. Perfect Partners! Owen's tears said it all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2003

    Simply the best

    The Bittercreek Series by Joan Johnston is simply the best out there to date. This story captures your heart and soul and leads it through the unthinkable. No one can make you laugh, cry, smile, and want revenge quite like Joan Johnston.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2002

    great book and series

    i loved this book and this little series to this book. i recomend this book to eveyone..... I have read it twice now and plan to send it to my friend... GREAT BOOK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2002

    WONDERFUL WONDERFUL

    THIS BOOK IS WONDERFUL. I INJOY THIS BOOK. JOAN JOHNSON IS A WONDERFUL AUTHUR. WHILE I WAS READING THE BOOK I WAS PRAISING JOAN AT THE SAME TIME. THIS BOOK MADE ME LAUGH, SMILE AND WANT TO KILL. I THINK IT OUT DID THE COWBOY.THIS ONE WAS EVEN BETTER. CANT WAIT UNTIL THE LONER. 'WONDERFUL'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2001

    GREAT FOLLOW-UP TO THE COWBOY!!!

    This book continues to reveal new personalities within the Hawthorne/Creed families and lets you understand further how hate is taught and can last life-times as well as how love can win. I enjoyed this book and am looking forward to The Loner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2001

    5 star plus

    great reading. could not put it down. this series is a must for readers who enjoy this authors work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2001

    Wonderful follow-up

    I read the Cowboy and waited patiently for the Texan to come out.....it was worth the wait. Loved it!! Plan on sitting down and reading them both again, can't hardly wait for the next segment to this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2001

    Loved the Book

    Being from Texas, this book was very special to me. I really enjoyed it. My sister-in-laws and I share all your books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting contemporary romance

    In Amarillo, still hurting from the murder of his father at the hands of a Blackthorne, teenager Luke Creed accuses Clay Blackthorne of stealing deadly VX-nerve gas mines. Besides the potential danger of the gas, Clay¿s twin brother, Texas Ranger Owen, has an added incentive to finding the culprit who murdered a peer. <P> Not long after his public condemnation of Clay, Luke vanishes. Owen wonders if Luke knows more about the missing VX-nerve gas than he said during his mouthy accusations. Luke¿s older sister Bayleigh refuses to help her family¿s enemy when Owen turns to her. Instead, she offers a deal in which she accompanies him as he searches for her sibling. On the road, they fall in love, but besides the family feud to contend with, it appears as if law enforcement types from the National, Guard, Texas Rangers, or the Feds may be behind the theft. <P>As with THE COWBOY and ¿The Captive Hearts¿ series, the acrimonious feud between the Blackthorne and Creed clans serve as the impetus for the fast-moving novel THE TEXAN. The story line is filled with action, adventure, and an exciting contemporary romance. Luke and Bayleigh have a lot to overcome besides family problems including the danger of an unknown assailant before they can forge a lasting relationship. The characters remain strong and Joan Johnston¿s myriad of fans will feel fully entertained and want to read the next feuding novel, THE LONER. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2001

    Very good book

    I've just completed reading The Texan and found it very good. I'm not sure if you are aware but the book I bought has a defect. From page 1 to 86 all pages follow, then after reading page 86 the next page is page 55. My book does not contain pages 87 to 119, instead I have pages 55 to 86 twice in my book. I have no idea what happend from 87 to 119. I hope not all your other books have been printed the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2001

    not her best work

    while i am a avid fan of all her books this one falls flat it is just not exciting it fails to entice i hope the last of the series will be better i loved the cowboy this book just dissapointed... i'd wait to purchase just get it at a garage sale p.u. what a waste of 6.25

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2001

    Lots of conflict. Great main characters!

    All Creeds hated Blackthornes! Bayleigh Creed was no exception. The mother of the Blackthornes had killed Bayleigh's father in premeditated murder. It did not matter that Bayleigh's mother had been the target instead of the father. What mattered was that instead of prison, she was sent to a comfortable mental institution for the rich! Then it was a Blackthorned who had permanently crippled one of her brothers, Sam! <BR><BR> Bayleigh was a local vet. She did not let her opinion of the Blackthornes stop her from helping their live stock. But not all of the Creeds had level heads. When three crates of VX mines (nerve gas) was stolen from the area, Luke Creed accused Clay Blackthorne. Luke had seen Clay meeting with someone at the armory only two days prior to the theft. Clay's brother, Owen, was a Texas Ranger. In fact, Owen was one of many who were searching for the gas. <BR><BR> When Luke called Bayleigh on her cell phone and then disappeared, she knew that she needed Owen's help to save him from whatever he had gotten himself into. But she would only help Owen find Luke, and the gas, if he took her with him! After all, she just could not trust a Blackthorne with her brother! <BR><BR> *** Awesome romance and mystery with a touch of a thriller thrown in. Lots of twists and turns that will keep the reader hooked until the very end. ***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2