Customer Reviews for

The Texan's Bride

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    Texas's bride

    The Texan's Bride - Cadde has spent the last eighteen months in a married of convenience with Jessie for Shilah Oil. But Jessie now wants something out of it - a baby - something Cadde hadn't planned on.

    The characters and conflicts are believable, and I feel that Linda is beginning to push the confines of line. She gets better with each book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    Very good Texas story. Story probably comes straight from the s

    Very good Texas story. Story probably comes straight from the small counties of Texas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    think this will be good

    my mother-in-law likes romance novels - got it for her for Christmas

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review Of The Texan's Bride (The Hardin Boys Trilogy Book #2) By Linda Warren

    This book was recommended to me by a new friend and I have to say I really, really enjoyed it. Although we both didn't realize it at the time, it was actual book two of a three book trilogy....lol. Cadde Hardin is all about Shilah Oil. He is a true business man that likes to work long hours and give the job his whole undivided attention. Cadde was never in the market for a wife at least not until his boss and mentor R. Murdock offers him a deal he just can't refuse. Seeing this as the opportunity of a life time Cadde takes Murdock up on his offer and marries his daughter Jessie. To Cadde this is a marriage of convenience and nothing more. Just a means to an end to get his hands on Shilah Oil. Jessie Murdock has loved Cadde since the first time she laid eyes on him. When her father told her she was to marry Cadde, she saw this as her one chance to have the man she loves. Little did she realize her marriage wouldn't be the ideal situation she had envisioned for herself. For 18 months they both lead a totally separate life living in two different houses except for twice a week when Cadde stays at the Murdock Mansion. During this time Jessie devises a plan to get Cadde right where she wants him. She offers him controlling interest in Shilah Oil if he agrees to one condition of hers. Jessie wants Cadde to give her a baby the old fashion way. Now this is where the story gets really good (and trust me it was good before this point too....lol). This story had me rooted for Cadde and Jessie the whole time. You might also want to invest in some tissues because this story can be a tear jerker at times. This book really surprised me, in the fact that, I didn't really think I would enjoy this book as much as I did. It is a hidden gem that needs to be discovered by all. On a scale from 1-10 I give The Texan's Bride a 10. It is a great story with a good message that I myself could relate to in some ways. I have already ordered book 1 The Texan's Secret and Book 3 The Texan's Christmas so I can read up on the rest of the Hardin boys. I encourage everyone to pick up this trilogy and see why I love them Hardin boys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    Love Will Always Win Out

    Love will always win out.

    I've had the honor of reading the other books in Ms. Warren's Hardin Boys series. I'm glad I got this one as well. Ms. Warren writes stories with characters I can't forget and situations I need to root for them to overcome. The words simply flow on the page and take the reader from scene to scene effortlessly. I might not have agreed with every single one of the characters' actions - who really does? That's what gets the reader emotionally involved in the story--I still had to know what would happen next.

    Jessie has been in love with Cadde for as long as she can remember. I love that trope. Immediately I need to know that they will get together. Her feelings for Cadde are sweet and mixed with the right amount of spice. Still, there were things she did that I understood, but I wasn't real thrilled with. More than once I wanted to bop her on the head and say, hey! Don't do that! Still, the explanations as to why she does makes sense and being in her shoes, I can't say I wouldn't have done differently.

    Cadde. The guy is a conundrum clad in sexy business clothes and boots. As soon as he stepped on the page, I knew he cared so deeply for Jessie. I totally understood his confusion and divided loyalties--love the girl or the job. While it's been done, Ms. Warren made it work in this book. I wanted to see him succeed and become the man I knew he could be. I wasn't let down. In fact, reading from Cadde's point of view was fantastic and had some very hot moments.

    If you want a book that will stay with you long after the last page and is chock full of characters you'll root for from the get-go, then you need to read The Texan's Bride. It's a fun, sweet, and spicy read.
    Originally posted at the Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a wonderful Texas tale

    Shiloh Oil CEO Roscoe Murdock was dying, but had one unfinished business left before he can go on in peace. He wanted his daughter Jessie safe after she inherits his shares of the firm. He trusts one person, his former ambitious but honest employee Cadde Hardin. He orders Caddie to marry his daughter, but sweetens the deal with stock.

    Months after Roscoe died, Jessie remains angry with Caddie for agreeing to a marriage of convenience. They remain estranged while she thwarts his plans to expand drilling beyond Texas. Thus he is shocked when she offers him a deal. Caddie is shocked when -- after months of a cold war with his wife -- Jessie suddenly tells him she'll sign over controlling interest in the company if she and Cadde have a baby together. Cadde agrees, and the two soon realize that months of ignoring each other only allowed them to hide the attraction they feel for each other.

    The second Hardin Boys contemporary romance (see The Texan's Secret) is a delightful modern day marriage of convenience in which Linda Warren displays her talent with a merger of babies and oil. The protagonists are a fabulous pairing of a business mogul and the woman who keeps him on his toes. The support cast, especially her father from the grave and his siblings, enhance a wonderful Texas tale of love cementing the deal.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1