Customer Reviews for

A Texan's Promise (Heart of a Hero Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 598 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(223)

4 Star

(188)

3 Star

(97)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Sflintwolf

What a great book. I could not put it down. I highly recommend this book, also, very inspirational.

posted by 11400521 on December 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

52 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

More religion than story

Coulda been a nice story, but it is loaded with spreading the word, praising the lord, & pondering god's plan. Every move, thought, or decision that any character makes is a long drawn out diatribe about whether they think it's all about god's will. I found all the pr...
Coulda been a nice story, but it is loaded with spreading the word, praising the lord, & pondering god's plan. Every move, thought, or decision that any character makes is a long drawn out diatribe about whether they think it's all about god's will. I found all the preaching & scripture to be way over the top, especially for a romance novel.

posted by 6054582 on January 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Too much bible stuff.

    I didn't know it was a Christian book.

    28 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Poorly written

    Characters weren't very strong. The story line had flaws in it. Timing of events wasn't believable. UGH! Non-Christian fiction puts this so called "Christian" romance to shame. I'm deleting it from my NOOK. I think that it was free, so no big loss!

    14 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Yuck yuck

    I'm not really sure why I kept reading this book after I got so bored with it I kept falling asleep. It was so syrupy I thought I was going to gag, but then I suppose some readers love this style of writing. This story was not for me.

    11 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Rated 1.5 stars

    I thought the book a little shallow. The storyline just felt like someone filled pages. The hero did have some character to take care of the girl. The story didn't display what love is really like.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Childish writing

    Childish writing and WAY too many refereces to God!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Horrible

    I kept reading this book hoping that the writing would get better.... no luck..... This author needs to take a basic writing course. At least the book was free. I will not be purchasing any other of this authors books. Besides the bad writing I didn't enjoy the religion being shoved down my throat the entire book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Religious titles should have a content warning

    So here's my warning.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    ?

    Just another praise Jesus book and not a very good one at that.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Thinly-veiled attempt at turning the reader into a Christian

    One word: scripture.

    'Nuff said.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Too preachy

    Found myself skipping over the incessant Bible quotes and losing patience with the constant inferences that only those with weak faith have harm inflicted upon them. Disappointing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    No

    Predictable. Boring. Stereotypical from the grunting Indian to the damsel in distress to the reluctant hero.

    Definitely not recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Had potential but fell way short

    I am shocked this book has such a high rating. I am used to and don't mind light Christian romances, but this book was terrible. I felt the abuse scenario was based on an outsider's perception and not reality, and the characters (especially the stepfather and brother) were one dimensional stereotypes. Much of the details and explanations was unecessary - the author did not seem to trust the story to speak for itself and let the reader make his/her own conclusions. I found the romance odd and stilted; I kept getting confused about why the characters were reacting the way they did. Did they love each other or not? Why did they continue to push each other away after they were married when they knew they were attracted to each other? (Both emotionally and sexually, though there was reason for the latter.) Ugh! The beginning was especially odd, I thought, and I wish the author had done more research on the abuse dynamic and how it can manifest itself in different family members. There was potential to tell a powerful story but the author fell way, way short. If the author wanted to keep it light and airy, she should not have introduced such a violent scene. The climax was disappointingly anti climatic and the ending predictable. Also, a few historical errors which bugged me - how hard is it to research the name of a Native American tribe and make sure they actually lived in the place where the story takes place? Seriously, Cherokee in Colorado?

    I'm glad this was a free ebook and the only thing I wasted was time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Dull dull dull dull dull DULL. It was a struggle to keep reading

    Dull dull dull dull dull DULL. It was a struggle to keep reading this trite piece of garbage. It was a free book, and I still feel like I got ripped off. Ugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    One of the worst books I've ever read.

    Can't believe I wasted so much of my time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Not what I expected

    Very "God is your guiding light" I was expecting romance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Ugh

    Not well written at all. It was so hard to finish. Time linrs were bad, thought processes were unclear, characters were not great at all. Don't waste your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Not what I expected from reading the review

    The review should have indicated that this was a Christian story. I am glad the book was free. I was interested in a good story but not conversion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Poorly Written

    I enjoy romance novels and will read almost anything, but this book is so poorly written I couldn't get pass the first few pages. I loaned it to a friend and she couldn't finish it either.
    So many phrases were repeated that it numbed my brain.
    Save your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Waste of time, needs copyediting

    Waste of time to read. Pretty offensive regarding author's opinion of non Christians.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Never Again

    This was horrible. I didnt like the story, the characters, and the god referances. It was free but it's getting deleted, wouldn't read this again or recommend this to anyone even if someone paid me to do so.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3